New Products Flash Sale
Mar 26, 2010, 12:02 AM
400' ..... NOT
Martin Y's Avatar
Galaxiex
Remember it is delicate work for this stuff. You need the right equipment for the job, like This sucker
Last edited by Martin Y; Aug 01, 2011 at 10:52 AM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Mar 26, 2010, 12:04 AM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Y View Post
Galaxiex
Remember it is delicate work for this stuff. You need the right equipment for the job, like This sucker
Yeeeaaaah! That's what I have!!!! Excellent tool for SMD work!
Mar 26, 2010, 12:06 AM
400' ..... NOT
Martin Y's Avatar
And heating coffee.
Mar 26, 2010, 12:07 AM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Ok I got the DOSD+ to power up...

but most of the info is off the top of the screen...

Just now trying to get into the menu to see if I can move stuff around...

I have copied and printed out the menu instructions from Daniel's site.

Looks like I'm gonna be reading for a bit......
Mar 26, 2010, 12:08 AM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Y View Post
And heating coffee.
Well ya... it'll do that too... but it makes the coffee taste funny.....

That's funny/peculiar.... not funny/ha ha

Ha Ha?

Hey, what are you doing up so late.... Isn't it past midnite there?
Mar 26, 2010, 12:26 AM
Registered User
JMSTECH's Avatar
That curent sensor is tiny huh? Well Galaxie..might scope around the net for a prostetic hand (sorry inside joke between me and Galaxiex ) OK now did you place that solder bridge across the all the resistor pads facing the center or near the label "GND" ? Then cross the input wires to the OSD like shown in the attached photo? (very important or risk burning out the OSD MCU) One more thing... GET RID OF THAT SOLDERING GUN!!! You know I hate that thing!!!

John
Mar 26, 2010, 12:54 AM
JettPilot's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by galaxiex View Post
Ok I got the DOSD+ to power up...

but most of the info is off the top of the screen...

Just now trying to get into the menu to see if I can move stuff around...

...
That is SAFEZONE under calibration, menu adjust that to put all the text exactly where you want it.

Mike
Mar 26, 2010, 01:20 AM
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JMSTECH View Post
That curent sensor is tiny huh? Well Galaxie..might scope around the net for a prostetic hand (sorry inside joke between me and Galaxiex ) OK now did you place that solder bridge across the all the resistor pads facing the center or near the label "GND" ? Then cross the input wires to the OSD like shown in the attached photo? (very important or risk burning out the OSD MCU) One more thing... GET RID OF THAT SOLDERING GUN!!! You know I hate that thing!!!

John
DOH! I forgot the solder bridge!

Yup I did cross the input wires, all good.

Ok, I'll do that tomorrow, getting late here.... going to bed now....

Thanks John!

Soldering gun? What soldering gun?
We don't need no steeenkin' soldering gun....


Quote:
Originally Posted by JettPilot View Post
That is SAFEZONE under calibration, menu adjust that to put all the text exactly where you want it.

Mike
Mike thanks for the tip, I'll try again tomorrow....

btw, the display is fine in my goggles... just not on the cheap 13" LCD TV I am using for a setup monitor.
Mar 26, 2010, 03:32 AM
Registered User
OUTSTANDING! That is the exact compass I was hoping to work with. I've sent an email to place my order. I'm assuming to wire the compass to the DragonOSD+ is a simple wire connection between the i2c connections, right? Is there info on how to configure the OSD for a compass (versus a GPS)?

This is awesome news. I've been looking for an OSD that supported a digital compass forever! Can't wait to get this and give it a try!

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Daniel Wee View Post
gobigkahuna,

Yes, this OSD will do it but you will need to buy the compass from Sparkfun. You can take a look at the compass in the following link (3rd post from the top):-

http://forum.tsebi.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=63

The DragonOSD+ will accept a barometer (actually two types) as well so you can fly with barometric altitude and magnetic heading without the need of an attached GPS.

Daniel
Mar 26, 2010, 03:40 AM
Registered User
Just thought of one more question:
When I connect the HMC6343 to the OSD, what will my display options for the compass heading be? Will I be able to use the same compass display options of the GPS? (Fingers crossed that you'll say yes! ).
Mar 26, 2010, 04:11 AM
Registered User
tty044's Avatar
I have to be sure:
here under "Serial Port" topic you can find 3 links to USB2TTL converters that can be used with OSD+. One of them is 5V FTDI board (I have this one).
From another hand there is 3.3v pin in I2C connector in OSD. Will they (FTDI 5V and OSD+) work together?
Regards
Michal
Mar 26, 2010, 05:19 AM
Registered User
gobigkahuna,

You won't need to configure anything. If a compass is detected, it will use the compass heading instead of the GPS (if present). So all you need to do is to plug it into the I2C port.

At a later stage I could get into writing the support for a humidity sensor and depth sensor.

galaxiex,

What kind of screen are you using to view the OSD display? If you are using a CRT, you will find some of the stuff off the edges of the screen. This can be easily addressed using the SAFEZONEX and SAFEZONEY parameter in the menu. Those parameters allow you to move the display elements further from the edges so you can customize it to make full use of your particular display unit. Usually LCD/goggles will see more of the screen and will require no or less adjustments.

Daniel
Mar 26, 2010, 05:20 AM
Registered User
tty044,

I should think so although 3.3V is better. Just don't connect the power to the board - just the RX, TX and GND. I think the tolerances should be close enough that both work.

Daniel
Mar 26, 2010, 06:22 AM
Registered User
gobigkahuna,

I forgot to mention - the OSD will work fine without a transmitter. Just connect the Video out to your line amplifier if you have one. If you are going to send the video over a long wire, it might be a good idea to have a line amplifier to drive the line. Likewise for the audio - just take it from Audio out.

Daniel
Mar 26, 2010, 08:35 AM
Registered User
Thank you Daniel, this sounds FANTASTIC! I ordered two and look forward to getting them set up. Thanks!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Dragon OSD Level Flight FPV Talk 22 Dec 31, 2013 09:08 PM
For Sale New Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer Aircraft - General - Miscellaneous (FS/W) 7 Jul 19, 2010 12:56 PM
Discussion FS Ready to fly Intelligent Flight Dragon OSD bfischer FPV Talk 0 Mar 03, 2010 06:57 AM
Discussion RV OSD or Dragon OSD djdaveq FPV Talk 1 Feb 06, 2009 01:18 AM
Discussion RV OSD and Dragon OSD - so near to being Really good! magnetman FPV Talk 8 Nov 11, 2008 06:13 AM