Thread Tools
Jun 01, 2011, 02:22 PM
Registered User
M4d_D's Avatar
hi ,
i already showed a picture of my small acro quad...

here it is again.

i tried it out today and it doesnt really work very well.

i centered the trimms and it slowly rolls to the right when i want to hover. if i give full throttle it starts rolling left . what do you think is wrong ? i changed the left motor and nothing changed . i changed the right esc and nothing changed . what should i do next ? any ideas ?

cheers
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 01, 2011, 02:26 PM
MultiCopterPilot & Film Maker
crazyj's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by M4d_D
hi ,
i already showed a picture of my small acro quad...

here it is again.

i tried it out today and it doesnt really work very well.

i centered the trimms and it slowly rolls to the right when i want to hover. if i give full throttle it starts rolling left . what do you think is wrong ? i changed the left motor and nothing changed . i changed the right esc and nothing changed . what should i do next ? any ideas ?

cheers
What are your PID settings?
Jun 01, 2011, 02:30 PM
MultiWiiHead
Centurian's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by M4d_D
hi ,

i centered the trimms and it slowly rolls to the right when i want to hover. if i give full throttle it starts rolling left . what do you think is wrong ? i changed the left motor and nothing changed . i changed the right esc and nothing changed . what should i do next ? any ideas ?

cheers
Sounds like ESC calibration.
Jun 01, 2011, 02:34 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by M4d_D
hi ,
i already showed a picture of my small acro quad...

here it is again.

i tried it out today and it doesnt really work very well.

i centered the trimms and it slowly rolls to the right when i want to hover. if i give full throttle it starts rolling left . what do you think is wrong ? i changed the left motor and nothing changed . i changed the right esc and nothing changed . what should i do next ? any ideas ?

cheers
Believe it or not, it could be the three wire connector. I have had issues with them in the past and now make all of my own cables. I cramp and solder them making sure of a good connection.
Jun 01, 2011, 02:36 PM
MultiWiiHead
Centurian's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by reverendrichie
Question: Do anyone know if the Throttle PID attenuation has the same effects as a Throttle Curve? Reason I ask this is, all of my copters requires some variation in the Throttle Curve but I don't want to have a separate Transmitter profile for each copter.
Throttle PID attenuation reduces pitch & roll PID gains above 50% throttle with no affect on the throttle channel.

Changing #define MAXTHROTTLE 1850 would move the center of the throttle channel while maintaining a linear throttle respsonse at the expense of full throttle stabilizaion (if increased) or max throttle available (if decreased)

Setting up a throttle expo wouldn't be too difficult and would do what you're looking for. Not in the current code, but would be a nice addition.
Jun 01, 2011, 02:43 PM
Registered User
M4d_D's Avatar
p is 2.4 which seems quite stable in hover.
escs are out of the box supersimple 10A, so nothing changed there
i soldered the wires directly to the board , so that should be okay
Jun 01, 2011, 02:46 PM
Registered User
Calibrate your ESCs first.
Plug each one into your throttle channel one at a time. give full throttle and power up esc, wait a second and then bring throttle down. This will let the ESC know what the throttle range is and provides a more linear response in use.
Jun 01, 2011, 02:56 PM
Registered User
M4d_D's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinball
Calibrate your ESCs first.
Plug each one into your throttle channel one at a time. give full throttle and power up esc, wait a second and then bring throttle down. This will let the ESC know what the throttle range is and provides a more linear response in use.
i know that i should do that but they are all calibrated the same way . i also used the escs in my octo out of the box and they work great.
another thing is thet i can do loops forward but if i try backward loops its soooo slow . same is in roll , one way it works fine the other way it doesnt
Jun 01, 2011, 02:59 PM
MultiCopterPilot & Film Maker
crazyj's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by M4d_D
i know that i should do that but they are all calibrated the same way . i also used the escs in my octo out of the box and they work great.
another thing is thet i can do loops forward but if i try backward loops its soooo slow . same is in roll , one way it works fine the other way it doesnt
Are you sure your travel adjustments on the radio are setup equally in both directions on pitch/roll/yaw/throttle channels?
Jun 01, 2011, 03:02 PM
Registered User
M4d_D's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazyj
Are you sure your travel adjustments on the radio are setup equally in both directions on pitch/roll/yaw/throttle channels?
the gui shows that they are quite eqal , yes
Jun 01, 2011, 03:09 PM
Fournier RF4D N1771 Awesome!
jb92563's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by M4d_D
hi ,
i already showed a picture of my small acro quad...

here it is again.

i tried it out today and it doesnt really work very well.

i centered the trimms and it slowly rolls to the right when i want to hover. if i give full throttle it starts rolling left . what do you think is wrong ? i changed the left motor and nothing changed . i changed the right esc and nothing changed . what should i do next ? any ideas ?

cheers
Make the cat sit in the middle and stay still, then all your balance problems will be gone...

Sounds like it needs a calibrate on a level surface and then "Write"
Jun 01, 2011, 03:13 PM
MultiCopterPilot & Film Maker
crazyj's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by jb92563
Make the cat sit in the middle and stay still, then all your balance problems will be gone...

Sounds like it needs a calibrate on a level surface and then "Write"
LOL, well there's your problem! Seriously, I'm running out of ideas on it. Perhaps it's the gyro calibration?
Jun 01, 2011, 03:20 PM
Registered User
rimshotcopter's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Centurian
Throttle PID attenuation reduces pitch & roll PID gains above 50% throttle with no affect on the throttle channel.

Changing #define MAXTHROTTLE 1850 would move the center of the throttle channel while maintaining a linear throttle respsonse at the expense of full throttle stabilizaion (if increased) or max throttle available (if decreased)

Setting up a throttle expo wouldn't be too difficult and would do what you're looking for. Not in the current code, but would be a nice addition.
Thank you.
Jun 01, 2011, 03:45 PM
but thats not soon enough
thanks for the last pointers on my problems guys.
new issue though.

trying to eliminate wobble/flips i have bought an original wmp instead of my clone.

but the multiwii doesnt seem to be able to init my new wmp. i have tried the wmp on a teensy++ with an arduino sketch i found on the arduino forum, and the new wmp works. it just doesnt work on my multiwii atmega 328p.
clone wmp inits fine however. is it an i2c address issue?

its connected through an 1117 3.3 regulator on pin 12 and scl/sda through a hexfet LLC. internal pullups are enabled. its the old wmp, idg600 / x3500w.
100kHz mode

! update(semi)
i grabbed a new 328p and breadboarded it with 1.7preter. connected my new wmp directly WITHOUT 3.3v regulator or LLC. and it just worked. maybe i should limit the 3.3v and LLC to the acc i'm going to put on there. now i have to desolder stuff or make a new board :/
i have no idea why its not working, any advise ?
Last edited by wapko; Jun 01, 2011 at 08:35 PM. Reason: updates and stuff
Jun 01, 2011, 03:49 PM
Registered User
Gaza07's Avatar
Im pretty sure the original WM+ is 5v maybe you have a problem there