New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old May 17, 2011, 07:57 AM
ChrisWNY is offline
Find More Posts by ChrisWNY
Gone Flying.
ChrisWNY's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ben82 View Post
I'm with you on that one Steve I've tried various other props and very much prefer the speed from the stock prop.

Whilest on the subject of props has anyone got ideas on a prop to get more speed on the stock setup. My guess would be that your probably limited as the power 15 is 950 Kv
You could try a similar diameter prop and go up 1/2-1" in pitch for more speed, such as an APC electric 11x10", or 10x10" prop. Watch your current (AMP) usage though on higher pitch props, they will draw more power, just make sure you don't go above the stock ESC's 30 Amp rating.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 17, 2011, 05:35 PM
shung1 is offline
Find More Posts by shung1
Registered User
shung1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by bonnie9496 View Post
Have only used the 11x7 as I broke the original on the maiden flight crash. The 11x7 was one I had sitting around and it did the job. Will try a few different props once I get comfortable with the plane. At this stage am satisfied with the speed. Would imagine a power 25 setup would really get things moving
Yeh thats something i'm thinking about doing down the track, upgrading the motor & ESC. The power 25 setup i think is in the Carbon Z Yak which runs a 4s 2800mAh Battery. That would be an absolute rocket!
Old May 17, 2011, 05:43 PM
shung1 is offline
Find More Posts by shung1
Registered User
shung1's Avatar

Parkzone P-47 Thunderbolt BNF + Retracts & LED lights


Hey guys,
If anyone is interested I have my PZ P-47 for sale on ebay.

Item No. #180665300638

Cheers
Old May 23, 2011, 04:02 AM
LEGENDRIVER is offline
Find More Posts by LEGENDRIVER
Registered User

Very Happy Owner Here


OK Yeh there is alot of squabble about the wings being flat but that has'nt affected the way mine fly at all. Yes I am kinda new to the hobby of r/c airplanes but I already hae 5 full size park flyers and 5 micros to my credit. I do admit that they are more challenging to fly compared to my T-28D but thats what my PC Simulator is for, Practice,Practice Ect... Still nothing like the real thing though, my nerves still rattle a little while flying my extra 300, I have 2 of them.I Crashed 1 already but bought all new parts and "Whalla" just like new again. I use 20c 2200 MAH 3s lipos and the stock ESCs, seems to work just fine.Heres a pic of both of them together, Enjoy...
Old May 23, 2011, 04:10 AM
Tony K is offline
Find More Posts by Tony K
Registered User
Gettin a nice collection there!
Old May 23, 2011, 04:36 AM
AZAerobat is offline
Find More Posts by AZAerobat
Fly More Crash Less
AZAerobat's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by LEGENDRIVER View Post
OK Yeh there is alot of squabble about the wings being flat but that has'nt affected the way mine fly at all. Yes I am kinda new to the hobby of r/c airplanes but I already hae 5 full size park flyers and 5 micros to my credit. I do admit that they are more challenging to fly compared to my T-28D but thats what my PC Simulator is for, Practice,Practice Ect... Still nothing like the real thing though, my nerves still rattle a little while flying my extra 300, I have 2 of them.I Crashed 1 already but bought all new parts and "Whalla" just like new again. I use 20c 2200 MAH 3s lipos and the stock ESCs, seems to work just fine.Heres a pic of both of them together, Enjoy...
That is a nice looking squadron. I love my 300 too. I crashed it as well just glued it back together. Does not look as pretty as the day I bought it but it flies just the same.
Old May 23, 2011, 05:47 AM
jaskel is offline
Find More Posts by jaskel
WHAT U LOOKIN AT!
jaskel's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by LEGENDRIVER View Post
OK Yeh there is alot of squabble about the wings being flat but that has'nt affected the way mine fly at all. Yes I am kinda new to the hobby of r/c airplanes but I already hae 5 full size park flyers and 5 micros to my credit. I do admit that they are more challenging to fly compared to my T-28D but thats what my PC Simulator is for, Practice,Practice Ect... Still nothing like the real thing though, my nerves still rattle a little while flying my extra 300, I have 2 of them.I Crashed 1 already but bought all new parts and "Whalla" just like new again. I use 20c 2200 MAH 3s lipos and the stock ESCs, seems to work just fine.Heres a pic of both of them together, Enjoy...
not squabble...fact!! i actually got a set of wings sent from the factory to test, they wer perfectly symmetrical like on the box and the plane flew so much better! i mean chalk and cheese!

Trust me, perfectly symmetrical wings make a difference...but if ur happy how it is then just get out and enjoy it!!!

