May 25, 2003, 08:48 PM
Thread OP

Electric 1/2A Shrike

While I'm new to electric flight, I am an experienced "wet" pilot who just doesn't have enough time to pile up to go to the field regularly. So I thought I'd build an electric for my local schoolyard that has a couple of soccer fields that should be good for a small plane. I've been spending some time lurking/investigating and have decided to build a Shrike (always liked them, just never got a chance to build one until now). Plus a belly lander would be best for these fields.

I've purchased the 1/2A (Speed 400) kit and I've also downloaded MotoCalc and started playing around with it. I want a brushless motor (might as well go for the gusto) and I didn't really like the suggested options from the wizard, and finally came to a setup that seemed satisfactory to both MotoCalc and I.

What I have cooked up is a Mega 16/15/4 brushless with a 7-cell pack...it should be OK with a 6x5, 6.5x4 or 7x4 prop. According to MotoCalc, I should get about 33MPH in level flight, which should be fine for flying around a couple of soccer fields, and it should have plenty of thrust for aerobatics.

The problem I have is the battery pack. I want enough capacity to fly for ~8 minutes per charge, but I really need to keep weight and internal resistance down. The Shrike fuse is only 1 3/8" wide and 2" deep, which makes it difficult to fit most packs. I'm entertaining the idea of widening the fuse about 3/4" (only need to make a couple of formers), which would also allow me to provide air ducts/cheeks for cooling the battery pack (the Shrike offers no cooling as designed and this setup will pull around 20A full throttle).