Lumenier RB2205C-12 2400KV SKITZO Ceramic Bearing Motor
Thread Tools
Old Mar 30, 2010, 07:05 PM
tty044 is offline
Find More Posts by tty044
Registered User
tty044's Avatar
OK updated firmware to 4.5 (was in 4.4 package) and nothing changed. My gps should run on 3.2V - 5V due to specification included in attachment.
What should I do?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 30, 2010, 07:47 PM
docphi is offline
Find More Posts by docphi
Stupid gravity!
docphi's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by tty044 View Post
OK updated firmware to 4.5 (was in 4.4 package) and nothing changed. My gps should run on 3.2V - 5V due to specification included in attachment.
What should I do?
Reverse your GPS data lines. That's what was wrong with mine.
Old Mar 30, 2010, 07:54 PM
docphi is offline
Find More Posts by docphi
Stupid gravity!
docphi's Avatar
Let me chime in - Delivered very quickly! Top quality product and tiny! I even managed to wire it up correctly the first time (without burning it out).

I'm using a Futaba FASST 8 channel receiver, so as soon as the PPM encoder arrives from DIY Drones, I'll install it in the plane.

I'm using a UBlox GPS module and it works great.


Awesome OSD!
Last edited by docphi; Mar 30, 2010 at 09:56 PM.
Old Mar 30, 2010, 10:20 PM
JMSTECH is offline
Find More Posts by JMSTECH
Registered User
JMSTECH's Avatar
Thanks Docphi for the good word and it's my turn! I never once worry about you at all for hooking things up and getting it right the first time! Probably can do it blindfolded if I remember your talents from a few years ago.

I'm expecting more to show up in peoples doors worldwide this week and the next....

By the way..new firmware updates as of last night so please check here. http://www.forum.tsebi.com/viewtopic...&t=67&start=10
It now supports:
1. Added support for SiRF GPS modules (including EM-406) though this chipset is not recommended due to 1Hz max rate
2. Added support for negative coefficient current sensors (eg. Flytron's)
3. Added preliminary support for EFIS styled speed ladder


John
Old Mar 30, 2010, 10:50 PM
barok is offline
Find More Posts by barok
Registered User
barok's Avatar
http://paparazzi.enac.fr/wiki/Image:Electron6mod.jpg

well.. bought hitec electron 6 rx.. soldered that single wire as per instruction... doesn't show a neg. and pos. wire in the pic .. do i still make those 3 wire.. there is a 3 pin in the "ppm in" in the DOSD+ or just the single wire?
Old Mar 30, 2010, 11:49 PM
Daniel Wee is offline
Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Registered User
barok,

Yes. You need all three wires. In electronics, you almost always need at least two.

tty044,

Can you try reversing your TX/RX wires and see if you inadvertently got them wrong. If all else fails, talk to me - we'll get this sorted out.

edit: Actually I think you got the wiring correct or it would not detect the GPS as MTK in the first place. Can you tell me at what stage of the booting screen things stop up?

Daniel
Last edited by Daniel Wee; Mar 31, 2010 at 12:11 AM.
Old Mar 31, 2010, 12:02 AM
barok is offline
Find More Posts by barok
Registered User
barok's Avatar
daniel.. can i solder pos and neg wire in the rx..then connect all 3 in the ppm in.. this would power the osd?

don't have my current sensor and gps yet..is on route..
can i plug the cam and vtx to see the osd..
Old Mar 31, 2010, 12:13 AM
Daniel Wee is offline
Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Registered User
barok,

I am not sure what you are suggesting - is it your plan to power the OSD from the receiver? If so you will need to feed the 5V to the supply pins of the receiver as well as the PPM input.

The PPM needs all three wires - the PPM line, and the 5V and ground lines - to make your normal servo connection. This is because you can connect servos to the OSD board for autopilot mode and so the power needs to be passed through to those servos.

Powering the OSD board is a different matter altogether. You can read about that in the second post here:-

http://forum.tsebi.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=63

Daniel
Old Mar 31, 2010, 12:47 AM
barok is offline
Find More Posts by barok
Registered User
barok's Avatar
understood.. 3 ways to power the dosd+
1- from the rx need a jumper wire to one of the 5v line to the 4-16v input..
2- through the current sensor..jumper pin in the 4-16v and J1
3- direct connect a battery(lipo up to 5s) 4-16v and ground..

which ever the power to the dosd+ the output is regulated to 5Volt which is required to power the camera and vtx.
at the moment using #3, using 2s lipo 800mah for testing.. will likely use the CS when it arrives.

sorry for dumb question.. dont want to fry this unit and my cam. and vtx..:
Last edited by barok; Mar 31, 2010 at 12:55 AM.
Old Mar 31, 2010, 12:50 AM
Daniel Wee is offline
Find More Posts by Daniel Wee
Registered User
Actually the DOSD+ regulates it to 3.3V and this is not used to power the camera or the video TX. Those will need to be powered separately. The power is only for the OSD and associated sensors.

Daniel
Old Mar 31, 2010, 01:11 AM
barok is offline
Find More Posts by barok
Registered User
barok's Avatar
ok daniel..
i copish...

thanks..
Old Mar 31, 2010, 01:27 AM
tty044 is offline
Find More Posts by tty044
Registered User
tty044's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Wee View Post
Can you tell me at what stage of the booting screen things stop up?

Daniel

...
Activity detected on GPS port
Attempting to configure GPS module...
GPS default baudrate:9650
GPS is type MT

GPS type is the last line in sequence - it stops for 2 sec and boots again

Michal
Old Mar 31, 2010, 02:26 AM
barok is offline
Find More Posts by barok
Registered User
barok's Avatar
there's an audio pin.. in or out?? is it used?
Old Mar 31, 2010, 02:43 AM
tty044 is offline
Find More Posts by tty044
Registered User
tty044's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by barok View Post
there's an audio pin.. in or out?? is it used?
Audio out is used to indicate by short audio sounds if you are ascending or descending.
Old Mar 31, 2010, 02:49 AM
renatoa is offline
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by tty044 View Post
Audio out is used to indicate by short audio sounds if you are ascending or descending.
really ?! is there an audio vario built-in ?! GPS based, I guess...


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Dragon OSD Level Flight FPV Talk 22 Dec 31, 2013 09:08 PM
For Sale New Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 7 Jul 19, 2010 12:56 PM
Discussion FS Ready to fly Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer FPV Talk 0 Mar 03, 2010 06:57 AM
Discussion RV OSD or Dragon OSD djdaveq FPV Talk 1 Feb 06, 2009 01:18 AM
Discussion RV OSD and Dragon OSD - so near to being Really good! magnetman FPV Talk 8 Nov 11, 2008 06:13 AM