Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
May 25, 2011, 04:15 AM
Registered User
On my Easy star, I could only control the plane using elevator, rudder and speed. The aileron-channel did I use to pan my camera.

With the Skywalker, I have no channel left to pan the camera. Will the only solution to pan the camera, be to drop the use of rudder and instead use it for pan or to use a headtracker, and keep the rudder ?

I have a Futaba T7C Tx
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
May 25, 2011, 05:00 AM
Registered User
I like to use the plastic hinges, but then i have been convinced to use the tape.. much less weigth and more simplicity. I've just cut the foam in two points (or 3) to pass the tape between, leaving the rest, so you don't need additional "covering" tape.

I've used the double taped method:

......=====
......xxxxxxx....WING
AIRELON..xxxxxxxx
.............======

where the "xxxxxxx" is the tape side with the glue, it's attached side to side (two tape pieces) for a part, to attach the two pieces together, and then attached to the airelon and to the wing on each other side.
May 25, 2011, 05:05 AM
Registered User
What kind of tape did you use ? I know you use double side, but what brand/name ?
May 25, 2011, 06:11 AM
Flying low is expensive.
pdiddyg40's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpookiePower View Post
What kind of tape did you use ? I know you use double side, but what brand/name ?
He didn't use double sided tape, he used single sided tape and over lapped them in the middle where they pass by the actual hinge part. This allows you to stick it to the top of the wing and bottom of the control surface, or visa versa. I can't speak for the brand.
May 25, 2011, 07:13 AM
Still flying
Ramnes's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpookiePower View Post
Today I received my skywalker and everything seems to be fine, almost.

When I look at the part, where the ailerons are moving up/down, the foam seems so thin that it in some places is missing. Is this normal, or should I give it some tape on top of the wings ?
Hei på deg
If I was you i would have cut out the whole piece of aileron and hinge them with tape. It's not that hard even for a first timer as me. Searh Google for "tape hinges" or similar and you'll fin lots of links with how-to's.

You can even search in this thread and you should find the way i did it.
Need more help, PM me in Danish.

Jorn
May 25, 2011, 08:04 AM
Registered User
BushmanLA's Avatar
I tend to use CA hinges on all my stuff. No problems so far.

Installing CA Hinges (3 min 9 sec)
May 25, 2011, 08:11 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdiddyg40 View Post
He didn't use double sided tape, he used single sided tape and over lapped them in the middle where they pass by the actual hinge part. This allows you to stick it to the top of the wing and bottom of the control surface, or visa versa. I can't speak for the brand.
Correct... didn't had time to paint a picture (anyway you can find it browsing this forum), it's normal transparent single side tape, you overlap the two pieces FACE TO FACE where it passes trought the hinge as said... you have only to make sure that it stick good on the EPP (mine does it very well), no specific brand.
May 25, 2011, 09:49 AM
UAV Pilot
UndCon's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpookiePower View Post
On my Easy star, I could only control the plane using elevator, rudder and speed. The aileron-channel did I use to pan my camera.

With the Skywalker, I have no channel left to pan the camera. Will the only solution to pan the camera, be to drop the use of rudder and instead use it for pan or to use a headtracker, and keep the rudder ?

I have a Futaba T7C Tx
Hej!

On my skywalker I use Y-cables for pan/tilt & they are connected to rudder/elevator

I use 4 channels for flaps/ailerons - but will most likely change this into y-cables as well to free up channels (need to control eagle tree)
May 25, 2011, 10:23 AM
FPV addict
Hi guys,

Are the boxed servos any good?
Should I use other servos?

Kristian
May 25, 2011, 10:27 AM
Registered User
Just what i had in mind
May 25, 2011, 10:32 AM
saabguyspg's Avatar
Good hing discussion... my method....

put your control surface at the maximum deflection, tape along the inside with the tape touching both the control surface and wing.... then deflect the control surface maximumm the other way.... tap along there too... all the way along.... done, 10 minutes tops.

works perfect, leaves no air gap and is proven to excess of 130km/hr on my wings.

I tend to use the re-enforced tape (with the thin lines going through it) just dont use packing tape

Steve
May 25, 2011, 10:50 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by UndCon View Post
Hej!

On my skywalker I use Y-cables for pan/tilt & they are connected to rudder/elevator

I use 4 channels for flaps/ailerons - but will most likely change this into y-cables as well to free up channels (need to control eagle tree)
Does it means, that each time you turn the plane left/rigth the camera wil also turn ?
May 25, 2011, 10:57 AM
Gravity is patient............
Quote:
Originally Posted by saabguyspg View Post
Good hing discussion... my method....

put your control surface at the maximum deflection, tape along the inside with the tape touching both the control surface and wing.... then deflect the control surface maximumm the other way.... tap along there too... all the way along.... done, 10 minutes tops.

works perfect, leaves no air gap and is proven to excess of 130km/hr on my wings.

I tend to use the re-enforced tape (with the thin lines going through it) just dont use packing tape

Steve
I've used plain packing tape on foam without issue. Although I did use re-enforced tape on the SW. Anyway I have a 3 year old foamy with packing tape on the hinges and 100's of flights on it. Just found it strange you would exclude using it. Why?
May 25, 2011, 11:15 AM
Fast and low...
aa78's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by aa78 View Post
To float an idea for comments, I was considering installing the 5.8GHz 200mW Vtx either inside the fuselage or on the fuselage boom and using a servo to change antenna polarization and making it such that the antenna points vertically down beneath the airplane while in flight and a toggle switch can change it to horizontal polarization when coming in for belly landing. Any ideas/comments regarding this?
Anyone?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 24 Nov 23, 2014 04:56 PM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 11:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 10:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 12:45 PM