Thread Tools
Old Apr 07, 2010, 12:20 AM
4567 is offline
Find More Posts by 4567
Registered User
4567's Avatar
Discussion

Sig Kadet MKII: Which motor? How to mount?


Hello! I received a Sig Kadet MKII kit for christmas this year, and would like to convert it to electric. I would like to purchase a motor that would be able to use a regular, full-size spinner, so it can blend into the cowl as would be the case with a glow engine. While I was looking at the Exceed RC motors, I noticed that the spinner that it came with was rather small, and blue. People wrote in the comments section of the web page that there was no accessories available. One that had a spinner that was not small and blue would be much better, and preferably with accessories available.

Also, I dont need a really high end motor. I was actually looking for something cheap, like one of the motors from hobbyking.

Any suggestions would be great
Matt
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 07, 2010, 10:39 AM
wellington53 is offline
Find More Posts by wellington53
Glenn
wellington53's Avatar
Here's a popular way to do it with nylon/standoff spacers from true value and the like.
Old Apr 07, 2010, 11:16 AM
4567 is offline
Find More Posts by 4567
Registered User
4567's Avatar
What are the nylon standoff/spacers attached to at the firewall? Is that another back plate motor mount?

Also which motor do you think would work well?
Last edited by 4567; Apr 07, 2010 at 11:22 AM.
Old Apr 07, 2010, 12:31 PM
kingdom802 is offline
Find More Posts by kingdom802
Registered User
I have converted an old Eagle 63 to electric to do some photography for a local company.
I used the Alpha 32 from Hobbypartz.com 22.90 the stand off's are from Home depot and com in sizes 1/4 to 1 inch. Use a good sized bolt and a blind nut on the back side and it will work well. I am not sure what the bracket on the back of the previous picture is.
Old Apr 07, 2010, 12:59 PM
4567 is offline
Find More Posts by 4567
Registered User
4567's Avatar
I don't know very much about these motors. Can you get adapters so you can use any spinner that you would use on a glow engine or no?
Old Apr 07, 2010, 03:37 PM
wellington53 is offline
Find More Posts by wellington53
Glenn
wellington53's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumpffy View Post
I don't know very much about these motors. Can you get adapters so you can use any spinner that you would use on a glow engine or no?
Here's a popular motor for your plane,
http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...less_Outrunner
Old Apr 07, 2010, 03:39 PM
wellington53 is offline
Find More Posts by wellington53
Glenn
wellington53's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumpffy View Post
What are the nylon standoff/spacers attached to at the firewall? Is that another back plate motor mount?

Also which motor do you think would work well?
Thats just a spare motor mount I used but was not nessary.
Old Apr 07, 2010, 03:42 PM
wellington53 is offline
Find More Posts by wellington53
Glenn
wellington53's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kingdom802 View Post
I have converted an old Eagle 63 to electric to do some photography for a local company.
I used the Alpha 32 from Hobbypartz.com 22.90 the stand off's are from Home depot and com in sizes 1/4 to 1 inch. Use a good sized bolt and a blind nut on the back side and it will work well. I am not sure what the bracket on the back of the previous picture is.
Like kingdom says about using blindnuts on the backside of the firewall,
All these items (blindnuts, bolts, standoffs etc can be found at most good hardware stores.
Old Apr 07, 2010, 04:15 PM
4567 is offline
Find More Posts by 4567
Registered User
4567's Avatar
Okay, but can I mount a big nylon spinner like you would with a glow engine onto it? And also what ESC and battery should I use? Sorry about all these questions, I'm a noob.
Old Apr 07, 2010, 04:35 PM
wellington53 is offline
Find More Posts by wellington53
Glenn
wellington53's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by stumpffy View Post
Okay, but can I mount a big nylon spinner like you would with a glow engine onto it? And also what ESC and battery should I use? Sorry about all these questions, I'm a noob.
Yes you can use a big plastic spinner like you would with a glow engine, Use a 60a esc, A 5S4100 LiPo will give good flight time too.
Old Apr 07, 2010, 05:33 PM
DrEvil is offline
Find More Posts by DrEvil
Plane and multirotor's - FPV
DrEvil's Avatar
Hi.
I'm using this motor : http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s..._750Kv_/_600W#

And this motor mount : http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...ount_(110/45mm)

With a 12x6 propp on a 4cell lipo, works great !!

Kai
Last edited by DrEvil; Apr 07, 2010 at 05:57 PM.
Old Apr 07, 2010, 06:32 PM
4567 is offline
Find More Posts by 4567
Registered User
4567's Avatar
What ESC are you using? Where did you buy your battery? Do you put the nylon spinner on in between the plate and the little metal spinner that comes with the motor? Can you use a wooden prop like you would with a glow engine?
Old Apr 07, 2010, 07:45 PM
mt_100 is online now
Find More Posts by mt_100
I have no friends
I am using the same motor as DrEvil on the front of a PT-40 ARF with a 12x8 prop and 4S 3700 battery and it flies great. I don't have a spinner on it at all actually. Guess I could put one on but never did as the motor stays very cool for the 11 minute flights I get on it.
Old Apr 07, 2010, 08:44 PM
4567 is offline
Find More Posts by 4567
Registered User
4567's Avatar
Yes, now I see now. In the photo in pose number 2 I see the spinner backplate.

I have another question though, what kind of holes should I cut in the cowl for airflow to the motor.

And should I put the ESC on the same side of the firewall as the motor so it gets airflow too?

Also, is this charger okay for a 5S 4000 mAh Lipo?http://www.hobbycity.com/hobbycity/s...rger_1-6_Cells
Last edited by 4567; Apr 07, 2010 at 09:31 PM. Reason: Forgot to ask question
Old Apr 07, 2010, 09:47 PM
kingdom802 is offline
Find More Posts by kingdom802
Registered User
Believe it or not I am running a 3c 2200 pack with a 40 amp speed control.
My watt meter shows 29 amps at full throttle.
13X6 prop
I normally get get about 8 to 10 min flights.
I tried to upload a video but was unable.
I could add a spinner but didn't need the weight.
I put two vents on mine after the first flight but saw no
diffrence with them or without.
Looks like you are getting some good feedback.
Last edited by kingdom802; Apr 07, 2010 at 09:48 PM. Reason: More info


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Sold SIg Kadet MKII and a Goldberg Cub Dallas101 Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Apr 01, 2010 09:50 PM
For Sale SIg Kadet MKII and a Goldberg Cub Dallas101 Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Mar 29, 2010 01:25 PM
For Sale New Sig Kits Citabria and Kadet MKII Dallas101 Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Feb 28, 2010 11:06 AM
For Sale Sig Kadet MKII forsale Dallas101 Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Feb 27, 2010 09:22 AM
Sold Sig Kadet MKII Kit bah7566 Aircraft - Fuel - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 06, 2009 12:58 AM