New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Oct 05, 2010, 08:59 PM
jako is offline
Find More Posts by jako
Registered User
jako's Avatar
[QUOTE=Sammy70;
Have any pics of your firewall/motor mount setup?

Mine looks like this... I'm using an Acromaster power set so I thought I'd better beef it up a little. This includes an aluminum motor mount that I made.
No flight report as yet, hope to maiden this week.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 05, 2010, 09:32 PM
blinske is offline
Find More Posts by blinske
Registered User
jako,

Well done, looks as if it will work just great. From the picture, I assume the motor still attaches to the standard FC motor mount front plate, which is stiffend by the aluminum frame. Am I right or is the motor attached to the aluminum frame itself?
Old Oct 06, 2010, 05:17 AM
w5kfg is offline
Find More Posts by w5kfg
w5kfg
w5kfg's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kepople View Post
what reciever are you using?

k
I am using a dx7. when i initiate the flappron in the menu it messes up the ailerons. I have a seperate switch Aux 2 that i use for the flaps. All I want to do is get some down elevator whenI deploy the flaps. can anyone help
Bill
Old Oct 06, 2010, 06:10 AM
Parkflyer1 is offline
Find More Posts by Parkflyer1
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jstcriusen View Post
Can you explain better what you did to the motor mount?
I just made a replica of the original mount but I used 50 though aluminum plate. It weighs about the same but it's a lot stronger and stiffer. I'm now swinging a 13" prop on a turnigy 3536 and it spins with no noticeable vibration at all revs. I also reinforced the plastic parts in the nose with additional resin when I fitted them on a count of vibration complaints on this forum.
Old Oct 06, 2010, 06:36 AM
Azarr is offline
Find More Posts by Azarr
RIP Azarr - "Old age is not for sissies"
Azarr's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by w5kfg View Post
I am using a dx7. when i initiate the flappron in the menu it messes up the ailerons.
Bill
Can you explain this a little further? If you're using separate aileron channels you have to activate flaperon to get them to work together. If you're using a "Y" harness you don't. To get down elevator with flap you need to use a program mix with flap as master and elevator as slave.

Azarr
Old Oct 06, 2010, 11:54 AM
kg6uvp is offline
Find More Posts by kg6uvp
Takeoff,Crash,Repair ...
kg6uvp's Avatar
Bill/w5kfg
Please clarify your servo to rx connections. Are you using 2 rx servo connectors for Ailerons or one with a Y cable? Flaperons are for using ailerons as flaps, but only work if you have the servos for each aileron and a separate Rx servo connector. The Fun Club has separate flaps so you do not want to set flaperons on. What model receiver/rx are you using? DX7 only tells us which transmitter/tx.
I don't have a Fun Cub (yet) but do have a Stevens Aero Shaft that uses 2 servos for ailerons and 2 servos for flaps. For it I used a 9 channel rx so all servos had there own channel. I'll try to set up a 6110 rx for use with 1 channel for ailerons and 1 channel for flaps. On th plane this means that servos must have been installed so that they move in the correct direction or have a servo reverser installed. So how your servos are installed may be important. If I remember from early in this thread, I think this required flipping one servo on each of flap and aileron to get movement correct. Hey, I'm old, I may not remember correctly! ;-)
Dean
Old Oct 06, 2010, 02:09 PM
gent96 is offline
Find More Posts by gent96
KJ6RCJ
gent96's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by w5kfg View Post
I am using a dx7. when i initiate the flappron in the menu it messes up the ailerons. I have a seperate switch Aux 2 that i use for the flaps. All I want to do is get some down elevator whenI deploy the flaps. can anyone help
Bill
Bill,


Check out Codimasta's entry on this page:
https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1280493

It helped me program and fine- tune my DX7/ AR7000 yesterday to enable ailerons and flaps on my FC.

Regards,

Gent
Old Oct 06, 2010, 05:38 PM
jako is offline
Find More Posts by jako
Registered User
jako's Avatar
[QUOTE=blinske;

From the picture, I assume the motor still attaches to the standard FC motor mount front plate, which is stiffend by the aluminum frame. Am I right or is the motor attached to the aluminum frame itself?[/QUOTE]

No, I made a new motor mount plate from aluminum, the side mounts are stock and attached to a thin wood ply frame/battery tray.

