Feb 17, 2010, 10:44 AM
Thread OP
Discussion

Which TX to use with the Dragon Link UHF system?

Hi everyone,

At the moment I have a Spektrum DX6i, I suppose I can't use the Dragon Link system with this?

If not, which TX/RX would you suggest? I don't need a fancy TX, 6 channels would be more then enough, even 4 would do.

I would like to use the Dragon Link system, but don't want to spend $1000+ for a TX with fancy things I'll never use. A reasonable budget TX which works good with the Dragon Link will do me.

Is it difficult to get the Dragon Link working? I'm not a electronics engineer, but I can solder two wires together.

Thanks!
to remove ads between posts
Feb 17, 2010, 11:07 AM
the dx6i ouputs ppm with inverted shift signal and it works afaik. (best is to ask jettpilot or jmstech)

personally i would look at the 9x turnigy tx. its cheap 9 channels, supports modules and stuff.
most other people seems to have a futaba 9CAP (its not $1000 but its still kinda expensive)
Feb 17, 2010, 11:17 AM
FPV Desert Beta Test Center
I've never used that radio but I suspect my DX7 is very similar. On the DX7 you set the trainer port to normal and the port is automatically opened when the trainer plug is installed. In that mode the DX7 radio is turned off which is what you want. That leaves two other issues to deal with.

1) You need a power source for the DL. I installed a power plug that connects to the DX7 battery and a side switch that totally disconnects the battery from the radio. The slide switch allows you to turn off the DL without pulling the plugs out every time. To charge the battery however you do have to pull the DL plugs and turn the switch on.