Mar 06, 2010, 09:58 AM
Build Log

Cliff Charlesworth T61 Falke Motor Glider

Although I have been writing up my model builds for some time on my website, this is my first attempt at a build thread. I will try to keep it as real time as possible - if only in the hope of getting a few hints and tips along the way - preferably before I have gone wrong!

(Update, April 2010: The T61 has now been added to my website here)

I have built a number of electric sport and scale models from plans, but this will be my first motor glider. I haven't finalised the choice of prototype but rather fancy the red and white colour scheme of G-BUIH.

Cliff's T61 plan is to 1/4 scale, giving a span of 150in and a wing area of about 1600sq ins. No AUW is given but a target wing loading of around 1lb/sq ft implies that 10-11lb would be a good outcome. I was therefore rather dismayed when the bundle of wood I ordered weighed about 21lb! Much of this is spruce and ply and, as one whose formative building years date back to the days of 1200mah NiCds and ferrite can motors, I am used to avoiding such heavy materials wherever possible.

However, with such a high aspect ratio wing, one area where I felt I should not compromise was the main spar so this is where I started.
Last edited by Trevorh; Nov 20, 2010 at 12:55 PM. Reason: Updated web links
to remove ads between posts
Mar 06, 2010, 10:03 AM

Spar Building

The top and bottom spars are of 1/8in spruce, 1/2in wide for the inboard section then tapering to 1/4in at the tip. With a sharp knife, I just about managed to cut the tapering pieces from a sheet of 3mm spruce, then spliced them onto the straight inboard sections.

Sorry, I couldn't quite get the camera far enough away to get the full length of the spars in but it is already clear that my building board could do with being a couple of feet longer!
Mar 06, 2010, 10:30 AM