New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
This thread is privately moderated by feathermerchant, who may elect to delete unwanted replies.
Old May 26, 2010, 07:05 PM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Trader Rating: 56
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
For Sale

New 47A 12.1V power supplies from Featherpower.


These are like the 42A power supplies I sell on my website:
http://www.feathermerchantrc.com/
and here:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1051873
They are about the same size but they are 47A and the fan is louder.
I am selling them for $40 + $10 shipping = $50 in the Contenital US.
They'll go USPS Priority.

I accept PayPal to feathermerchantrc@sbcglobal.net
Last edited by feathermerchant; Sep 11, 2010 at 12:25 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 26, 2010, 07:26 PM
Hunkus is offline
Find More Posts by Hunkus
Trader Rating: 128
Closed Account
Sending you a PM on these. THANKS,HUNKUS
Old May 26, 2010, 09:06 PM
Hunkus is offline
Find More Posts by Hunkus
Trader Rating: 128
Closed Account
Payment sent. THANKS,HUNKUS
Old May 26, 2010, 11:21 PM
CARL SCHIMNOWSKI is offline
Find More Posts by CARL SCHIMNOWSKI
Trader Rating: 47
Registered User
pm sent
Old May 27, 2010, 10:34 PM
CARL SCHIMNOWSKI is offline
Find More Posts by CARL SCHIMNOWSKI
Trader Rating: 47
Registered User
pAYPAL ON THE WAY
Old Jun 03, 2010, 08:51 AM
heli-headcase is offline
Find More Posts by heli-headcase
Trader Rating: 2
Multifaceted Heli Nut
How are the supplies wired in relation to the casings and ground? In other-words, is the 12V side floating or tied to the case on the negative side of the 12V?

If floating, or able to make floating, this would lend itself to wiring two supplies in series for 24V output to power those higher watt chargers (such as Hyperion) that can take advantage of higher watt output through higher voltage input without having to take measures to stop 'ground loops'.

Thanks
Old Jun 03, 2010, 10:22 PM
jpflyer is offline
Find More Posts by jpflyer
Trader Rating: 31
Registered User

I'll take one


I am sending a paypal payment for one.
Thanks
Old Jun 04, 2010, 08:30 AM
dgfinch is offline
Find More Posts by dgfinch
Trader Rating: 54
Registered User

I'll take one


PayPal payment sent.
Old Jun 04, 2010, 09:12 AM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Trader Rating: 56
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by heli-headcase View Post
How are the supplies wired in relation to the casings and ground? In other-words, is the 12V side floating or tied to the case on the negative side of the 12V?

If floating, or able to make floating, this would lend itself to wiring two supplies in series for 24V output to power those higher watt chargers (such as Hyperion) that can take advantage of higher watt output through higher voltage input without having to take measures to stop 'ground loops'.

Thanks
The grounded side of the power supply is tied to the case and the ground wire of the plug. See my blog where I connected 2 similar power supplies in series for 24V. There is also a thread in Batteries and Chargers about putting 2 power supplies in series for 24V.
Old Jun 07, 2010, 09:04 PM
cactus is offline
Find More Posts by cactus
Trader Rating: 49
Registered User
Any left?
Old Jun 07, 2010, 09:28 PM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Trader Rating: 56
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
Oh yes. How many do you want?
Old Jun 07, 2010, 10:34 PM
cactus is offline
Find More Posts by cactus
Trader Rating: 49
Registered User
I'll take one. Paypal sent for $45 for the 47amp one listed above.
Old Jun 09, 2010, 09:16 AM
heli-headcase is offline
Find More Posts by heli-headcase
Trader Rating: 2
Multifaceted Heli Nut
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
The grounded side of the power supply is tied to the case and the ground wire of the plug. See my blog where I connected 2 similar power supplies in series for 24V. There is also a thread in Batteries and Chargers about putting 2 power supplies in series for 24V.
OK, thanks for the heads-up blog. I understand how you configured the supplies.
Old Jun 10, 2010, 03:56 PM
jpflyer is offline
Find More Posts by jpflyer
Trader Rating: 31
Registered User

up and running


Finished mine up last night and charged some packs. Very happy with it all thanks again Feathermerchant.
Old Jun 10, 2010, 05:03 PM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Trader Rating: 56
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
Hey you can post pictures here. We want to see it.
Old Jun 10, 2010, 08:12 PM
jpflyer is offline
Find More Posts by jpflyer
Trader Rating: 31
Registered User

my set up


I just copied someone else's idea. Went to Radio Shack and bought a small project box, two sets of female banana plugs, some wire, connectors, and solder. It took all of an hour to put it together. The box is stuck using double sided tape, with a round of filament tape to be sure. I wired it up on the box end, tinned the wires on the other end, flattened them, and then soldered them to tabs on the power supply.
Last edited by jpflyer; Jun 10, 2010 at 08:13 PM. Reason: typo
Old Jun 10, 2010, 08:58 PM
snacker is offline
Find More Posts by snacker
Trader Rating: 0
Registered User
I don't see the 47amp on your website and the 42amp says $55.00 shipped not $45.

