Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Sep 29, 2010, 04:35 AM
Crash land!
Joffa_Dan's Avatar
Nice pics for low light. What camera you using?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 29, 2010, 05:21 AM
Registered User
merlin64's Avatar
I'm using a Canon 30D with the standard kitlens.
I'm curious about the sharpness of this lens, but the future will tell.....
I will keep post my results in this thread
Sep 29, 2010, 12:42 PM
Returning From Hiatus
Tango Juliet's Avatar
How are you triggering your 30D? Are you using a servo or an electronic shutter release through the receiver? I ask because I've had a problem with my 350D all summer. I was using an electronic release from Blip.com that plugs into the side of the camera for a remote shutter. I think the jack has gone bad because now nothing happens. I'm not brave (or stupid) enough to put my 7D on the plane, but can't find a good, used 350D at a decent price.
Sep 30, 2010, 12:16 AM
Registered User
merlin64's Avatar
I'm using a electronic shutter release from blip. So far i don't have complaints about it, but i have done only one flight so far.
Tomorrow the weather seems to be oke again, in that case i wil go for the next flight.

Here is a picture from my setup.

Sep 30, 2010, 05:17 AM
Returning From Hiatus
Tango Juliet's Avatar
What setting is the camera on? Maybe I've set it to something incorrect.
Sep 30, 2010, 06:04 AM
Registered User
merlin64's Avatar
I have my cam in TV priority, so i have my shutterspeed fixed at 1/1000. Further settings are:

Tv(Shutter Speed)
1/1000Sec.
Av(Aperture Value)
F3.5
Metering Modes
Partial metering
Exposure Compensation
0
ISO Speed
400
Lens
EF-S18-55mm f/3.5-5.6
Focal Length
21,0 mm
Image size
3504 x 2336
Image Quality
RAW
Flash
Off
White Balance
Auto

To program my "blip" took a little attention, i foud a good manual on the internet. On the printboard of your "blip" is a manufacturer printed where you can "Google" on.
Sep 30, 2010, 06:09 AM
Registered User
merlin64's Avatar
Here is the manual:
Sep 30, 2010, 06:32 AM
Returning From Hiatus
Tango Juliet's Avatar
Thanks for that. I guess I assumed that it already came pre-programmed. Perhaps not. The original switch I ordered worked fine right out of the package, but it was of a slightly different design. I hope I can get this one to work, it's really ticking me off.

I had normally set my camera to the Automatic setting for Landscape, figuring that would offer me the best over-all images since I couldn't actually adjust the camera settings for each individual shot.
Sep 30, 2010, 10:27 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by power
I decided to step back just a bit from the Tri and take your advise. You must know how I operate "consumed" is a very good description.

I cut a few cores and started the wing construction.The wing is 15" X 80" the same as the Super Solution. The center section is 40" with two 20" tips. There are a few changes but nothing big so this should go fast. I should have this thing flying soon. I am still waiting on the AXI mount from Hobby Lobby Anyway to get back on building, here are a few wing progress pics. I will have more very soon.


Mike
Hi Mike,
can you please advise what thickness ply you use for the long strips 2 x 1.125 x 40" & 4 x 0.75" x 24". Looked on plans and cannot see what thickness you recommend.
Thanks
Regards
Nigel
Oct 01, 2010, 04:04 AM
Begin with end in mind...
power's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by zl2sea
Hi Mike,
can you please advise what thickness ply you use for the long strips 2 x 1.125 x 40" & 4 x 0.75" x 24". Looked on plans and cannot see what thickness you recommend.
Thanks
Regards
Nigel
Hi Nigel,

1/32 on the spars.


Mike
Oct 01, 2010, 04:59 AM
Registered User
merlin64's Avatar
Hi, this morning i made some pictures with some better light.
The plane flies perfect. Thanks Mike for this great plane!!!
I still have to do some mixing on elevator and rudder and after that i will go for the next step: a downlink.
Have you guys any advises about a downlink? I'm flying on 35Mhz.




Oct 13, 2010, 01:42 AM
Registered User
merlin64's Avatar
Hi,
I have made some more flghts with the Exposure and now i have the guts to fly a littler closer to the common world.
With a little wind (about 3kts) my Exposure flies in about 3 meters.
Landing with the same wind is even shorter, with 1/4 throttle the Exposere has almost zero groudspeed and will land like a helikopter

Here some pics nearby the village i live.



Oct 13, 2010, 04:11 AM
Begin with end in mind...
power's Avatar
Very nice!

looks like the plane is working well for you. great job!!


Mike
Oct 13, 2010, 07:59 AM
Registered User
BatterysIncluded's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by merlin64
for the next step: a downlink.
Have you guys any advises about a downlink? I'm flying on 35Mhz.
merlin,
The Netherlands are beautiful. Very pretty country and you are taking great photos with the plane. I put together this setup for a downlink using the BetsOfferBuy Fox Rx/Tx and it works nicely. I believe troynh (Tim) is also using the same unit and has used it with both 72 and 2.4. It should work fine with 35MHz. You will have to check the thread on the BOB unit to see if it has channels that you can use legally in your country. I remember reading that it does but you should double-check.
-Gary

Edit: Here is the link to the BOB Fox thread -> https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...best+offer+buy
Oct 13, 2010, 08:32 AM
Returning From Hiatus
Tango Juliet's Avatar
I looked again at my switch the other day, and it's definitely not right. There was no "push button" and no "power" light. There was no way I could program it, I'm not even sure it was getting power. I emailed one of the guys with Blip who I'd contacted before to see if they'd just do an exchange, but got no response. This morning I decided to make one more order from them in the hopes of getting it right.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Build Log Yet another AP platform..."DOUBLE EXPOSURE" power Aerial Photography 108 Sep 03, 2014 06:43 AM
Discussion Better DSLR Canon lens for AP Matt Gunn Aerial Photography 30 Jul 28, 2010 01:20 PM
Discussion AP platform for sale...maybe techspy Aerial Photography 0 Apr 29, 2010 10:31 AM
Discussion Have you seen this platform for AP/AV ? realtimerecon Aerial Photography 1 Apr 12, 2010 12:39 AM
Discussion Neat find for AP with a DSLR frogman1206 Aerial Photography 3 Feb 27, 2010 07:08 AM