New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Feb 25, 2011, 08:30 PM
Prof100 is offline
Find More Posts by Prof100
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sammy70 View Post
BINGO.

I've had that happen as well both ways--higher than expected Kv (and thus amp load) and lower then expected Kv (much lower rpm/amp load). It's a roll of the dice with these cheapy motors we all love
Remember that in China they throw nothing away. If the armature is wound to 1400 KV and all they have is a bell that says 960 KV the two parts gets assembled together.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 26, 2011, 01:08 AM
mutha is offline
Find More Posts by mutha
RC Airplane (Recently Crashed)
mutha's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof100 View Post
Remember that in China they throw nothing away. If the armature is wound to 1400 KV and all they have is a bell that says 960 KV the two parts gets assembled together.
Seems that is true even if they don't fit or the shaft is cheese ... hmmm ... still I put my hand up as too tight to pay for quality when quantity will do.
Old Feb 26, 2011, 09:02 AM
JBrant is offline
Find More Posts by JBrant
Registered User

Jim W


I built my Cub light and it flies great with a 3530 in it. Take offs are very, very short and it has a ton of power for what I want it to do. I have flown it as a tail dragger and also on floats on snow. I have 3 planes for 3-D flying and I do not try it with the Cub. I seldom use more than 50% throttle. Sounds like you will enjoy this setup in your Cub. Have fun!
Jim
Old Feb 26, 2011, 11:32 AM
SKYPILEIT is offline
Find More Posts by SKYPILEIT
Deplorable Patriot
SKYPILEIT's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JBrant View Post
I built my Cub light and it flies great with a 3530 in it. Take offs are very, very short and it has a ton of power for what I want it to do. I seldom use more than 50% throttle.
Jim
How light is light Jim.?
Old Feb 26, 2011, 05:41 PM
KeithK is offline
Find More Posts by KeithK
What Canary?
KeithK's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim_W View Post
I guess I could yank the 35-42 out of my Acromaster and use it if the 35-30 doesn't work out. To be honest, the thought had already crossed my mind.
Jim, I can let you fly one pulling around 45 amps at 11v if you want to see how they fly with ~475Watts. Down side is weight on the front is hard to balance out. Just finished mine and am watching the paint dry as I type this (of course I had to test fly it a few times first to make sure I chose the right colors )
Keith
Old Feb 26, 2011, 09:12 PM
olmod is online now
Find More Posts by olmod
Good Better Best quest.
olmod's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordks View Post
Could that have been the A3020-970? I just looked and could not find an 870. And if it is the 970, how much does it really weigh? The 970 is shown as gross weight of 345 grams! Probably shipping weight. Doesn't really matter right now I guess as every single Infinite airplane motor is back-ordered anyway. But The weight would be good to know when they are available again.

Gord
Soz Gordks it was a typo on my part you were correct. cant weigh it at the moment as it is installed but the cg is forward a good 1/2'' with a 2200 pack well back.if that helps.
Old Feb 26, 2011, 09:20 PM
Sammy70 is offline
Find More Posts by Sammy70
PSALM 14:1
Sammy70's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by olmod View Post
the cg is forward a good 1/2'' with a 2200 pack well back
That would put the CG at about 68mm back from the leading edge which will be super. Lots of guys (me included) fly this plane with the CG over 1" forward of the recommend spot.
Old Feb 26, 2011, 10:23 PM
stickybeatz is offline
Find More Posts by stickybeatz
Registered User
stickybeatz's Avatar
Was flying off the grass on floats today. Fun stuff. Takeoffs where a bit hairy, but landings were easy on the floats.
Old Feb 27, 2011, 10:31 AM
Jim_W is offline
Find More Posts by Jim_W
Jim
Quote:
Originally Posted by KeithK View Post
Jim, I can let you fly one pulling around 45 amps at 11v if you want to see how they fly with ~475Watts. Down side is weight on the front is hard to balance out. Just finished mine and am watching the paint dry as I type this (of course I had to test fly it a few times first to make sure I chose the right colors )
Keith
Where do you fly?
Old Feb 27, 2011, 04:16 PM
Van Leuven is offline
Find More Posts by Van Leuven
Registered User
Van Leuven's Avatar
Lipo Compatibility
I was getting ready to order some new Hyperion G3 EX - 3S 2200mAh 45C Lipos for my FunCub and the product description stated - "This pack has a constant discharge rating of 99A". I am using a Castle Creations Phoenix Ice 50 ESC rated @ 50 amps and a Extreme Flight Torque 2818T/900 motor. Does the higher 45-90C output compatible or do I need to use a lower 25C lipo rated @ 50 amps?
Old Feb 27, 2011, 05:08 PM
SKYPILEIT is offline
Find More Posts by SKYPILEIT
Deplorable Patriot
SKYPILEIT's Avatar
Judgeing by the motor/ESC you mentioned,it'll pobably only use ~35 amps,so it will produce approx. 350 watts or so.

