Jul 23, 2010, 07:23 AM
Thread OP
Cool

1.2-1.3Ghz Tx/Rx All infos on one page - updated: 27/10/2013

Hi Folks,

About time I update this super old thread with the latest standards.

So you want to do some FPV on 1.2Ghz and you're looking for answers? You've come to the right place!

For those who don't want to read all the details here are 3 configurations that just work perfectly on a legal frequency 1280Mhz:

CONFIG 1: an ultra-small aircraft / close range

Link

CONFIG 2: Normal airplane / Quad and around 3-4km (depends on your noise floor)

Link

Use stock antennas or Circular Polarisation Omnis on both TX and RX

Fan or Skew Planar wheel

CONFIG 3: Normal airplane / Quad and long range

Link

Tx Antenna: Circular Polarisation Omni

Fan or Skew Planar wheel

Rx Antenna:

Crosshair or Pepperbox or Helical

For these 3 configs you will need a receiver:

Get a lawmate

I have been using one since day one 5 years ago and it's still kickin' it's the least you should use (not the digital ones bundled with the fox 800)

or look at the RECEIVERS section below and pick a better one.

ANTENNAS

First you have to know that there are Linear polarisation Antennas and Circular Polarisation Antennas

Linear Polarisation:

+ Tough antennas (you can step on it and still fix it)
+ Cheap
+ Very easy to DIY

- Signal getting weak when plane is banking
- Prone to multipathing (more interferences)

Circular Polarisation:

+ Very good signal in all kind of situation, the best you can get.
+ Handles low altitude way better than Linear
- Fragile
- Not Easy to DIY
- Expensive (the good ones)
- not easy to install on aircraft because of its shape

Don't get me wrong linear polarisation is still a good solution in some situations, for example for ground FPV most guys use a dipole on their car + patch because if the car tumbles the antenna can handle it. A dipole + yagi will bring you very far.

LINEAR POLARISATION:

Monopole:

Stock fox-800 (for TX or RX):

Dipole: better then Mono