I'd like the 42amp for $45 shipped if still avaliable. Thanks.
Old Jun 10, 2010, 08:59 PM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Trader Rating: 61
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
Got one of these from James - it is a beast! Small too boot.

Highly recommended!

Mike
Old Jun 10, 2010, 11:43 PM
cactus is offline
Find More Posts by cactus
Trader Rating: 49
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jpflyer View Post
I just copied someone else's idea. Went to Radio Shack and bought a small project box, two sets of female banana plugs, some wire, connectors, and solder. It took all of an hour to put it together. The box is stuck using double sided tape, with a round of filament tape to be sure. I wired it up on the box end, tinned the wires on the other end, flattened them, and then soldered them to tabs on the power supply.
What gauge wire did you use?
Old Jun 11, 2010, 06:04 AM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Trader Rating: 56
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
I'd use 13ga minimum. You'd be surprised at the voltage drop.
Old Jun 11, 2010, 10:32 AM
cactus is offline
Find More Posts by cactus
Trader Rating: 49
Registered User
I think I have some 10-12 laying around I can use. I need to pick up some banana plugs.
Old Jun 11, 2010, 02:14 PM
jpflyer is offline
Find More Posts by jpflyer
Trader Rating: 31
Registered User

Wire


I used 12 gauge wire to hook mine up.
Old Jun 11, 2010, 04:31 PM
cactus is offline
Find More Posts by cactus
Trader Rating: 49
Registered User
I'm going to use 12G Deans Wet Noodle wire I have already and some EC5 gold bullet connectors. Then cut my CellPro 10 feed wires and make it interchangeable with the EC5's and the battery clips for the field battery.
Old Jun 11, 2010, 04:59 PM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Trader Rating: 56
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
Deans 12g is an excellent choice.
I prefer a polarized connector like Deans.
Old Jun 12, 2010, 11:50 PM
cactus is offline
Find More Posts by cactus
Trader Rating: 49
Registered User
I got mine today and got everything setup. So far so good and it takes up much less space than the old Pyramid 10amp box. I used Deans 12g Wet noodle wire and EC5 gold bullet connectors.

Thanks!
Old Jun 13, 2010, 08:05 AM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Trader Rating: 61
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
BTW, Like your charger setup with the tile and smoke detector.
Old Jun 13, 2010, 08:24 AM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Trader Rating: 56
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
The smoke detector is for the powe rsupply. LOL
Nice setup. Large guage wire is important now that we're charging more than 3S 2100 packs.
Old Jun 15, 2010, 09:36 PM
Sky_Captain is offline
Find More Posts by Sky_Captain
Trader Rating: 4
Flying is Freedom
Sky_Captain's Avatar
I'm joining the club.
Payment sent
Old Jun 15, 2010, 10:57 PM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Trader Rating: 56
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
Will go out in the morning.
Old Jun 19, 2010, 09:14 AM
raypadro is offline
Find More Posts by raypadro
Trader Rating: 9
Registered User
Payment send for one of your PS.
Old Jun 19, 2010, 03:11 PM
Sky_Captain is offline
Find More Posts by Sky_Captain
Trader Rating: 4
Flying is Freedom
Sky_Captain's Avatar
Record fast shipping!!! Thanks bro you are the best.
I picked up a project box and some banana connectors. Going to follow some of you guys. Looks good to me
Has anyone successfully put a power switch on this power supply yet? I really want to do it.
Old Jun 22, 2010, 01:49 PM
Bmr4life is offline
Find More Posts by Bmr4life
Trader Rating: 22
30 RC's and counting
Bmr4life's Avatar
Have any left? Can a single one of these support charging a 7.4v pack at 20 amps or 18.5 v pack at 10 amps?
Last edited by Bmr4life; Jun 22, 2010 at 01:58 PM.
Old Jun 22, 2010, 01:59 PM
Bmr4life is offline
Find More Posts by Bmr4life
Trader Rating: 22
30 RC's and counting
Bmr4life's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sky_Captain View Post
Record fast shipping!!! Thanks bro you are the best.
I picked up a project box and some banana connectors. Going to follow some of you guys. Looks good to me
Has anyone successfully put a power switch on this power supply yet? I really want to do it.
A dedicated power strip could get the job done easily.
Old Jun 22, 2010, 05:04 PM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Trader Rating: 56
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmr4life View Post
Have any left? Can a single one of these support charging a 7.4v pack at 20 amps or 18.5 v pack at 10 amps?
A 7.4V pack @20A will draw 8.4 X 20 / 10 = about 17A No problem.
An 18.5 pack @10A will draw 21 X 10 /10 - about 21A Noproblem.

