Thread Tools
Aug 17, 2011, 11:03 PM
Registered User
Hey all,

My FC arrived today and I have had a quick glance through the parts and instructions.

One problem I noticed was the small diameter for the motor to pass through during installation.

I was planning on using a Scorpion 1040 KV motor and it fits in the cavity for the motor but its too big to slide through the opening to the cavity.

Is there a fix for this or should I get a smaller diam motor? It appears the motor can only go in after the fuse is joined together.

DB
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Aug 17, 2011, 11:22 PM
Registered User
7rider's Avatar
drumbum, correct me if I'm wrong, but connect the motor to the motor mount and then screw the motor mount to the motor mount sideplates.

There's also a guy at the local field who mounted a Power 10 on the outside of the motor mount.
Aug 17, 2011, 11:49 PM
RC Airplane (Recently Crashed)
mutha's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof100
Success gents.
Well done ... always a good feeling even if you have to part with beer
Aug 18, 2011, 12:55 PM
Registered User
Del-Dredd's Avatar
Drumbum: just sand a bit off the lower portion of the fuselage, I had to do similar as the front opening in the foam is tapered in from where the motor sits when mounted.

You may need to carve out a small portion of foam at the rear top as well to clear motor bell due to down thrust.
Aug 18, 2011, 01:02 PM
Registered User
bubbleman's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by drumbum
Hey all,

My FC arrived today and I have had a quick glance through the parts and instructions.

One problem I noticed was the small diameter for the motor to pass through during installation.

I was planning on using a Scorpion 1040 KV motor and it fits in the cavity for the motor but its too big to slide through the opening to the cavity.

Is there a fix for this or should I get a smaller diam motor? It appears the motor can only go in after the fuse is joined together.

DB
Another thing to watch for are the wires between the motor and the ESC. With that big of a motor you may have to route them through a hole cut into the foam between the motor area and the scoop.

Anton
Aug 18, 2011, 02:17 PM
Registered User
MPX Funcub (3 min 53 sec)


Flying my cub
Aug 18, 2011, 03:35 PM
Registered User
Theflandersons's Avatar
Hi guys, I installed the recommended motor from MPX in my fun cub. It seems that there is a fair amount of resistance when spinning the prop by hand,as compared to my other planes, is this unique to CC? all my other motors are turnigy.
Aug 18, 2011, 04:15 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by bubbleman
Another thing to watch for are the wires between the motor and the ESC. With that big of a motor you may have to route them through a hole cut into the foam between the motor area and the scoop.

Anton
If it is this one, http://www.rcdude.com/servlet/the-12...ushless/Detail , it is almost exactly the same physical size as my A30-28s Hacker (but almost twice the weight and power). I just opened up the front a little at the top and bottom, very little actually. I did Dremel out a little of the roof of the motor bay for clearance at the top rear of the motor and also a bit on the left bottom corner as well to allow the wires a little more room. They exit the motor on a 45 degree angle which is pretty convenient. Hope that Scorpion mounts the same!

Gord
Aug 18, 2011, 04:26 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Roel_Netherlands
Very nice video! I like that camera position a lot. I gives you a good feel for what the plane is doing, almost as if you were in the passenger seat. You have quite a lot of air traffic there!

Regards,
Gord
Aug 18, 2011, 06:50 PM
Registered User

Landing on a small beach


Flying at the lake on sunday! Not the best landing I had but it was fun getting and out of such a tight spot with full flaps.

Sorry, I don't know how to rotate the video

Landing on the beach! (0 min 18 sec)
Aug 18, 2011, 09:06 PM
I think it'll work this time!!
Chairwolf's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rooster433
Flying at the lake on sunday! Not the best landing I had but it was fun getting and out of such a tight spot with full flaps.

Sorry, I don't know how to rotate the video

Nice landing, Rooster! Kinda makes you go "Ahhhhh" when you hear the wheels roll on the ground, doesn't it?

Good job! 3 "Cool Guys" to ya for that!!

Bob
Aug 19, 2011, 01:15 AM
David
dno264's Avatar
I have a question about using the AR6115. Is it possible to set it up with 3 position flaps (up, half down, full down) and have aileron differential? If I put the the flaps in the aux channel, I can get 3 positions but then I can't sync the aileron with the gear channel. If I use the gear channel for the flaps, I only get 2 positions, up and down. Am I using the wrong receiver? Thanks.

-David
Aug 19, 2011, 03:54 AM
I think it'll work this time!!
Chairwolf's Avatar
David, I think you're getting only 2 positions because your transmitter only has 2 positions for landing gear. You might be able to accomplish this if your TX has the ability to reassign switches to different channels but that depends more on your TX than it does on the rx. The rx is just doing what the TX tells it to do.

Bob
Aug 19, 2011, 08:34 AM
David
dno264's Avatar
Bob -- I have a DX7. I'm not sure if I can reassign switches. Thanks.
Aug 19, 2011, 08:40 AM
Too much is just not enough...
Woody_99's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dno264
I have a question about using the AR6115. Is it possible to set it up with 3 position flaps (up, half down, full down) and have aileron differential? If I put the the flaps in the aux channel, I can get 3 positions but then I can't sync the aileron with the gear channel. If I use the gear channel for the flaps, I only get 2 positions, up and down. Am I using the wrong receiver? Thanks.

-David
I played around with mixes, and switch positions, and found at the end of the day it was simplest to do the differential with the servo arms.
That way, you can still use the 3 position switch for flaps.

I don't have the link handy, but when I did a search for the setup I found a sailplane group that had the exact directions to do the mixes, etc.
With the mixes, I couldn't do everything else I wanted, so I just went the mechanical route for differential.
Once you do it, it will be done for good and one less thing to remember in the radio.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Fun Cub sinowace Hitec/Multiplex USA 14 Oct 09, 2011 04:43 PM
Discussion Multiplex Fun Jet at the lake bah7566 FPV Talk 31 Jan 03, 2010 09:19 AM
For Sale Multiplex Fun Jet -- PRICE DROP Toby W Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Dec 28, 2009 09:51 AM
Video Multiplex Fun Jet FPV set up test bah7566 Electric Plane Talk 0 Dec 25, 2009 10:05 PM
Wanted multiplex fun-jet or trade! heli123 Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 0 Nov 14, 2009 11:02 AM