Mar 26, 2010, 01:13 PM
Thread OP
Discussion

Upgrade my Walkera 4#3B or just get a Walkera 4#6?

I'm a beginner who is enjoying hovering my E-flite Blade SR.

I also have a Walkera 4#3B with the xtreme Bell-Hiller mod and flybar weights. I can hover that too. However, my tail motor just died, and rather than simply replacing it (I tried a Novus FP tail motor, but it doesn't work with my older RX-2406 receiver), I'm thinking about going double brushless.

It's time for me to start trying forward flight. I've heard that the 4#3B may be too squirrely for beginners in forward flight.

So here's the question. For someone at my level, should I just dump the 4#3B and get a 4#6? Is that better for learning forward flight? The price is about the same for the double brushless upgrade and a new 4#6.

Thanks for any advice,
Clif
to remove ads between posts
Mar 26, 2010, 01:53 PM
Jesus Freak
dump the 4#3B and get a 4#6. if you can hover the 4#3b, then don't worry about going to the 4#6 transition will be easy. 4#6 will help with FF as you won't have to fight the tail as you do with the 4#3B as the battery drains.
Mar 26, 2010, 01:59 PM
I have no FFF issues with my Bs and all of them have brushed tails. - I do go through a fair amount of them over the long term, but I think there are benefits.

The Novus FP motor should work just fine as well.
Mar 26, 2010, 02:50 PM
Thread OP
AtTheCross: I'm very tempted to get the 4#6. I've never had a heli that didn't have a motorized tail, so it sounds like fun.

JackDaniels: I think the Novus FP motor only works with the RX-2406A. I tried it on my 4#3B and it basically worked, but it didn't have enough power to actually hold the tail even with full trim.

What are the benefits of the brushed tail? Another possibility is that I just upgrade the main on the 4#3B.
Mar 26, 2010, 03:09 PM
dze
dze