Picked this up at the post office last night. The Quanum 2.4ghz lipo telemetry unit - Page 3 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Feb 16, 2010, 07:54 PM
Talk to me Goose ...
Understand - Will be interesting to see what the experts recommend as far as readings ... there are usually so many people standing around my field I will probably have one of them read it! Seems safest ...
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Feb 16, 2010, 08:27 PM
2 Turbos...Nope 1 Big one
skeppley's Avatar
It says that it has an audible tone when it's nearing 3 volts. But i dont know what the nearing voltage is.
Any of you guys that do have them, can you tell us when she beeps?
If the voltage was adjustable, this would be a really good product.
I dont like taking my eyes off my helis either, but doing a hard climbout with max pitch and hearing a nice audible alarm when the packs drop to 3.2 volts per or so would work for me.

Obviously i would still run my timer, and be very cautious when the normal landing beep came on from that.

It would be some trial and error to get it all working, but a nice addition, not replacement to your normal flying routine. HAving someone else monitor it for ya, would also help to weed out a weak cell in a pack, or just find a pack thats on it's way out.
Feb 16, 2010, 08:46 PM
Oopss. Oh well.
borneobear's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by skeppley
I
If the voltage was adjustable, this would be a really good product.

...hearing a nice audible alarm when the packs drop to 3.2 volts per or so would work for me.
Unfortunately, no, the alarm voltage is not adjustable. But the warning tone is unmistakably loud. You can't miss it!

I really really wish I had something like this when I first started out flying. Could have saved a bunch of lipos and crashes due to over discharge and low voltage cut-offs.


Quanum - if you're reading this - The receiver "Bind" and "On-Off" switch quality could be improved though.
Feb 16, 2010, 09:21 PM
2 Turbos...Nope 1 Big one
skeppley's Avatar
Thanks borne.
Any idea when that nice loud tone kicks on?
Feb 16, 2010, 09:38 PM
Registered User
Highfly!'s Avatar
It kicks in around 3.1v
Feb 17, 2010, 07:38 PM
Registered User
Nobert's Avatar
Is the trip voltage for the alarm user adjustable?
Thanks,
Neal
Feb 17, 2010, 08:27 PM
Registered User
Highfly!'s Avatar
No adjustments possible
Feb 17, 2010, 10:59 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by p51p51
I think these should be somehow incorporated into the rx tx itself. Maybe when it gets into the 30.00 price range I'll get one.
The Hitec Aurora 9 has telemetry and from the European announcements, so do the upcoming Spektrum DX8 and and DX10t. In a few years I think telemetry will be taken for granted.
Feb 18, 2010, 03:31 AM
Gaftopher
Gary Mortimer's Avatar
Yep, could'nt agree more, just a sign of things to come.
Feb 18, 2010, 09:33 AM
Major Electron Addiction
Quote:
Originally Posted by p51p51
Maybe when it gets into the 30.00 price range I'll get one.
You can have mine now for $30.00!! The accuracy of the cell voltages is a joke. The unit works as advertised, but the voltages are so far off that there is no point in using it. Before a flight I had readings from 3.95 volts up to 4.8 volts. I reconnected the battery to two different Cellpro 10s chargers and found the pack to be fully charged and balanced. After the flight, I had readings from 3.7 to 4.5 volts. Again, the charger showed the pack to be balanced. I haven't opened it up to see if there are pots to adjust. YMMV
Feb 18, 2010, 09:43 AM
2 Turbos...Nope 1 Big one
skeppley's Avatar
^
Thats VERY interesting.
I would love to try it out, if you really wanna get rid of it.
If thats the case, i would just use it for my rc cars and see how it does
Feb 18, 2010, 05:54 PM
Go Hawks!
cryhavoc38's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by rodsmith123
You can have mine now for $30.00!! The accuracy of the cell voltages is a joke. The unit works as advertised, but the voltages are so far off that there is no point in using it. Before a flight I had readings from 3.95 volts up to 4.8 volts. I reconnected the battery to two different Cellpro 10s chargers and found the pack to be fully charged and balanced. After the flight, I had readings from 3.7 to 4.5 volts. Again, the charger showed the pack to be balanced. I haven't opened it up to see if there are pots to adjust. YMMV
funny..mine are accurate.

Try and get ahold of Quanum to see about a replacement or some tech support. Perhaps there is a way to calibrate.
Feb 18, 2010, 06:22 PM
Registered User
Highfly!'s Avatar
I always do a cell reading before I install my battery and with my Quanum unit the differences in readings are almost none. Maybe you have a faulty unit.
Feb 19, 2010, 02:25 AM
AMA 670207
Rudderman98's Avatar
Mine should be here soon.

Perry
Feb 19, 2010, 10:36 AM
Registered User
Quote:
It kicks in around 3.1v
Why so damn low?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Quanum battery voltage telemetry - and 'voltage under load' question ... JJJNYC Batteries and Chargers 51 Oct 22, 2014 12:55 PM
For Sale 2.4 Friendly Super Star - Can B Picked Up at SWC Blayne Chastain Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 6 Mar 02, 2010 09:28 AM
For Sale Sprite "Mini Supra" 2 Meter TD - Can B Picked Up at SWC Blayne Chastain Aircraft - Sailplanes (FS/W) 1 Jan 26, 2010 02:19 PM
Discussion dreamped up this last night fer the footies. nigelpheron Sailboats 12 Feb 07, 2007 08:58 AM
Picked this up at a yardsale today...need some help! kctrading Beginner Training Area (Fuel) 16 Mar 31, 2005 12:23 AM