Thread Tools
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:13 PM
AeroMaestro is offline
Find More Posts by AeroMaestro
Smasher of foam
AeroMaestro's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by QuinnZ. View Post
Could the Champ use a 450 mah 1s batt? Though it may be pretty heavy, it will provide a lot of flying, possibly 30+ minutes. Along with a keychain camera to... Just ideas
Yes. I've flown mine with a 500 mAh 1s battery for 45+ minutes with a keychain camera attached.

It's also a good way to add extra wear and tear on your motor --- I've gone through several motors on my champ in just the past 8 months.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:38 PM
mutha is online now
Find More Posts by mutha
RC Airplane (Recently Crashed)
mutha's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Chap1012 View Post
Welcome back mutha. Lets just say he re-invented himself...


Hmm FC had some good things to say in the past (albeit a little awkwardly) and some of his videos were entertaining.

My little champ sits in its box becoming increasingly jealous of the 3D Beast and the new Blade nano CPX. I must finish the paint work and get it back in the air.

I have been flying bigger stuff so much that I sometimes forget about my fab little micro.
Old Feb 12, 2013, 03:44 PM
mutha is online now
Find More Posts by mutha
RC Airplane (Recently Crashed)
mutha's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by FunkeyMonk View Post
Yes. I've flown mine with a 500 mAh 1s battery for 45+ minutes with a keychain camera attached.

It's also a good way to add extra wear and tear on your motor --- I've gone through several motors on my champ in just the past 8 months.
Ha yes you forget that this plane is as fragile as it is because it just flys so well and with so little effort. But it is really small and motors, servos etc. are not as robust as bigger stuff.

Still, think of all the enjoyment that we have had with it.
Old Feb 15, 2013, 04:26 PM
rickcavanaugh is offline
Find More Posts by rickcavanaugh
Registered User

Bi-plane Champ


Biplane Champ!

CG moved back, so counter weight needed in nose. Flew very slow.

Just installed p-51 Motor for more speed and power to counteract extra weight. Too windy now. Maiden flight in about a week
Last edited by rickcavanaugh; Feb 15, 2013 at 05:00 PM.
Old Feb 22, 2013, 02:47 AM
blithock is offline
Find More Posts by blithock
A lurker
There is so many posts in here. I was curious to know if anyone has done any clear canopy mods to their champ? Maybe even with a pilot in it? Now that i think about it, it probably isnt even be possible as there isnt all that much room in that area anyways. Just a thought.
Old Feb 22, 2013, 02:58 AM
North_of_49 is offline
Find More Posts by North_of_49
Scout CX | mCX2 | mSR | 120SR
North_of_49's Avatar
You'd need to restore the strength considering how and where the wing attaches... without adding too much weight either. As much as I like scale and tinkering and have done some ambitious stuff to mine, it's a road I know I personally wouldn't go down... for a small aesthetic gain.
RCG Plus Member
Old Feb 22, 2013, 03:04 AM
blithock is offline
Find More Posts by blithock
A lurker
Yeah I see your point, I to love the scale looks on planes but I guess its best just to ignore it on this plane.
Old Feb 22, 2013, 10:25 AM
Chap1012 is online now
Find More Posts by Chap1012
Epilepsy Awareness
Chap1012's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rickcavanaugh View Post
Biplane Champ!

CG moved back, so counter weight needed in nose. Flew very slow.

Just installed p-51 Motor for more speed and power to counteract extra weight. Too windy now. Maiden flight in about a week
Welcome to RCG Rick. I like your Bi-Plane,,.. Champ style I hope the P-51 motor works out for ya.

Mike.
Old Feb 22, 2013, 04:49 PM
zardoz337 is offline
Find More Posts by zardoz337
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by blithock View Post
There is so many posts in here. I was curious to know if anyone has done any clear canopy mods to their champ? Maybe even with a pilot in it? Now that i think about it, it probably isnt even be possible as there isnt all that much room in that area anyways. Just a thought.
You and I think alike, I have thought about this as well and here is my plan when my champ gets here, Monday hopefully! I plan to take the top fuse half and vacu form it from clear plastic (like some of the rc auto bodies) I may include the bottom half as well (just to insure good paint surface). I will most likely order the fuse as a part to use as a mould for my vacu-form plastic fuse. I will check weight and I hope it will be close to factory using .020 thick plastic. Anyhoo thats the idea, any thoughts?
Zardoz337 (Lee)
Old Feb 23, 2013, 05:09 PM
caymin last is offline
Find More Posts by caymin last
So broke I can't pay attention
Quote:
Originally Posted by blithock View Post
There is so many posts in here. I was curious to know if anyone has done any clear canopy mods to their champ? Maybe even with a pilot in it? Now that i think about it, it probably isnt even be possible as there isnt all that much room in that area anyways. Just a thought.
I do remember seeing someone do that, although I'm not sure if it was here on RCG. I also don't remember the final outcome.
Zardoz337, your idea of vacuum molding, is an interesting concept.
Old Feb 24, 2013, 09:28 AM
Lancer31 is offline
Find More Posts by Lancer31
Registered User

Nice way to get clear windows!