Jack
Old Oct 06, 2010, 06:21 PM
EuroDriver is offline
Find More Posts by EuroDriver
Registered User

How much extra weight ?


I am modifying mine for AP. How much extra weight can the FC carry and still fly good and slow ?
Old Oct 06, 2010, 07:25 PM
MikeMayberry is offline
Find More Posts by MikeMayberry
Hitec/Multiplex USA
MikeMayberry's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azarr View Post
Due to life getting in the way, my kit has been shelved for the moment. However, at the NEAT Fair, the one's that impressed me were running the 13" props. I'm going to go for either the Hacker A30-16M or A30-14L, have both available. After reading all the info about vibration, I'm thinking a rear support or rear mount might be a good idea. Even using 4 mounting screws, you have the weight of the motor cantilevered on a plastic mount, that can't be a great idea. I know I didn't like it on my Parkmaster and it appears to be the same configuration.

Azarr
I like the A30-16M much better, especially with the 13x4 prop. The 14L needs a much larger proper or it's a dog due to the lower KV, plus it's heavier. Personally, I think the 16M is the perfect Fun Cub motor.

Mike.
Old Oct 06, 2010, 07:39 PM
blinske is offline
Find More Posts by blinske
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by jako View Post
No, I made a new motor mount plate from aluminum, the side mounts are stock and attached to a thin wood ply frame/battery tray.

Jack
Jako,

Thanks for the clarification. I now understand. Still looks great!
Old Oct 07, 2010, 12:34 AM
Vince53 is offline
Find More Posts by Vince53
Registered User
I've been using a Hacker A30-16M for a while but I only put the 13x4E prop on this week and I love it. The only down side is that it is easier to smack the prop on the ground. The 16M and 13x4E is a great combination.

Vince
Old Oct 07, 2010, 05:33 AM
hobie14 is offline
Find More Posts by hobie14
Registered User
hobie14's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeMayberry View Post
I like the A30-16M much better, especially with the 13x4 prop. The 14L needs a much larger proper or it's a dog due to the lower KV, plus it's heavier. Personally, I think the 16M is the perfect Fun Cub motor.

Mike.

Now now Mike ....

To be fair to the Hacker A30-14L 800Kv it's almost the same Kv as the Funcub stock motor (Himax C 3516-0840) ....... same for power level .... same for weight and most importantly it's also the same shaft dia.(5mm) .... 12 x 6 gives me 330 Watts and, having wrecked a couple of 1100 clones due to vibration, a lot of happy flying hours todate (with no prop strikes) .......

If I get bored I might buy a 16M to see what you mean .....
Old Oct 07, 2010, 11:31 AM
F1 Rocket is online now
Find More Posts by F1 Rocket
I have the A30-14L on my plane turning an APCe 13x6.5. This works really well but the A30-16M APCe 13x4 combo works (IMO) better and is what we recommend to our customers. Less weight and better throttle responce. Speaking about weight, there is no reason (IMO) to use a pack larger than 3s 1800. I set my timer for 10 mins and typicaly put back 1200ma back in the pack. I have flown with 3s 1600 as well and the reduced weight makes a difference.

Danny
Esprit Model
Site Sponsor
Old Oct 07, 2010, 12:09 PM
bigmoebbq is offline
Find More Posts by bigmoebbq
Registered User
bigmoebbq's Avatar
I really dont understand all the problems on this thread. I have probably 150 flights on mine with no issues at all other then the gear being soft and busting props and shafts. Guess I am one of the lucky ones. I am even thinking of mounting different gear. Anyone got any pics of the different gear mods they have done?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Fun Cub sinowace Hitec/Multiplex USA 14 Oct 09, 2011 05:43 PM
Discussion Multiplex Fun Jet at the lake bah7566 FPV Talk 31 Jan 03, 2010 10:19 AM
For Sale Multiplex Fun Jet -- PRICE DROP Toby W Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Dec 28, 2009 10:51 AM
Video Multiplex Fun Jet FPV set up test bah7566 Electric Plane Talk 0 Dec 25, 2009 11:05 PM
Wanted multiplex fun-jet or trade! heli123 Aircraft - Electric - Jets (FS/W) 0 Nov 14, 2009 12:02 PM