Thread Tools
Sep 24, 2010, 03:54 AM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Thanks, Fred. The dipole makes sense now. The "lightweight" antenna seems to be just one of these dipoles but with a longer feed length and no plastic case.

John
Quote:
Originally Posted by flarssen
I have pulled the top of many such antennas for RC use. Element lengths have been in the range 24-30mm. The metal sleeve is an element too (dipole). Seems that the philosophy is "not perfect, but good enough" .

Fred
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 26, 2010, 12:25 PM
Registered User
Tim2's Avatar
Hi guys, just ordered one of these.

Just wondering how everyone is mounting these to their 2.4 Ghx transmitters? When the antenna on the transmitter is at 90 degrees, is their any room for the Quanum?

Thanks .... Tim
Sep 26, 2010, 12:59 PM
Registered User
Bill Glover's Avatar
Should mount fine to the 'base' part of a 2.4 Ghz antenna, using the standard clamp.
Sep 26, 2010, 03:22 PM
Registered User
Tim2's Avatar
Thanks for the reply Bill.

Because I hold my transmitter at a slight angle when I fly, I have my antenna at a ninety degree angle. Will the Quanum still fit there.
Sep 26, 2010, 04:24 PM
Ozzie Express wiggy pilot
SON OF PALEFACE's Avatar
What TX have U ??
Sep 26, 2010, 05:45 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Another idea someone suggested was to attach the Quanum to a wrist strap and wear it so it faces you when holding the Tx. Easy to glance at while you are holding the Tx, well away so there is no chance of interference (which is not really a problem AFAIK but putting two 2.4GHz aerials right next to one another is not good practice), and doesn't distract when you really need to concentrate on avoiding that level hard bit that the sky sits on.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Glover
Should mount fine to the 'base' part of a 2.4 Ghz antenna, using the standard clamp.
Sep 26, 2010, 05:48 PM
Ozzie Express wiggy pilot
SON OF PALEFACE's Avatar
I used mine Satdee on my tranny right next to the 2.4gh TX arial ...no probs at all
Sep 26, 2010, 06:04 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Me too but RF experts (that's not me) will probably say it's not the best thing to do even if one aerial is only a RX. Re-radiation, reflection effects or something. I was just covering my backside.
Quote:
Originally Posted by SON OF PALEFACE
I used mine Satdee on my tranny right next to the 2.4gh TX arial ...no probs at all
Sep 26, 2010, 07:24 PM
Registered User
Tim2's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SON OF PALEFACE
What TX have U ??
I have a DX6i
Sep 26, 2010, 07:31 PM
Registered User
Tim2's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SON OF PALEFACE
I used mine Satdee on my tranny right next to the 2.4gh TX arial ...no probs at all
Sorry SON OF PALEFACE, I don't understand could you explain further?
Sep 26, 2010, 08:17 PM
Registered User
I just got this system yesterday but no manual with it. Is anyone know how to connect the Tx pins?
Sep 26, 2010, 08:50 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
The Quanum plugs into your balance connector. Only works if all the wires are adjacent (ie NOT the Hyperion style connector for some batteries with gaps between the +ve and next balance wire). polarity is marked on the Quanum. The black (normally) negative wire on the balance connector goes to the -Ve pin.

Version 2 have a 3 wire fly lead (same plug as a servo) that goes into the accessory current sensor if you have bought it. If not, just ignore the wire.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suroj
I just got this system yesterday but no manual with it. Is anyone know how to connect the Tx pins?
Sep 26, 2010, 10:05 PM
Registered User
Thank you so much for your advice. I will try it when I got home tonight.
Sep 26, 2010, 11:27 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
BTW There IS no manual. All the info you get is written on the back of the box (and some of it is wrong!).

From memory there is a diagram on the HK website showing the external sensor connection and that's about it. AFAIK HK now own Quanum and the Quanum website has disappeared again.

There is a video here that someone made. Thought it might be useful but it doesn't tell you much and is for a Version1 unit without current and temp sensing.

Quanum telemetry system (2 min 32 sec)


John
Quote:
Originally Posted by Suroj
Thank you so much for your advice. I will try it when I got home tonight.
Last edited by jj604; Sep 27, 2010 at 12:01 AM.
Sep 27, 2010, 02:38 AM
Registered User
Bill Glover's Avatar
You have to press and hold the power button ... that got me

If you press it normally you get a single beep, and nothing happens.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Quanum battery voltage telemetry - and 'voltage under load' question ... JJJNYC Batteries and Chargers 51 Oct 22, 2014 11:55 AM
Cool Picked this up at the post office last night. The Quanum 2.4ghz lipo telemetry unit cryhavoc38 Batteries and Chargers 282 Dec 11, 2012 08:26 PM
Question Quanum 2.4ghz Telemetry DjBac Batteries and Chargers 21 Nov 29, 2010 02:43 PM
Alert $70 BUCKS! Quanum 2.4Ghz voltage telemetry (1km Range) jet-ster Foamy EDFs 42 May 27, 2010 11:54 PM
Discussion quanum 2.4 ghz telemetry sellman Electric Plane Talk 3 Mar 29, 2010 11:00 AM