Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Apr 04, 2011, 09:18 AM
KJ4YYJ
EugeneFlorida's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcmonster99
Like Crist said, I guess different setups will produce different results. the same happened to me as shikra... on the maiden flight the ESC overheated and shut down. I had no UBEC and mine ended up in a spiral dive nose first on the ground from about 100m height.
Fortunatele I got only a crumpled nose out of this. I tried prizing off the ESC from the compartment, it was stuck to the foam by being melted into it.
I had a 40A speed controller and my motor does not burn more han 35A WOT .
In hindsight I should perhaps have a 60A speed controller, but the one I have now (another 40A) lives outdoors and it is cool as a cucumber at all times

so, from personal experience I will keep it out...

My GPS sensor lives inside the wing housing compartment.
What motor are you using?

thanks for the help
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Apr 04, 2011, 09:49 AM
Registered User
Doesn't the ESC cut only the motor output? I mean the BEC shouldn't shut down, so how u managed to crash? i may believe about an unexpected stall (if you don't figure that your motor is gone off) but can't you recover with 100m height?
Apr 04, 2011, 10:05 AM
RC = FUN

Pan/tilt camera mount


I currently have my pan/tilt on the canopy, but it is a PITA to have to recconect my servos and video cables everytime I change the battery.

I'm currently thinking about moving my Pan/tilt to where they have that little cutout. For those of you who have done this... does this work a lot better?

Only thing I don't like about this is my cockpit area will be in my video the whole time. -Tyler


EDIT: Another thing: those who have the camera right on the front, how do you stand connecting and disconnecting the wires everytime you fly? -Tyler
Apr 04, 2011, 10:20 AM
Registered User
rsowder's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy321
I currently have my pan/tilt on the canopy, but it is a PITA to have to recconect my servos and video cables everytime I change the battery.

I'm currently thinking about moving my Pan/tilt to where they have that little cutout. For those of you who have done this... does this work a lot better?

Only thing I don't like about this is my cockpit area will be in my video the whole time. -Tyler


EDIT: Another thing: those who have the camera right on the front, how do you stand connecting and disconnecting the wires everytime you fly? -Tyler
I originally had my camera mounted there. I simply made the wires long enough so I never had to disconnect them to replace the batteries.
Last edited by rsowder; Apr 04, 2011 at 05:19 PM.
Apr 04, 2011, 10:48 AM
RC = FUN
Where do you have it now?
Apr 04, 2011, 11:13 AM
Postcards From The Purple Edge
tuppertn's Avatar
Mine's up in front. Like rsowder, my wires are long enough to not have to disconnect.

kendall
Apr 04, 2011, 11:26 AM
Registered User
I went for mounting mine on the top in front of the wing. Several reasons:

1. GoPro is going on the nose.
2. It was easy to mount there.

Haven't yet flown it, so can't say how good it is. I have tested the cam and it requires quite a bit of down angle of the camera to get the nose in the frame (I think it's a 2.8mm or 3mm lens)....

Of course when the GoPro is mounted it will be bang in the middle bottom of my flying cam frame.
Apr 04, 2011, 02:14 PM
Registered User
Terry S's Avatar
Can the guys that use flaps share some info please.
How much do they shorten the landing?
What angle of flap is best for take off? landing? cruising?
Do you need to retrim when you use flaps?
What C of G are you using?

Many thanks, Terry
Apr 04, 2011, 02:28 PM
TBS Crossfire or DragonLink?
....
Last edited by LexusFPV; Apr 04, 2011 at 07:01 PM.
Apr 04, 2011, 04:06 PM
Registered User
I maidened my skywalker today and I had a few problems, I was able to fly it but it was not stable at all. There was a slight breeze just barely enough to make tree tops move every once in a while, but my main concern was on launch it would want to dive down for no reason, seemed like the faster I went the faster it would try to nose dive and it was like oscillating getting faster with each dive it took, im just curious as to what could cause this. When I held my plane still on the ground and powered it up the tail didnt shake much and everything seemed fine. Might have something to do with CG, which I have a tad behind normal CG but I didnt get to test it since one of the dives was too fast for me to recover from and nose cracked a little.
Apr 04, 2011, 04:55 PM
Flying low is expensive.
pdiddyg40's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruffo
I maidened my skywalker today and I had a few problems, I was able to fly it but it was not stable at all. There was a slight breeze just barely enough to make tree tops move every once in a while, but my main concern was on launch it would want to dive down for no reason, seemed like the faster I went the faster it would try to nose dive and it was like oscillating getting faster with each dive it took, im just curious as to what could cause this. When I held my plane still on the ground and powered it up the tail didnt shake much and everything seemed fine. Might have something to do with CG, which I have a tad behind normal CG but I didnt get to test it since one of the dives was too fast for me to recover from and nose cracked a little.
Just to be sure- your elevator isnt reversed, is it? I do that a lot, so i figured I'd ask I'd also check your thrust angle, and after that the incidence of your horizontal stab. Those are some places to start
Apr 04, 2011, 04:57 PM
Postcards From The Purple Edge
tuppertn's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by ruffo
I maidened my skywalker today and I had a few problems, I was able to fly it but it was not stable at all. There was a slight breeze just barely enough to make tree tops move every once in a while, but my main concern was on launch it would want to dive down for no reason, seemed like the faster I went the faster it would try to nose dive and it was like oscillating getting faster with each dive it took, im just curious as to what could cause this. When I held my plane still on the ground and powered it up the tail didnt shake much and everything seemed fine. Might have something to do with CG, which I have a tad behind normal CG but I didnt get to test it since one of the dives was too fast for me to recover from and nose cracked a little.
The plane will dive briefly with throttle due to the high thrust line. The harder you punch it the more it will dive. Launch at a higher angle or with less throttle.

kendall
Apr 04, 2011, 05:14 PM
UAV Pilot
UndCon's Avatar
Mine has to be the slowest build on the planet

Here is some progress on the FPV wiring

http://www.undcon.com/2011/04/04/sky...-progress-fpv/
Apr 04, 2011, 05:24 PM
Registered User
rsowder's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flyboy321
Where do you have it now?
In the space they provide, just forward of the wing.
Apr 04, 2011, 06:29 PM
CQ CQ DX RC
w7mag's Avatar
Now this is a rather new approach...


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Best plane for FPV while on vacation? patricklupo FPV Aircraft 24 Nov 23, 2014 03:56 PM
Cool FPV plane rescue with an FPV truck :-) AnthonyRC FPV Aircraft 17 Feb 24, 2008 10:45 PM
For Sale Skywalker plane and a bunch of extras moody07747 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 8 Sep 19, 2006 09:34 PM
Discussion Aviator Skywalker RC plane given to me moody07747 Electric Plane Talk 46 Sep 12, 2006 11:45 AM