Thread Tools
Sep 28, 2011, 05:56 PM
Flying low is expensive.
pdiddyg40's Avatar
Would anyone consider it necessary to reinforce the elevator on their SW? I'm getting closer to completing this plane (I build pretty slow )
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 28, 2011, 06:21 PM
Happy Days
mudlark's Avatar
just started building my V5 version.
The elevator has a carbonstrip in it ready to be glued in, if that is of help

I've started with the wings, going to add the flaps.
Sep 28, 2011, 06:24 PM
Flying low is expensive.
pdiddyg40's Avatar
The elevator does? My horizontal stab does, right before the hinge line. And I added another CF strip further up. But does the actual elevator need reinforcement?
Sep 28, 2011, 06:39 PM
Flying low is expensive.
pdiddyg40's Avatar
Oh, and second question. Would it be considered safe to just Gorilla Glue my H-Stab to the V-stab? I don't think there's a problem wiht it, but would anyone else object?
Sep 28, 2011, 07:46 PM
Registered User
Definitely put a ribbon of carbon in your ACTUAL elevator. TEST: Hold the control surface and push to the extreme end of the control surface. End result? lots of flex. Reinforce.

I don't think it is necessary to glue the horizontal/vertical stabilizers together, but not a bad idea either. I don't see any benefit other than transporting the planke to have it removable.
Sep 28, 2011, 09:05 PM
Bugs!!!!!!!
viper6549's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdiddyg40
The elevator does? My horizontal stab does, right before the hinge line. And I added another CF strip further up. But does the actual elevator need reinforcement?
I covered mine with packing tape, not sure if it needed it or not.
Sep 28, 2011, 09:07 PM
Registered User
ashdec87's Avatar
I just have a strip of CF in the stab. Nothing in the elevator. No issues here.
Sep 28, 2011, 09:56 PM
I do all my own crashes
Wingnut13's Avatar
My elevator flexed quite a bit until I removed the EPO hinge and used tape. No issues after that, and I have a porky plane. ~Wingnut13
Sep 29, 2011, 02:43 AM
Registered User
I managed to do a 1.7k FPV flight this morning. Limited by my Futaba FASST radio, waiting for my Dragonlink LRS to arrive.

http://vimeo.com/29759287
Sep 29, 2011, 11:09 AM
Zebro
yanickr1973's Avatar
There is absolutely no need to reinforce the elevator ! you are not flying a 3D plane, it's a fpv platform with 5mm of elevator throw!

I recover easily from high speed dives with no problems on the stock elevator

remember that to some extent, you want your plane to flex if you stiffen your plane too much, it becomes like riding your car without a suspension.
Sep 29, 2011, 11:28 AM
Registered User
high speed dives? power off, reduce airspeed, then lower the nose and you won't get into a high speed dive. Also deploying flaps and you can descend at a steeper angle and not get into a high speed dive.

High speed dive = either pilot error or aerobatics.
Sep 29, 2011, 11:29 AM
RCGroups Editor
Matt Gunn's Avatar
Just so everyone is on the same page.

The elevator is the control surface that moves up and down.
The horozontal stabilizer aka horizontal stab is the fixed wing that the elevator is attached to.

The horizontal stab, as you all know, has a rod in it but it can still benefit from a carbon strip. The elevator is fine as is and needs nothing.
Sep 29, 2011, 11:31 AM
Registered User
mauromassari's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by htran
high speed dives? power off, reduce airspeed, then lower the nose and you won't get into a high speed dive. Also deploying flaps and you can descend at a steeper angle and not get into a high speed dive.

High speed dive = either pilot error or aerobatics.
You forgot also, (or wing snaps off) like mine....
Sep 29, 2011, 11:44 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by mauromassari
You forgot also, (or wing snaps off) like mine....
LoL I don't think the high speed dive caused that, it was probably the "abrupt" controls (ie. too much elevator) for that airspeed resulting into too much load on the wings.

Did you have the whole bottom of your wing fibre taped? I just can't see how with 4 carbon tubes and the bottom fibre taped a wing could snap.
Sep 29, 2011, 11:53 AM
Registered User
mauromassari's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by htran
LoL I don't think the high speed dive caused that, it was probably the "abrupt" controls (ie. too much elevator) for that airspeed resulting into too much load on the wings.

Did you have the whole bottom of your wing fibre taped? I just can't see how with 4 carbon tubes and the bottom fibre taped a wing could snap.
You are probably right I did not have fibre tape on it, but alredy got some and will use in mine next SW, but be carefull this baby gets speed very easy because of the load on it.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 24 Nov 23, 2014 03:56 PM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 10:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 09:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 11:45 AM