Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
May 13, 2010, 11:03 AM
Mini-HowTo

Absolute Beginners Walkera 4G6/4G6S thread

This mini howto will remain under construction, and feedback is very much appreciated

Introduction
Hi all,

Beginnings
As I have seen many beginners (including me) taking on this advanced heli, I thought I post some of my ideas to warn beginners, and to share my experience if beginners take up the challenge and try to fly this little beast. I came from a blade mcx directly to the 4G6, and I have found it very difficult to learn how to hover her! Other people allready mentioned this is not a beginner's heli, and I could not agree more. But I took up the challenge, and now I am proud to say that I can hover her side-in after 6 months! (which means that I cannot fly yet, if I want to fly, I take my mcx). Most people probably want to fly sooner than that, they should switch to an easier heli like a Walkera CB100 or an Eflite Blade MSR.

Methods
I encountered many of the 4G6 related issues, and therefore try to share my experiences as best as I can in a structured way. As 99% of the info was already shared on the different forums by other people, there is a lot of linking here, and I definitely will try to give the original poster credit when appropriate. I will try to edit the posts in this thread as more usefull info (and hopefully feedback as well) comes in. The most important edits will be summarized here.

First things first
Contents (Links will open single posts only. Alternatively just scroll down)
Warning
As mentioned, the 4G6 is not considered a beginner's helicopter! Flying it as a beginner will require quite a lot of study, quite a lot of money, and lots and lots of time and patience. If you are prepared to spend all of this into your hobby - the 4G6 - then you are in for a huge challenge which is - in the end - very rewarding. If not, you are probably better off with the above mentioned MSR or CB100.