This plane wasnt for me...so I sold it. bought 2 planes from HK for the same price as this one
Old May 26, 2011, 11:13 AM
bonnie9496 is offline
Find More Posts by bonnie9496
Fighting Gravity
bonnie9496's Avatar
Well......just chalked up my 20th flight on the Extra. After a less than perfect maiden flight I now love this plane. Flew it today in 12-15mph winds without any issue. The wind barely effects it. Have now moved the 2200mAH battery back 3/4 inch to a position level with strap and increased throws on ailerons. Very happy!!! :-)
Old May 26, 2011, 06:44 PM
pkquat is offline
Find More Posts by pkquat
Registered User
Just an idea if someone has a spare Extra or set of wings, some servos, at least a 6Ch Rx and wants to get creative. I have been curious if one could split the aileron, add 2 servos so you can have a flap option. With a 7Ch radio and 6Ch Rx, you could set up the inner ailerons to move with the outer ailerons for a full length aileron, flip a switch and then have flaps with the inner ailerons. One could also add some crow, or possibly inner aileron to elevator mixing with much less chance of a tip stall.

I think full length ailerons and inner flaps would be possible with a 6Ch Tx, but after that I am not sure what would be possible.
Old May 26, 2011, 10:21 PM
creapyd is offline
Find More Posts by creapyd
Prefectionist
It could be done, but you nee 7 channels not 6:

Throttle
Elevator
Rudder
Aileron 1
aileron 2
flaperon 1
flaperon 2

to do it properly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by pkquat View Post
Just an idea if someone has a spare Extra or set of wings, some servos, at least a 6Ch Rx and wants to get creative. I have been curious if one could split the aileron, add 2 servos so you can have a flap option. With a 7Ch radio and 6Ch Rx, you could set up the inner ailerons to move with the outer ailerons for a full length aileron, flip a switch and then have flaps with the inner ailerons. One could also add some crow, or possibly inner aileron to elevator mixing with much less chance of a tip stall.

I think full length ailerons and inner flaps would be possible with a 6Ch Tx, but after that I am not sure what would be possible.
Old May 27, 2011, 12:23 PM
Steve91t is offline
Find More Posts by Steve91t
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by pkquat View Post
Just an idea if someone has a spare Extra or set of wings, some servos, at least a 6Ch Rx and wants to get creative. I have been curious if one could split the aileron, add 2 servos so you can have a flap option. With a 7Ch radio and 6Ch Rx, you could set up the inner ailerons to move with the outer ailerons for a full length aileron, flip a switch and then have flaps with the inner ailerons. One could also add some crow, or possibly inner aileron to elevator mixing with much less chance of a tip stall.

I think full length ailerons and inner flaps would be possible with a 6Ch Tx, but after that I am not sure what would be possible.
Why not just mix flapperons? Save the weight of the hardware along with the extra servo. Flapperons would actually be more affective.

I did that with my 3D nitro plane and it worked great.

Steve
Old May 27, 2011, 12:32 PM
FireyFate is offline
Find More Posts by FireyFate
Registered User
FireyFate's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve91t View Post
Why not just mix flapperons? Save the weight of the hardware along with the extra servo. Flapperons would actually be more affective.
I say why not just land the plane normally? If you aren't trying to dead stick land it like a PZ T-28 there is no problem...
Old May 27, 2011, 01:04 PM
robusp is online now
Find More Posts by robusp
Takeoff=Option Landing=Must
robusp's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by FireyFate View Post
I say why not just land the plane normally? If you aren't trying to dead stick land it like a PZ T-28 there is no problem...
On a calm day its fairly easy, but when there is wind I found myself using more throttle to force it down. With the help of spoilerons I can use less throttle and sink rate is faster.
Rob
Old May 27, 2011, 02:36 PM
creapyd is offline
Find More Posts by creapyd
Prefectionist
I'm using spoilerons to bring it in. ~15% I bring it in HOT and then use the spoilers to reduce lift and fly it down. I'm going to add a 3rd position spoileron for air breaks so once i'm down I can hit the breaks.
Old May 27, 2011, 08:49 PM
Ben82 is offline
Find More Posts by Ben82
Registered User
I really dont understand all the talk about landing I chop the throtle halfway through my base leg, turn to final and bring her in. Sometimes if there is a bit of breeze I will give it a few blips on the throtle during final.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Parkzone's F4F Wildcat Owners Thread ChuckTseeker Electric Warbirds 18172 Today 08:34 AM
Discussion Parkzone Sukhoi SU-26XP Owners thread tdriedger Micro Ready-to-Fly 3040 Sep 11, 2016 12:14 AM
Cool Its here!!!! Parkzone extra 300 lightspeeddud Parkflyers 26 May 31, 2010 09:34 PM
Discussion The first OFFICIAL Parkzone Sukhoi SU-26XP BNF by ParkZone Owners thread skyjet Micro Ready-to-Fly 2 Mar 19, 2010 04:00 PM
Parkzone F-27 Stryker owners--Are you happy with it? BuzzBomber Parkflyers 43 Mar 21, 2008 11:49 PM