Thread Tools
Old May 20, 2010, 04:57 AM
CrashingDutchman is offline
Find More Posts by CrashingDutchman
Registered User
CrashingDutchman's Avatar
I had a funny experience with these 315MHz transcievers from SF. I had a wireless link from a computer in a room upstairs to my computer downstairs (10-12 meter distance). Both were connected to an Arduino. I used this setup to measure room temperature in a test setup. It sent the temperatrue

At the same time, I had big problems with some channels on my digital TV. I never thought about the transceivers being the cause of these problem, until someone clever pointed me to the fact that the channels I had problems with were on the same frequency.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 20, 2010, 08:06 AM
mrfliboy is offline
Find More Posts by mrfliboy
Don't leave it Stock
mrfliboy's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnihilaT View Post
This chip isnt actually used anymore... during planning i was going to use one of these but did not in the end.
Thanks for the response, good luck on the interference problem
Old May 20, 2010, 10:13 AM
phil_g is online now
Find More Posts by phil_g
Who let the dogs out?
phil_g's Avatar
I built a lightweight indoor R/C set some time ago from cheap commercial 434mhz AM modules:
Transmitter
Receiver
The rx is a superregenerative but since no-one else is likely to be flying on 434...
Anyway, they work fine as is, tx fed directly with PPM and with the rx driving the superb Russ Abott PIC 12F675 decoder.
Range is several hundred feet and reliability has been excellent.
Phil
Old May 20, 2010, 01:22 PM
braindead4554 is offline
Find More Posts by braindead4554
Multicopter Addict
braindead4554's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnihilaT View Post
Good luck! BTW, What frequency did you order and also which frequency are you using for your video link?
I ordered the ones from the link you posted. My video is 900mhz.
Old May 20, 2010, 04:44 PM
AnnihilaT is offline
Find More Posts by AnnihilaT
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by braindead4554 View Post
I ordered the ones from the link you posted. My video is 900mhz.
Ok cool.... should be interesting to see if you see any interference in your video signal. I have a bit but its very slight and im on 2.4ghz and the 315mhz xmitter sits right next to the 2.4ghz receiver. trying to get this last bit sorted out now. Maybe someone has a schematic or can make some suggestions how to filter the interence from the 2.4ghz receiver?
Old Jun 06, 2010, 06:44 PM
VHugo is offline
Find More Posts by VHugo
Registered User

‘Headtracker’ available for Spektrum TXs?


Is the ‘Headtracker’ available for Spektrum TXs which have only a two wire Trainer port?
Old Jun 07, 2010, 06:12 PM
AnnihilaT is offline
Find More Posts by AnnihilaT
Registered User
i think so.... you need to check on flytron's website for more details.
Old Jun 08, 2010, 08:16 PM
mrfliboy is offline
Find More Posts by mrfliboy
Don't leave it Stock
mrfliboy's Avatar
I ordered the 434mhz setup to use with my Trimersion goggles (2.4 wireless video feed)which I'm using with my Flight simulator. Object is to get rid of usb trainer cable for simulator.

Piece of cake right???
Old Jun 10, 2010, 07:16 PM
AnnihilaT is offline
Find More Posts by AnnihilaT
Registered User
hmmm... should be doable but keep in mind that range wont be that great. a couple meters at most...
Old Jun 10, 2010, 10:12 PM
mrfliboy is offline
Find More Posts by mrfliboy
Don't leave it Stock
mrfliboy's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AnnihilaT View Post
hmmm... should be doable but keep in mind that range wont be that great. a couple meters at most...
Only need a couple feet
Old Jun 13, 2010, 07:44 PM
mrfliboy is offline
Find More Posts by mrfliboy
Don't leave it Stock
mrfliboy's Avatar

Success!!!!!


It works. Took me a bit to get it all figured out but everything is working amazingly wonderful.

I am now able to be completely wireless when playing my Simulator in Full Immersion with my Trimersion goggles.

I found a jack receptacle in my electronic junk bin that fit the plug from my simulator. I opend the simulator trainer cable to check there wiring. They are using #3 signal out, #2 grd, and #4 and #5 jumpered together.

I used the Tx (Sparkfun AM434) connected to my Futaba 7C. The Tx outputs 12v and the AM Tx accepts 12V. My wiring Data to pin 3, Grd to Pin 2 and VCC to Pin 4,5. I also took a length of enameld wire approix. 10" long and soldered it onto the ant leg.

The Rx (Sparkfun AM434) is powered from a old 10amp esc for the 5v output along with a 2cell lipo. The plug jack came from something to accept the simulator cable. 5v to Rx, grd to grd (both the plug jack and 5v grd) and data out to the simulator cable.

The goggles are Trimersion hacked goggles that are wireless for the simulator picture, Using 2.4 on the goggles.

Haven't tested full range but was able to play the simulator game (located secon floor from my hobby room basement. Plenty of range.

Only downside is to reset I need the keyboard. Can we say wireless keyboard. LOL

Thanks to all that have contributed to this thread, great idea. A $15 hack is always the best hack. LOL
Old Jun 13, 2010, 08:11 PM
AnnihilaT is offline
Find More Posts by AnnihilaT
Registered User
hehe Cool! Glad it worked out for you!
Old Aug 10, 2010, 02:36 PM
schoeni is offline
Find More Posts by schoeni
schoeni
schoeni's Avatar
Hei phil g

Many thanks for your tip with the rx / tx set.
This is very simple and works superbly.

I wanted to first implement the Corona 2.4Ghz system like that.
But that rx/tx set is much easier and gives directly the desired signal from futaba TX input.

wireless head tracker (1 min 26 sec)
Last edited by schoeni; Apr 01, 2011 at 08:07 AM.
Old Aug 19, 2010, 11:15 AM
phil_g is online now
Find More Posts by phil_g
Who let the dogs out?
phil_g's Avatar
np !
Quote:
Originally Posted by schoeni View Post
Hei phil g
Many thanks for your tip with the rx / tx set.
This is very simple and works superbly.
Old Apr 01, 2011, 07:29 AM
BlueAngel2000 is offline
Find More Posts by BlueAngel2000
Flying like an Angel.
BlueAngel2000's Avatar
ah, now i know why i missed this great thread, because it was not in the FPV forum.

I have the Flytron HT too and a Futaba FF10.
This would be great to have a wireless HT.

I want to use the license free band with 433MHz.
Since the receiver from Sparkfun is not available anymore i think i will use the ones from UK:
http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/s...uct&R=617-2044
http://uk.rs-online.com/web/search/s...uct&R=617-2072

I can use them without any external components to transmit the PPM stream, am i right?

thanks

PS.: or are there other cheap good working modules available in the meantime.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Help with DX7 tx and AR500 rx Rydogg420 Radios 5 Mar 19, 2010 03:48 PM
Question might a bandpass filter help with 2.4 V-Tx locking out FASST Rx? lichy FPV Talk 9 Oct 24, 2009 09:02 AM
Discussion Futaba 14MZ modules with serial data instead of PPM? village_idiot Xtreme Power Systems 2 Jan 10, 2008 11:36 AM
Discussion New serial checksum RX protocol instead off old PPM? LoopForEver DIY Electronics 13 Jun 11, 2007 12:51 PM
Need help with TX serial cable to Belkin serial to USB converter. ggood Simulators 4 Sep 23, 2006 10:58 PM