Thread Tools
May 13, 2011, 04:11 AM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blueshy
How did you get the black to stay flush with the white? Is there like a spring on the other side pushing the servo down to keep both surfaces in contact?
The servo is bolted to the bottom of the plywood plate (normally it'd be
attached to the top), which reduces the space between the top surface of
the plywood and the black servo arm. The black plate is really a round servo
arm and is solidly attached to the servo output shaft like any other servo arm and the
servo to the plywood. All I did was fill the space between the plywood and the black
disc arm with some dense foam (EPO ), and then a layer of UHMW mentioned above. I
needed a tiny bit more filler so I added one layer of hockey tape on top of the ply.
Now the black disk and the UHMW are in constant contact and while it's still free
to rotate, it does not rock in any direction. It'll play even more of a role as the
servo and splines in the arm wear.


ian
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
May 13, 2011, 04:57 AM
Registered User
Would any of you, use the HXT900 servos from Hobbyking.com, for your rudder,elevator and ailerons or is the quality not good enough ?
May 13, 2011, 05:05 AM
Registered User
Firatp's Avatar
I use hobbyking HXT900 in my SW. they are good enough.
Firat



Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
May 13, 2011, 05:41 AM
Post # 20 million
Kev.au's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpookiePower
Would any of you, use the HXT900 servos from Hobbyking.com, for your rudder,elevator and ailerons or is the quality not good enough ?
Both of our SW's have HXT900, never had one fail yet.


Cheers, Kev.
May 13, 2011, 05:46 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kev.au
Both of our SW's have HXT900, never had one fail yet.


Cheers, Kev.
Thanks
May 13, 2011, 06:07 AM
Flying low is expensive.
pdiddyg40's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kev.au
Both of our SW's have HXT900, never had one fail yet.


Cheers, Kev.
ever have any big issues with glitching or interference? the servos on this plane are pretty remote so i figure that limits it.
May 13, 2011, 06:41 AM
USA: LakeGeorge, New York
Daemon/Ian

I like clip 2:44 on your vid....

nice! :-)
May 13, 2011, 08:34 AM
Post # 20 million
Kev.au's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pdiddyg40
ever have any big issues with glitching or interference? the servos on this plane are pretty remote so i figure that limits it.
No, never had a problem. Only time i got servo jitter was with parkzone servos.


Cheers, Kev.
May 13, 2011, 09:33 AM
Registered User
I used MG14s as I knew them to be reliable.

I put an HXT900 on the pan servo and to be honest they seem a little "notchy" in comparison.
May 13, 2011, 09:49 AM
KJ6BFN
henkvdw's Avatar
I found the HXT900 to be very reliable although quite susceptible to RF interference - so it has to be shielded.
May 13, 2011, 04:14 PM
Registered User
rsowder's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon
BTW, here's some pics of the GoPro mount as flown.
The black base is the round servo arm, and the two wall hooks are
screwed into it very solidly. Points of the screws are ground off flush with
the bottom so it can ride smoothly on the slick surface below.
Can use anything as a hold-down, including strong rubber band, velcro strap, tape
or a zip tie. My goal was not so much to keep it on (the velcro on the bottom
does that), but to hold it solidly so it does not rock fore and aft.
This works very well for that. The tape you see is not even stuck to the camera,
only to itself, but it holds the camera very well.

ian
With the GoPro up front, how much weight did you have to add to the tail to get the CG at 30mm behind the servo wires?
May 13, 2011, 04:37 PM
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
My video Tx is on the flat spot on the tail boom, and the V is back on the tail.
The 4000mAh battery centered is a little forward of halfway between front
and back of inside of cockpit. I added no other weight to balance it.

ian
May 13, 2011, 04:46 PM
Registered User
rsowder's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daemon
My video Tx is on the flat spot on the tail boom, and the V is back on the tail.
The 4000mAh battery centered is a little forward of halfway between front
and back of inside of cockpit. I added no other weight to balance it.

ian
I had to add some weight to the tail to get the CG at 25mm with a 4900ma 3s up front and no GoPro. I guess I need to reconfigure mine. Maybe move the FY-20 up front as it's under the wing in the lower bay right now and move the battery to that location.
May 13, 2011, 05:59 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by rsowder
I had to add some weight to the tail to get the CG at 25mm with a 4900ma 3s up front and no GoPro. I guess I need to reconfigure mine. Maybe move the FY-20 up front as it's under the wing in the lower bay right now and move the battery to that location.
The rudder stabilization is going to suffer if you move the FY20A that forward.. nor that's much important, but ideally it should sit on the center of all 3 axis.
May 13, 2011, 06:15 PM
Registered User
1 Question:

How do you mount the FY21AP ?
I used the damper pad with nothing else.
And when I fly the FY21AP goes crazy on the OSD screen.

I have a BEC and everything to power the FY.
So I think the vibration from the motor is causing this.

Can anyone confirm that the FY can act like this when not enough damping material is used ?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 24 Nov 23, 2014 03:56 PM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 10:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 09:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 11:45 AM