Jun 16, 2003, 08:58 AM

Endo powered Bubbles

Well I finally completed by Endo Powered Bubbles. It took a few months, but mostly because I am a slow builder and getting the right materials was laborious.
Here are the details:
Bubbles built to plans (http://www.flyelectric.ukgateway.net/bubbles.htm)
54" span
58 ounces AUW
Endo Motor
Great Planes GB
10 Tooth Pinon (Standard Gary Wright set-up)
Great PLanes C-50 esc
Berg Rec
10 2400 nimhs
4 hs-81s

I maidened her on Sunday and I was really amazed at how nicely she flies. Almost no trim needed. Pretty fast on full bore and really slow at "idle" with no (repeat no) bad habits.
to remove ads between posts
Jun 16, 2003, 09:02 AM
My flight was only about 6 minutes long due to a thermal shutdown on my ESC. I screwed up timing my ENDO, and now I am trying to figure out how to do it correcly. I guess I need to buy a whattmeter.

The flight was really fun and really stable. The landing was a complete non-event.

If I could make any suggestions, I would put together a "list of materials" so that one could purchase all of the balsa, ply, hardware, etc at once.

Now, if anyone can help me with my endo timing and I'll give you addtional flight reports...
Jun 16, 2003, 02:09 PM
Motors beat engines!
Timing is easy, your just looking for minimum sparking.

That being said, if you had simply turned the endbell about 180 degrees, and the timing mark is somewhere inside the range of hash marks, your likely pretty close.

I've never had one that did'nt wind up in the hash mark range.

Dean in Milwaukee
Jun 16, 2003, 02:13 PM
Minimum sparking at full throttle that is (and my 10 cell pack)?
Thanks.
sB
Jun 16, 2003, 04:07 PM
Motors beat engines!
"Minimum sparking at full throttle that is (and my 10 cell pack)?
Thanks.
sB "

Yup. I do this in a darkened room so I can see the sparks easily. You do need to be pretty carefull as you need to get your face semi close to that prop.