Thread Tools
Aug 04, 2010, 09:43 AM
Why kamikaze pilot wear helmet
mikes68charger's Avatar
Discussion

Can you use Futaba Servos with A Spektrum Reciver?


Ok, Im still pretty new to this hobby and its odditys.

My wife got a me a sweet Edge 540T with 65in wing span

Anyways it has Nice larg Futaba Servo's on this plane, but I am useing the Spektrum radio 2.4g that came with my Parkzone corsair.

The hobby store sold me a AR6200 Spectrum Reciver, told me that this is the best reciver for my plane becouse it come with 2 recivers connected.

So I go to connect it up last night and I realize the taps are diffrent.

Anyone know what it takes to connect the Futaba servos to spekturm set up?


Thanks Guys.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 04, 2010, 09:54 AM
Registered User
Zeeb's Avatar
Yup I and lots of others know, but we're not 'tellin.....

Seriously tho, just shave the little tabs off the male connectors and with the Spektrum/JR rx's, you MIGHT have to trim opposite corners on those plugs as well to get 'em into the slots on the rx. Just take a close look at the servo slots on the rx and if it has the plastic "guide" on them you'll see that two corners are just slightly trimmed. Those tend to be a close fit and sometimes the Futaba connectors don't want to go into those slots with out trimming the corners as well as the tab off.
Aug 04, 2010, 10:35 AM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
YES, you can use any 3wire servo, for futaba with spektrum/Jr. just trim the excess tab on the servo connector
Aug 04, 2010, 11:02 AM
Why kamikaze pilot wear helmet
mikes68charger's Avatar
Thanks guys,

So the tabs on the servos is on the right side, so just trim this, but make sure it stay on the right side when I pug it in the Reciver? No swaping or installig backwards?

Thanks
Aug 04, 2010, 11:27 AM
12th Man
cryhavoc38's Avatar
thats the beauty of three wire servo's and power.

you won't do any harm if you install the servo plug in wrong, or even power.

This is because the center plug is red, and that is the + side of the battery.

If you accidentally plug in the esc receiver wire upside down, you are doing nothing electrically to the component so no damage as the + is always in the center.

Of course the esc won't respond, nor would the receiver if the esc is supplying power to the receiver...

So in other words, for Futaba servo's, they have that little tab next to the "Signal" wire and this would need to be shaved off if going into non futaba hardware, servo extensions, etc..
Aug 04, 2010, 11:27 AM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Since most of todays 3 wire servo have the POS wire lead in the center, it wont hurt anything it just wont work.

The general rule is the NEG goes towards the outer edge of the case or away from the center or pointing downwards.

Dam yours got posted before mine.
Aug 04, 2010, 12:10 PM
Why kamikaze pilot wear helmet
mikes68charger's Avatar
Thanks guys,
Aug 04, 2010, 02:42 PM
12th Man
cryhavoc38's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip
Since most of todays 3 wire servo have the POS wire lead in the center, it wont hurt anything it just wont work.

The general rule is the NEG goes towards the outer edge of the case or away from the center or pointing downwards.

Dam yours got posted before mine.
likeminded individuals.
Aug 05, 2010, 10:07 AM
Registered User
I've use Futaba analog servos in all my Spectrum recievers.
May 17, 2014, 09:20 PM
Alpine Aero Sqdn.
619SixFour's Avatar
This is a super old thread but thanks for the info. It just saved me an hour trip to my LHS.
Jun 03, 2014, 02:16 AM
Capt K. Lee

Still helpful


Like to thank those who asked the question already. Those of us that are new need answers all the same. I have Futaba servos and an AR400 receiver so I have the same problem. Luckily I got the answer saving me a trip to my LHS. Lots of sanding now.
Jun 04, 2014, 01:37 PM
Registered User
Zeeb's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by fsa0033
Lots of sanding now.
When I first ran into this tab issue I didn't have a Dremel tool so I usually used an Xacto knife to trim the things, now I use a Dremel with a drum sander tool...
May 10, 2015, 06:41 PM
Registered User
so what servos fit the spectrum receivers, besides spektrum
May 10, 2015, 07:40 PM
Registered User
pilotpete2's Avatar
Any modern servo can be used with any current radio system. Only the old style Airtronics (Sanwa) connectors from before around 1997 need to have the connectors rewired or changed out.
Pete
May 10, 2015, 09:51 PM
Registered User
flypaper 2's Avatar
JR servos is another popular brand.

Gord.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Can you use a dx6i with 7 chan RX? ryokox3 Radios 2 May 10, 2010 03:51 PM
Discussion Can (should) you use micro servos in a 48" Wing kboz Slope 3 Jan 18, 2010 09:22 PM
Help! can you use a brushed or brushless motor on any reciver lightningzeus Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 2 Nov 30, 2009 09:40 AM
Help! Can I use Spektrum Digi Servos w/Futaba Rx? Randy -- Radios 1 Apr 14, 2008 12:31 AM