Apr 25, 2010, 08:45 PM
G_T
G_T
Thread OP
Discussion

loop test for dialing in elevator->camber mix

Hi Folks,

I typed this in an attempt to answer a question on another thread, but thought it might be of general interest. This is a method I use at times to get in the ballpark for elevator throws (in the up direction, not the down) and for elevator->camber mixing ratios. I've been using it for a couple of years or so.

-------------------

There is a test I use but I'm not going to try to defend it. It gets me pretty close. I call it the loop test.

Before doing the test, have the plane already trimmed out balanced out and flying well. This test is for fine tuning the total elevator throw and the elevator to flap coupling.

Put the plane in cruise mode and build up a little speed. Not super fast. Basically a short dive is fine.

Now pull full up elevator. If the plane does big loops then add a little more max up elevator. If the plane tries to loop tight but mushes out quickly, then there is too much elevator available. The wing can't support the AOA the elevator is trying to force. It is stalling. Reduce the elevator slightly.

Now lets suppose the max elevator travel is reasonable so a tight loop can be done without the plane mushing out immediately. It might not be efficient and may only make a few loops before dying, but that is fine.

Now, generally one doesn't use full up elevator except in emergencies. What you have done is set the emergency elevator setting. More than that doesn't accomplish anything so more than that is prevented. But there is as much as we can get away with.

In normal flying even in tight turns and aerobatic playing, we are using less than 100% throws. We try to stay in the more efficient range to conserve energy. So write down your up elevator max position and trim position, and then back off the max up elevator to perhaps 90% of what it was. Or perhaps even 80%. Just pick your poison.