I have plenty.
Old Jun 22, 2010, 09:32 PM
Bmr4life is offline
Find More Posts by Bmr4life
Trader Rating: 22
30 RC's and counting
Bmr4life's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
A 7.4V pack @20A will draw 8.4 X 20 / 10 = about 17A No problem.
An 18.5 pack @10A will draw 21 X 10 /10 - about 21A Noproblem.

I have plenty.
Money sent.
Old Jun 27, 2010, 04:58 PM
Bmr4life is offline
Find More Posts by Bmr4life
Trader Rating: 22
30 RC's and counting
Bmr4life's Avatar
Anyone figure a way to connect 4 gauge wire to the power supply?
Old Jun 27, 2010, 06:06 PM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Trader Rating: 56
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
Why 4Ga wire?

You could strip it back about 1", split it into 2 then tin those, flatten them with pliers and push them into the terminals and solder them in. With wire that large and stiff you may need some sort of strain relief to keep from breaking the terminals.
Old Jun 27, 2010, 06:23 PM
Bmr4life is offline
Find More Posts by Bmr4life
Trader Rating: 22
30 RC's and counting
Bmr4life's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
Why 4Ga wire?

You could strip it back about 1", split it into 2 then tin those, flatten them with pliers and push them into the terminals and solder them in. With wire that large and stiff you may need some sort of strain relief to keep from breaking the terminals.
I want the option of not having the charger and PS in the same area and I read that big cable is needed depending on the run length.
Old Jun 27, 2010, 06:32 PM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Trader Rating: 56
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
Big cable is needed of you want to run a long distance. It would b a lot better, cheaper and easier to just use a 120V extension cord.
Old Jun 27, 2010, 06:57 PM
Bmr4life is offline
Find More Posts by Bmr4life
Trader Rating: 22
30 RC's and counting
Bmr4life's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by feathermerchant View Post
Big cable is needed of you want to run a long distance. It would b a lot better, cheaper and easier to just use a 120V extension cord.
You saying to use the cable for its wire between the charger and PS or to move the PS closer to the charger?
Old Jun 27, 2010, 08:02 PM
pda4you is offline
Find More Posts by pda4you
Trader Rating: 61
Registered User
pda4you's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bmr4life View Post
You saying to use the cable for its wire between the charger and PS or to move the PS closer to the charger?
DC current has great losses over distance. AC does not. That is why those huge transmission power lines are all AC. Just ask Mr. Edison. He tried to do the DC thing without much success.

So yes, PS close to charger with short leads. LONG AC wire to power the PS. Life is good.

Mike
Old Jul 22, 2010, 09:58 PM
feathermerchant is offline
Find More Posts by feathermerchant
Trader Rating: 56
Use the 4S Luke
feathermerchant's Avatar
Hey these 47A power supplies have been added to my website:
http://www.feathermerchantrc.com/
Old Jul 30, 2010, 08:04 PM
BACKEMFNRG is offline
Find More Posts by BACKEMFNRG
Trader Rating: 9
Registered User
BACKEMFNRG's Avatar
Nice, I may get one of those too.

I think I'll get a smoke detctor, that was a nice charge station setup.

Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale New 47A 12.5V power supplies from Featherpower. feathermerchant Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 5 Mar 08, 2010 10:59 PM
Sold LIKE NEW Thunder Power 5s (18.5v) 3850mAh ~Extreme V2~ Lipo...$99 SHIPPED2U! bighank13 Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 2 Jan 02, 2010 10:53 PM
For Sale NEW ELECTRIC POWER 5S 18.5v 4400mah Lipo! E-Power punkindrublik Aircraft - Electric - Batteries & Chargers (FS/W) 2 Aug 27, 2006 08:59 PM
12 V power supplies edbuell Aerial Photography 29 Jul 12, 2004 06:06 AM