New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jan 27, 2011, 06:36 AM
Rurek is offline
Find More Posts by Rurek
quadcopters & FPV padavan
Rurek's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppuxley View Post
Thanks.Will try when I get home tonight.Your help is much appreciated

If you have an original WMP - there is probably 8 pins! The opposite pins are solder together with nearest pin...so you should solder something like this:
1,2 - Vcc
3 SCL
4, 5 not conn
6 SDA
7,8 GND
Try this
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 27, 2011, 07:07 AM
berkely is offline
Find More Posts by berkely
Registered User
berkely's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedysilver View Post
" D " ranges from -40 to 0, so smallest is : -40,.... Biggest, highest or max out is: " 0 "

Cheers
Quote:
Originally Posted by Centurian View Post

"D" the bigger(note this is a negative term, bigger in a negative sense) the better from what I can tell this tries to smooth out any rotation. The farther from zero you run "D" it appears you can further increase "P"

Euch.. Isn't this a contradiction?
Old Jan 27, 2011, 07:20 AM
ben123 is offline
Find More Posts by ben123
Registered User
Quick question!

The orientation of the WMP+ is obviously very important. I can orient my wmp as shown in all the connection pictures no problem. But as my WMP+ is a clone how do I ensure the WMP+ is not upside? Does it matter?

In the GUI which pitch/roll/yaw directions should I be getting +ve values?

Thanks for any help,

Ben.
Old Jan 27, 2011, 07:36 AM
ppuxley is offline
Find More Posts by ppuxley
Registered User
ppuxley's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rurek View Post
If you have an original WMP - there is probably 8 pins! The opposite pins are solder together with nearest pin...so you should solder something like this:
1,2 - Vcc
3 SCL
4, 5 not conn
6 SDA
7,8 GND
Try this
You are referring to the 8 pads on the WMP PCB(which I agree with), at present I am testing the WMP prior to dismantling so the 6 terminals on the standard WMP are.....
Seehttps://www.rcgroups.com/forums/atta...mentid=3609782
Last edited by ppuxley; Jan 27, 2011 at 07:42 AM.
Old Jan 27, 2011, 08:03 AM
speedysilver is offline
Find More Posts by speedysilver
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedysilver
" D " ranges from -40 to 0, so smallest is : -40,.... Biggest, highest or max out is: " 0 "
Sorry my bad, above is based on math terminology, let me rephase it:

When D is near to -40, the quad will feel very damp/stable, and when D is near toward 0, the quad will feel more sensitive/agile. Adjusting D toward -40, you may need to increase P accordingly.

Hope i clear up the confusion statement i made eariler.
Old Jan 27, 2011, 08:16 AM
OpticalFlow is offline
Find More Posts by OpticalFlow
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by M4d_D View Post
this is what i was looking for all evening ( its 1:34am here atm )

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=l8LBE...layer_embedded

the wii electronics work great , so we just neet the servo control instead of the motor control and a throttle curve .... that doesnt seem to difficult ( at least for the ones among us who are capable of programming )
They claim a bit much though - I'm pretty sure there were other documentedVP quads before them - one from the italian guys (TeamFox ?) here
HG3 - Willy multicottero a passo variabile (3 min 21 sec)


However, the MIT video may be the first demonstration of inverted flight with a quad.
Old Jan 27, 2011, 08:28 AM
Rurek is offline
Find More Posts by Rurek
quadcopters & FPV padavan
Rurek's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ppuxley View Post
You are referring to the 8 pads on the WMP PCB(which I agree with), at present I am testing the WMP prior to dismantling so the 6 terminals on the standard WMP are.....
Seehttps://www.rcgroups.com/forums/atta...mentid=3609782
maybe the best way is to dismantle and deep look inside?
Old Jan 27, 2011, 08:58 AM
ppuxley is offline
Find More Posts by ppuxley
Registered User
ppuxley's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rurek View Post
maybe the best way is to dismantle and deep look inside?
That is were I started and couldnt get connected to the GUI . I now have a new WMP and Reverdrichie suggested I test the WMP before dismantling or soldering to see if it is working.
Old Jan 27, 2011, 09:05 AM
rimshotcopter is offline
Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendrichie View Post
Alex,

question please, How many bytes of the one K of EEPROM is presently being used to store the settings?

Thank you.
Alex, do you have any idea to how many bytes are used to store the Information?

Reason I asked this is, it would be nice to have the ability to recall different PID settings without having to connect to a computer. I figured with 1K, we should be able to store at least two, maybe four PID settings. I am a confirmed believer now that one set of PIDs does not work under different flying conditions. I stripped one of my sony webbies onto my V-Prop copter and it became a totally new beast. I used the same proven good PID settings that I have flown many times before with the camera mounted. I really love this Aluminum frame, broke one prop and that was all. The camera was untouched.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a5dmNaqVE6Y
Old Jan 27, 2011, 09:37 AM
rimshotcopter is offline
Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Addition: I understand that it is possible to read each location in the EEPROM and test its value (255 if it has never been written too) and I have looked at the code. However, I am not sure just how much is used and how much will be used in the future. Also, If I modify the code, I don't want to have to modify the code with each new update.
Old Jan 27, 2011, 09:44 AM
Alexinparis is offline
Find More Posts by Alexinparis
Registered User
Alexinparis's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendrichie View Post
Alex, do you have any idea to how many bytes are used to store the Information?

Reason I asked this is, it would be nice to have the ability to recall different PID settings without having to connect to a computer. I figured with 1K, we should be able to store at least two, maybe four PID settings. I am a confirmed believer now that one set of PIDs does not work under different flying conditions. I stripped one of my sony webbies onto my V-Prop copter and it became a totally new beast. I used the same proven good PID settings that I have flown many times before with the camera mounted. I really love this Aluminum frame, broke one prop and that was all. The camera was untouched.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a5dmNaqVE6Y
There is enough room to store 10 configs.
Currently, only 22 bytes are used.
Old Jan 27, 2011, 09:44 AM
Kadath is offline
Find More Posts by Kadath
Registered User
Kadath's Avatar
reverendrichie, good idea. What would be really cool is to use an extra channel to toggle between 2 or 3 different sets of PID values. You could then switch between stable or acrobatic PID values in flight.
Old Jan 27, 2011, 09:47 AM
rimshotcopter is offline
Find More Posts by rimshotcopter
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinparis View Post
There is enough room to store 10 configs.
Currently, only 22 bytes are used.
Thank you, what would be helpful is a memory map because I understand that you are saving the Accelerator information in EEPROM too.
Old Jan 27, 2011, 10:02 AM
richardkalaf is offline
Find More Posts by richardkalaf
Registered User
richardkalaf's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexinparis View Post
There is enough room to store 10 configs.
Currently, only 22 bytes are used.
Alex!!

Good to see you´re back.

Did you see my post with the video you asked?

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=7509
Old Jan 27, 2011, 10:02 AM
djdavid60 is offline
Find More Posts by djdavid60
If it flies, I can crash it!
djdavid60's Avatar
I don't know how I missed this thread, but I just found it a few days ago. Thanks Alex for coming up with this great code and implementation of the Wii MP and NK. I built a T configuration of a Tri-Copter from Tim's thread and your radio-commande website. I finished it in November. It went together in a week and flew like a charm right out of the gate with the default settings. I had to adjust a few settings, but I was amazed how stable it flew on the first flight. I haven't implemented the Nunchuck yet, but am going to go FPV, so am considering doing so.

I'm reading through this massive thread now for info on the Nunchuck implementation. I'm sure I'll have a couple questions when I get going on it.

Doug