Jun 27, 2010, 09:46 PM
Registered User
signguy's Avatar
got a new WM+, hoping I killed the other one, and thats why I can't get it working. I'll try to get things hooked up tomorrow. I'll let you guys know if it works.

BobD
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 27, 2010, 10:27 PM
Brushless
cdi3d's Avatar
Okay here is a total noob question how do I connect my Esc, servo and rx channel to the Arduino? Hardwire or do I need a certain connector?
Thanks
mike
Jun 28, 2010, 05:08 AM
Registered User
RCvertt's Avatar
I'm almost finished with my build.
Can I get more detailed info on when the full throttle thing can happen. Full throttle is kind of scarry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cdi3d View Post
Okay here is a total noob question how do I connect my Esc, servo and rx channel to the Arduino? Hardwire or do I need a certain connector?
Thanks
mike
Solder on male breakout header pins and use female to female jumper wires to connect your receiver and female to male jumper wires to connect your ESC's. Sparkfun has what you need.
Jun 28, 2010, 06:39 AM
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RCvertt View Post
I'm almost finished with my build.
Can I get more detailed info on when the full throttle thing can happen. Full throttle is kind of scarry.
When you go full throttle, there is nothing for the moment to prevent all motors to spin at their max, and indeed to use a good gyro correction.
I have to code something to limit motor values so that gyro corrections can still be effective.


Quote:
Solder on male breakout header pins and use female to female jumper wires to connect your receiver and female to male jumper wires to connect your ESC's. Sparkfun has what you need.
You can also buy some servo wires. Female plugs are compatible with breakout header pins.
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbyking/s...2810pcs/set%29
Jun 29, 2010, 12:06 PM
Brushless
cdi3d's Avatar
On the schematic is says a bec is needed - is the correct? Sorry for the stupid questions - Mike
Jun 29, 2010, 02:41 PM
DJI Supporter
Sid3ways's Avatar
Yes because the Arduino needs 5V to run as well as your RX does too.
Jun 29, 2010, 02:49 PM
Brushless
cdi3d's Avatar
one more dumb question - So if I power my bec from balance plug of my battery - should I connect my servo, esc's, arduino and rx all from the bec? I am assuming this is okay or will it mess up my power up sequence in anyway? This is how I do it on my tricopter - main battery power to ESC's then plug in charge plug -



Mike
Jun 29, 2010, 02:51 PM
DJI Supporter
Sid3ways's Avatar
Since I've never used an Arduino I can't comment on how and when it needs to be powered. I don't see any issues in using the balance plug to power all of that stuff as long as you don't have a BEC that is a POS.

I will soon see as my parts from Sparkfun should be here in a couple of days as well as my motors and ESCs Just need to figure out the frame.
Last edited by Sid3ways; Jun 29, 2010 at 02:59 PM.
Jun 29, 2010, 02:51 PM
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
The BEC is needed, but it is already included in each ESC.
An external UBEC is not needed.
Jun 29, 2010, 02:51 PM
Member FPV UK
IWCoburg's Avatar
Ok, I've ordered the bits so hope to be joining you all very soon. Can I just say thanks Alex for all your hard work, and to Niall for the bits

Mike.
Jun 29, 2010, 03:17 PM
Brushless
cdi3d's Avatar
I just finished loading my first sketch onto the arduino - took me little bit to get the pins to line up correctly and stay that way since I dont have any header pins yet - now waiting for Wii motion plus -

Mike
Jun 30, 2010, 01:39 AM
FPV Junkie
tazdevil's Avatar
Hi Alex,any news on soft upgrade ?

mine is flying every day
Jun 30, 2010, 01:57 AM
Registered User
RCvertt's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by tazdevil View Post
...mine is flying every day...
No flight vids

What Ebay seller did you get your motion+ from?
Last edited by RCvertt; Jun 30, 2010 at 03:03 AM.
Jun 30, 2010, 02:02 AM
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
Hi,
I tried to integrate a nunchuk, but apparently I got a very bad copy of it, single side pcb.
It works, but its step resolution is about 5 degrees. I can do nothing precise with this.
I just ordered another one, with the hope it will be good this time.
Jun 30, 2010, 03:43 AM
Bricks don't glide !
KayCee_V4's Avatar
Hi Alex, will the ADXL322 dual-axis accelerometer work with your design ?
http://www.sparkfun.com/commerce/pro...roducts_id=849