Jun 03, 2010, 07:23 PM
Closed Account
Thread OP
Discussion

Minnie Mambo 252

I guess this is the right forum for this. I'm scaling up Gene Rock's .pdf file of the Minnie Mambo to 252 squares (from around 225) to fit the Skatty power systems I have on hand.
I took the original .pdf file, converted it to a .jpg, then traced the outline and scaled it up to 252 sq. in. (7/4 sq. foot). After that, I redrew the innards, using a 1/32" sheet balsa over a 1/8" sq. balsa framework. I also replaced the Hallco sheet aluminum LG with built-up LG.
First shot is a picture of the plans.
to remove ads between posts
Jun 03, 2010, 07:26 PM
Closed Account
Thread OP
Next, I framed up the horizontal and vertical stabs on a flat board, then I did the fuselage on my trusty Ajusto-jig (I've been using it since 1982).

The black dots on the pins are Rocket City pin vises; the red dots are pieces of red lid, cut out with a punch and used as a pin vise.
Last edited by Captain Dunsel; Jun 03, 2010 at 07:32 PM.
Jun 03, 2010, 09:43 PM
B for Bruce
She's going to come out light like a rubber power model. That thing will fly with almost no power consumption! ! !
Jun 04, 2010, 08:59 AM
You must be working off a late model set of plans. For my early 1960's model (which I still got) uses a different landing gear system. This was mentioned at a competing web-forum/site.

Wm.
Jun 04, 2010, 02:17 PM
Closed Account
Thread OP
The set of plans came from Dave Fritzkie's web site,
http://my.pclink.com/~dfrit
Those plans show a Hallco aluminum LG. I don't have a gear of the right size, and I don't have the facilities to bend a set. Besides, I like using an aluminum tube sewn to bulkheads to hold my gears - It's light, easy to attach after covering, and easy to remove when I add floats.

Not much progress today. I framed up the wing yesterday, and put in shear webs today. The wing now has an 'I' beam spar, with sheeting on the top LE and the entire center-section.