Plenty..!

Those batt packs will work fine,the high discharge rating you'll get longer service life from them as a benefit.
Old Feb 27, 2011, 05:12 PM
Prof100 is offline
Find More Posts by Prof100
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Van Leuven View Post
Lipo Compatibility
I was getting ready to order some new Hyperion G3 EX - 3S 2200mAh 45C Lipos for my FunCub and the product description stated - "This pack has a constant discharge rating of 99A". I am using a Castle Creations Phoenix Ice 50 ESC rated @ 50 amps and a Extreme Flight Torque 2818T/900 motor. Does the higher 45-90C output compatible or do I need to use a lower 25C lipo rated @ 50 amps?
You will do fine with higher C rated packs like the 45C. I don't know if you really need a Hyperion in terms of cost. That said, a higher C has only one drawback -- extra weight. The major benefits are the 45C will not be tasked or worked very hard which translates into longer life. That's always a good idea. You will also have a pack capable of support higher demand power systems.

Bill
Old Feb 27, 2011, 07:48 PM
tjmac44 is offline
Find More Posts by tjmac44
Registered User

FMS Model for Fun Cub


First post, so hi all.

Also,

Is there a FMS model for the Funcub? Or one that is close?


Thanks,

Todd
Old Feb 27, 2011, 07:50 PM
fokkerjet is offline
Find More Posts by fokkerjet
Registered User
Can anyone recommend a motor with a 5mm shaft? I am currently using a Turnigy 3536 with a 13x4 prop. I would like something that will tolerate something more than a tiny dink on the prop from a hard landing or a slightly out of balance prop without bending the shafts! Alternatively, is there any way to harden these crappy soft shafts?

Preferably something similar in size and weight to the Turnigy.
Old Feb 27, 2011, 08:25 PM
Sammy70 is offline
Find More Posts by Sammy70
PSALM 14:1
Sammy70's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by fokkerjet View Post
Can anyone recommend a motor with a 5mm shaft? I am currently using a Turnigy 3536 with a 13x4 prop. I would like something that will tolerate something more than a tiny dink on the prop from a hard landing or a slightly out of balance prop without bending the shafts! Alternatively, is there any way to harden these crappy soft shafts?

Preferably something similar in size and weight to the Turnigy.
BINGO. Here's what I'm using: http://www.toysonics.com/emax-bl2815...ess-motor.html


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Fun Cub sinowace Hitec/Multiplex USA 14 Oct 09, 2011 05:43 PM
Discussion Multiplex Fun Jet at the lake bah7566 FPV Talk 31 Jan 03, 2010 10:19 AM
For Sale Multiplex Fun Jet -- PRICE DROP Toby W Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Dec 28, 2009 10:51 AM
Video Multiplex Fun Jet FPV set up test bah7566 Electric Plane Talk 0 Dec 25, 2009 11:05 PM
Wanted multiplex fun-jet or trade! heli123 Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 0 Nov 14, 2009 12:02 PM