Thread Tools
Old Jun 15, 2010, 10:55 AM
iw28 is offline
Find More Posts by iw28
Registered User
iw28's Avatar

nice fpv flying SPL


Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 15, 2010, 12:31 PM
Syberian is offline
Find More Posts by Syberian
Oleg
Syberian's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RaptorAP View Post
Im using a Turnigy 3530-1400, with a 9X6 APC prop
Thank you for the data! I choose the same motor and prop, but had some doubts until now.
I wonder what thrust it can deliver @ 37 amps? Will it prop-hang?
Old Jun 15, 2010, 06:12 PM
SON OF PALEFACE is offline
Find More Posts by SON OF PALEFACE
Ozzie Express wiggy pilot
SON OF PALEFACE's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by wilsonj View Post
I think you will find the reynolds numbers are better for a larger propeller. So running two smaller propellers fast will not be an efficient way to go.

Think of a mesi copter/quad copter, and compare that to a normal two rotor blade helicopter. Flight times are always a problem with the multi blade multi motor machines.

This is probably all moot anyhow, if you are not looking for long flight times.

Back to the skywalker.
What if you extended a dowl out the front with a small weight on it. So as to move the CoG right forward. This might allow you to run smaller lighter packs. Not the most elegant solution, but it would work quite well I think!
Hey 'J' ...I see your still in here batting with the ******s....I guess it passes the time
Old Jun 15, 2010, 07:28 PM
wilsonj is offline
Find More Posts by wilsonj
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by SON OF PALEFACE View Post
Hey 'J' ...I see your still in here batting with the ******s....I guess it passes the time
LOL thats like hangman..........Is there an "F" ?
Old Jun 15, 2010, 09:31 PM
Cralis is offline
Find More Posts by Cralis
I love FPV!
Cralis's Avatar
Would two 3mm solid CF rods, 700mm long (2 per wing), be suitable for strengthening the wings? Or would 4mm be better?
Other options are 3 or 4mm hollow tubes? Wouldn't solid be better though?
They can also supply me strips, 0.5mm (Sounds VERY thin....) by either 3mm of 5mm.

Which would be best for trying to strengthen the weak point in the wings?
Old Jun 15, 2010, 09:48 PM
ashdec87 is offline
Find More Posts by ashdec87
Registered User
ashdec87's Avatar
the strips if placed vertically and glued in place are VERY strong and much lighter than a hollow tube. BTW, hollow in this case is plenty strong when compared to the solid rod.
Old Jun 15, 2010, 09:56 PM
Cralis is offline
Find More Posts by Cralis
I love FPV!
Cralis's Avatar
Thanks ashdec87.
I like the sound of the strips, but ... 0.5mm is VERY thin. Would it be strong enough?
Old Jun 15, 2010, 10:00 PM
galaxiex is offline
Find More Posts by galaxiex
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cralis View Post
Thanks ashdec87.
I like the sound of the strips, but ... 0.5mm is VERY thin. Would it be strong enough?
Easily strong enough.

0.5mm might seem thin... but once glued into a slit cut in the foam you will be surprised at how stiff it will make the wing.
Old Jun 15, 2010, 10:02 PM
ashdec87 is offline
Find More Posts by ashdec87
Registered User
ashdec87's Avatar
well I generally use about .9mm, I think if you have a couple of them should be ok. But thats a judgement call on your part. Pretty much the purpose of these strips is to spread the load from the end of the spars. They arent taking the full weight of the plane. I think they should be ok if you glue them in well enough.
Old Jun 15, 2010, 10:02 PM
Cralis is offline
Find More Posts by Cralis
I love FPV!
Cralis's Avatar
Convinced. Thanks guys. Order being placed.
And 70cm (27.5 inches) would be good, right? Crossing the weak point... with 35cmm on each side. I'd put two strips in, maybe 5cm apart.
Old Jun 15, 2010, 10:19 PM
galaxiex is offline
Find More Posts by galaxiex
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cralis View Post
Convinced. Thanks guys. Order being placed.
And 70cm (27.5 inches) would be good, right? Crossing the weak point... with 35cmm on each side. I'd put two strips in, maybe 5cm apart.
Look at how Sander did it.... I thought you had been following this thread?

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...&postcount=577
Old Jun 16, 2010, 03:21 AM
Cralis is offline
Find More Posts by Cralis
I love FPV!
Cralis's Avatar
Thanks galaxiex... I had seen it. I was asking something COMPLETELY unrelated to anything he said. I was asking if tubes would be OK, because I thought 0.5mm seemed too thin. What suggests I didn't read it? You maybe misread something I wrote? I was asking if 700mm, with 350mm on each side of the weak point was OK.... (I've since changed to 500mm, with 250mm on each side)

Anyways, as I said.. then 0.5 mm strips ordered, and I am using 500mm long ones... overlapping the default CF tubes but a bit more. Should work well...

Did a dry fit today... SO close to ready... No motor.. or FMA Copilot... and the CoG comes in at 3cm from the LEading Edge. The added weight of those components should put the CoG closer to the cm CoG recommendation (IIRC). So.. quite pleased!

A few photos. Are the aileron throws OK? I can't get much more than that because the pushrud touches the wing on up throw...

I had my GPS inside the 'ESC' area... the area under the wing joins... and took ages to get a lock... I'm suprised. I thought I'd get a quick lock through the foam. Took it out, and it got a good lock. I maybe have an error in my test though... Initial test inside was a 'cold' start? While the second test was a 'warm' start, and would aquire quicker? However, I suspect it's more the proximity to my ESC (Even though I have no motor connected?) that may be the issue?
Last edited by Cralis; Jun 16, 2010 at 03:33 AM.
Old Jun 16, 2010, 03:31 AM
bignose13 is offline
Find More Posts by bignose13
Yeah Baby
bignose13's Avatar
Nice Cralis
what cam are you gonna use or have I missed that, also Like the hatch idea, wished I'd done something like that with my Twinstar
Simon

Edit:- Reckon the throws are way more than enough
Old Jun 16, 2010, 03:36 AM
Cralis is offline
Find More Posts by Cralis
I love FPV!
Cralis's Avatar
Thanks bignose13.

I had a cheap $25 cam off ebay. It died... and the seller took it back. I decided to upgrade with them to the 480L version for an extra $20. So, I am just waiting for it. Really hope it does the trick.

Hatch was nice.. Problem is, it's not too easy to get to the 'floor' where I have the OSD placed.. but.. it's possible. I need to shorten a few lines. But... am wondering if it's better to have soldered wires, or slighjtly longer wires...
Old Jun 16, 2010, 03:48 AM
Kev.au is offline
Find More Posts by Kev.au
Post # 20 million
Kev.au's Avatar
Hey Cralis, she's looking good mate. I just used hollow 3mmx3mm rod, about 300mm long.



Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 24 Nov 23, 2014 04:56 PM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 11:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 10:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 12:45 PM