Quote:
Originally Posted by zardoz337 View Post
You and I think alike, I have thought about this as well and here is my plan when my champ gets here, Monday hopefully! I plan to take the top fuse half and vacu form it from clear plastic (like some of the rc auto bodies) I may include the bottom half as well (just to insure good paint surface). I will most likely order the fuse as a part to use as a mould for my vacu-form plastic fuse. I will check weight and I hope it will be close to factory using .020" thick plastic. Anyhoo thats the idea, any thoughts?
Zardoz337 (Lee)
If I was going to try that, I would make a female mold from plaster of paris, (a top one and a bottom one), and then vacuum-form the .020" clear plastic sheet inside those. That way your finished parts are exact copies of the original surface.
Have you tried vacuum-forming over foam model parts before? I would think that it would distort, from the heat.


I got my Champ out, to see how that project would go, and decided I would pass on doing windows, for now. Given what a great flyer it is, and how, when it is in the air, how much it looks like the 7AC Champ I rode in, in 1947, I'll be satisfied with the changing to more scale "NC" numbers I've put on it, and just fly it!
Last edited by Lancer31; Feb 24, 2013 at 10:03 AM. Reason: New thought.....
Old Feb 24, 2013, 07:34 PM
zardoz337 is offline
Find More Posts by zardoz337
Registered User

Molding clear canopy


I would like to claim this idea as my own..but it has been done before, I am simply using the ideas of others on this site for the champ. If anyone is interested checkout "Simple & Easy Clear Canopy Making........ " Thread started by J Morgan on this site about 7 years ago, great info on making a vacu-form and how to do it. The champ seems a natural for this process with the "turtle back" half of the top fuse just a big canopy! I am thinking if you have a vacu-form setup and a "reprap" 3D printer you can make just about any part you can imiagine
Well I expect the champ to get here tomorrow, The fuse I ordered should arrive in about a week or less so I get to fly and work on my vacu-form while waiting for the extra fuse to show up! Take care and happy flying all!
Zardoz337 (Lee)
Old Feb 25, 2013, 10:29 PM
QuinnZ. is offline
Find More Posts by QuinnZ.
The Corsair Kid

New champ!1


After perrusing this thread, i couldnt help myself... I bought a champ to do the mods to it to fly it...
Old Feb 26, 2013, 01:56 AM
Zero6echo is offline
Find More Posts by Zero6echo
Registered User
I thought I could put an AR6400 brick in a HZ Champ and still use the stock Tx. When I plugged it in the right control stick that used to control rudder/elevator now controls the elevator and the aileron channel. The rudder now works off the left stick along with the throttle. How do you fix this?
Old Feb 26, 2013, 10:46 AM
TjW is offline
TjW
Find More Posts by TjW
TjW
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zero6echo View Post
I thought I could put an AR6400 brick in a HZ Champ and still use the stock Tx. When I plugged it in the right control stick that used to control rudder/elevator now controls the elevator and the aileron channel. The rudder now works off the left stick along with the throttle. How do you fix this?
You could buy the Flysky 9X transmitter and a transmitter module, program any of a number of open source alternatives into the transmitter, and make any channel do pretty much whatever you want.

You could see if the transmitter you have lets you mix 100% aileron to rudder.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Article HobbyZone Champ RTF Review dee-grose Micro Ready-to-Fly 898 Oct 31, 2016 06:54 PM
Discussion HobbyZone Champ On-board Video VasMan Aerial Photography 4 Jul 03, 2015 02:09 AM
Alert HobbyZone Champ RTF Group Buy in Middle TN: $87.80 per plane (including tax) PerlAddict Hot Online Deals 5 Jun 16, 2010 07:00 PM
Wanted Hobbyzone Champ pmass23 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Jun 01, 2010 02:17 PM
Video Hobbyzone Champ - Short Glide Video VasMan Electric Plane Talk 0 May 16, 2010 11:01 PM