FY 21AP Stabilizer with OSD - Page 102 - RC Groups
Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Jun 11, 2011, 09:12 AM
Oopss. Oh well.
borneobear's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flopp
Can`t get my fy21ap gps to work, i got sat lock 2times but no more.
I have wired longer cables to get i more away from esc, but it dont work.
There are 2 red wires coming out from the gps, is bouth + wires?
Try this:

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=1262
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Jun 11, 2011, 09:38 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by borneobear
Ty i will try it, but do you know what the 2 red wires in to the gps are? are they + wires?
Jun 11, 2011, 10:24 AM
saabguyspg's Avatar
nice BB!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by borneobear
Jun 11, 2011, 12:49 PM
RTFM
octane81's Avatar
So guys , im having the DX6i and after some reading I find that this transmitter is no good for the FY21AP, as I need two 3-way switches.

How many channels do I need?
As I will be using this new transmitter only for FPV, maybe a second hand 35mhz or 72mhz would do?

Any suggustions what to choose? My video gear is 1.2ghz.

Is the Turnigy 9x a good choice? enough switches , and fail safe programming...? its just a bit cheap , so im a little bit skeptical
Last edited by octane81; Jun 11, 2011 at 12:55 PM.
Jun 11, 2011, 06:58 PM
Registered User
Hi lads,

can anybody supply a download link or a copy of AP21 GCS v2.2 (original ). I need it to comunicate via modem to my AP21.

cheers
Jun 11, 2011, 07:31 PM
Registered User
I downloaded gcs version 2.2 from http://shop.fyetech.com/product_info...42&language=en but it gives me an error message regarding
mapx50.dll when I try to install
Jun 11, 2011, 11:14 PM
Oopss. Oh well.
borneobear's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by tete
I downloaded gcs version 2.2 from http://shop.fyetech.com/product_info...42&language=en but it gives me an error message regarding
mapx50.dll when I try to install
I had the same problem. I can't recall how I solved it, but it was solved.

If I recall correctly, you need to bundle the entire programme in one folder. The mapx50.dll should be in the folder, not outside. If I am not mistaken, it is supplied with the download.
Or you can download from the net.

Can't fully remember (getting old).

When I can recall, I'll post it.
Jun 12, 2011, 04:16 AM
Registered User
alan.tz.tan's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Talontsi96
Hey guys. I have a question I have just set up my Fy21Ap on a skywalker and had a very sucessful first flight. I do have an issue though with the GPS locking the home position. it works but it takes a minimum of 5 to 10 minutes before it locks in. This happens even after a battery change after a flight at the same filed. Is there a way to get the GPS lock faster? is there a way a guy could add a battery backup to the GPS receiver so it remembers its last positions such that after a battery change it finds the sats faster.
Just got my FY-21 AP II system set up and had the first test flight. Things worked well, except one... exactly the same problem, the GPS RTH signal took 5 to 10 mins to lock. After replaced the battery, then it took again 5 to 10 mins. Is there some setup I did wrong? BTW, the GPS receiver are far from any other TX signal.. Anyone can comment ?

Alan
Jun 13, 2011, 04:22 AM
Registered User
I can get 5 sat in about 30s, not know why so many people are having difficulties with gps lock..
Jun 13, 2011, 05:50 AM
Oopss. Oh well.
borneobear's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by HF_ATL
I can get 5 sat in about 30s, not know why so many people are having difficulties with gps lock..
I think maybe its the power supply from the FY21AP. Hence the mod I suggested.
Jun 13, 2011, 06:08 AM
Registered User
I'm not using any regulator to provide a stable 3.3v and even so I get fast lock. Maybe is because I'm using a 5a UBEC.

Quote:
Originally Posted by borneobear
I think maybe its the power supply from the FY21AP. Hence the mod I suggested.
Jun 13, 2011, 02:09 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by borneobear
I had the same problem. I can't recall how I solved it, but it was solved.

If I recall correctly, you need to bundle the entire programme in one folder. The mapx50.dll should be in the folder, not outside. If I am not mistaken, it is supplied with the download.
Or you can download from the net.

Can't fully remember (getting old).

When I can recall, I'll post it.
found the mapx50.dll (1.5MB file)on the internet and placed it in the folder with FYGCS2.2.exe but still could not install. I tried registering the dll with REGSVR32 c:\MAPX50.DLL but still no luck
Jun 13, 2011, 09:46 PM
Fly Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!
EarthOrbiter's Avatar
Separate your Video Tx antenna as far as possible from any Receivers including GPS Modules. Isolate connecting electrical by using torroids on links such as GPS, VTX, RCVR's. This isolation will filter out much RFI. I personaly power the FY from the rcvr powered from the BEC. This is the best clean power connection way I have found.
Jun 15, 2011, 10:20 AM
Registered User
ptuxbury's Avatar
Hello everyone,

I have three questions related to the FY-21AP with the AP117 OSD.

1. For the cable that connects the AP117 to the FY-21AP, do I need both Data TX and Data RX cabled plugged in? The cable that came with the system only had ground and Data RX cables in the connector, but then no data was displaying on the screen except for the format (same problem as Dutch Jones in Post #1499: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...postcount=1499). When I added the 3rd wire (Data TX), the data started coming across to the screen. I understand V+ is not required on that connector for this setup.

2. Can someone explain what information is going back and forth between the two units with the Data TX and Data RX cables? I understand that GPS, altitude, direction data, etc is getting sent from the FY-21AP to the AP117, but what information is required from the AP117 to the FY-21AP?

3. The bottom characters on my screen are getting cut off (I can only see about 1/2 the text). I have a NTSC camera (just bought from securitycamera2000.com), and a 720 x 480 10" TV screen. When I plug the system in, the AP117 displays that it is in NTSC (as expected). I have used this camera with a Cyclops OSD, and everything displays find on the screen. Still, it looks like my AP117 is outputting PAL, even though it says "NTSC" on the screen. Is there any way to force the AP117 to output a particular format? I've seen it recommended in the FAQs, but I don't see a procedure to do it anywhere.

Thanks,
Tux
Jun 15, 2011, 12:37 PM
Registered User
ptuxbury's Avatar
Okay, I narrowed down a couple of my issues:

From #1 above: The OSD data wasn't displaying properly on my screen because the white wire that makes the connection from the AP117 to FY-21AP had a bad crimp on the connector. I replaced it with another wire that I crimped myself, and the data started displaying on my screen.

From #3 above: It appears that my camera is causing the issues with the AP117. If I remove the camera from the equation, the text looks normal and fits within the screen. If I plug the camera back in, the text goes back to being too spread out and not fitting on the screen. It looks like I will probably have to buy another camera (major bummer, since I dished out $$$ for a camera that won't work for me).

Does anyone know if I can fiddle with the settings in my camera to change it somehow to display properly? I know, it's a reach, but maybe someone else had this problem and was able to fix it.

Thanks,
Tux


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Remzibi OSD (Poor Man's OSD) integration with ArduPilot HappyKillmore FPV Talk 544 Sep 01, 2017 11:48 AM
Question Using fma copilot ii with OSD-Pro? RHash Eagle Tree Systems 17 Aug 11, 2013 05:19 AM
Discussion best OSD with most features for the money? OSD product matrix here.. markm75 FPV Talk 66 May 03, 2010 03:31 PM
Discussion Octocopter for aerial photography with - FPV - OSD - Head tracker danielpetrescu Multirotor Drone Talk 1 Mar 26, 2010 03:30 PM
For Sale FY-22 Rapter EDF Jet 3DTRYER Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 1 Mar 15, 2010 01:52 PM