Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Jan 06, 2012, 08:08 AM
Victory Pete is offline
Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by struggleforlife View Post

I guess it's in Spektrum best commercial interest to try to accomodate everybody.
Agreed, that is why it should be user-configurable.

VP
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 06, 2012, 08:34 AM
pavcon is offline
Find More Posts by pavcon
Suspended Account
my concern is still this..
ok we got a dx8
then the dx10 which is easily converted to 18 channel but still not a conventional radio

and I can't really fly with those large stcks so we got
8 channels and 18 channels.. that's a chaos distance between those two.
anything in between? can the dx8 be converted to a 12 channel? this is the most important question..

marketwise at least...

after moving tojets 8 channel is the least you can do...

and I don't believe that this radio is intended to be ajet radio (like gliders)
Old Jan 06, 2012, 08:37 AM
Victory Pete is offline
Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavcon View Post
my concern is still this..
ok we got a dx8
then the dx10 which is easily converted to 18 channel but still not a conventional radio

and I can't really fly with those large stcks so we got
8 channels and 18 channels.. that's a chaos distance between those two.
anything in between? can the dx8 be converted to a 12 channel? this is the most important question..

marketwise at least...

after moving tojets 8 channel is the least you can do...

and I don't believe that this radio is intended to be ajet radio (like gliders)
Good point, Spektrum is either delusional or currently working on a surprise.
We shall wait and see!

VP
Old Jan 06, 2012, 08:57 AM
Turner2 is online now
Find More Posts by Turner2
Registered User
Why do you guys all by DX8 radios when you really want something else. You buy it because of the price range and then expect it to do everything that more expensive radios do. I think you all expect too much from this one radio.
Old Jan 06, 2012, 09:22 AM
struggleforlife is online now
Find More Posts by struggleforlife
Registered User
struggleforlife's Avatar
Hey, we bought the 'most advanced 8 channel radio in the world'.... I think that might have raised our expectations.
Old Jan 06, 2012, 09:47 AM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by struggleforlife View Post
Hey, we bought the 'most advanced 8 channel radio in the world'.... I think that might have raised our expectations.
Other reason BUT ya he's right.
Old Jan 06, 2012, 10:40 AM
grumpy42 is offline
Find More Posts by grumpy42
Registered User
grumpy42's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavcon View Post
anything in between? can the dx8 be converted to a 12 channel? this is the most important question..
I really doubt that the DX8 will be converted to 12 channel. Without extra sliders (or other analog controls), I think the extra channels would be largely superfluous. Perhaps those who make extensive use of mixes could find some use for the extra channels.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turner2 View Post
Why do you guys all by DX8 radios when you really want something else.
It is not a matter of wanting something else but rather not wanting one very annoying, useless feature, that doesn't even work as intended in many circumstances.

It is very difficult to understand Spektrum's stubbornness on this point.
Old Jan 06, 2012, 11:07 AM
keithy4129 is offline
Find More Posts by keithy4129
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turner2 View Post
Why do you guys all by DX8 radios when you really want something else. You buy it because of the price range and then expect it to do everything that more expensive radios do. I think you all expect too much from this one radio.
seriously? you think correct voltage readouts should only be on $1000+ transmitters?.........wow
Old Jan 06, 2012, 11:25 AM
Harry H is offline
Find More Posts by Harry H
Registered User
Harry H's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turner2 View Post
Why do you guys all by DX8 radios when you really want something else. You buy it because of the price range and then expect it to do everything that more expensive radios do. I think you all expect too much from this one radio.
Not something else. Really like my DX8 but it should have an accurate read out and you should also be able to disarm vibe for TX left on. That is not too much to ask for with this level of TX.

Harry
Old Jan 06, 2012, 11:29 AM
AndyKunz is online now
Find More Posts by AndyKunz
AndyKunz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by grumpy42 View Post
It is not a matter of wanting something else but rather not wanting one very annoying, useless feature, that doesn't even work as intended in many circumstances.
What feature doesn't work as we intended?

Andy
Site Sponsor
Old Jan 06, 2012, 11:31 AM
Victory Pete is offline
Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by struggleforlife View Post
Hey, we bought the 'most advanced 8 channel radio in the world'.... I think that might have raised our expectations.
Quote:
Originally Posted by grumpy42 View Post
I really doubt that the DX8 will be converted to 12 channel. Without extra sliders (or other analog controls), I think the extra channels would be largely superfluous. Perhaps those who make extensive use of mixes could find some use for the extra channels.



It is not a matter of wanting something else but rather not wanting one very annoying, useless feature, that doesn't even work as intended in many circumstances.

It is very difficult to understand Spektrum's stubbornness on this point.
Quote:
Originally Posted by keithy4129 View Post
seriously? you think correct voltage readouts should only be on $1000+ transmitters?.........wow
Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry H View Post
Not something else. Really like my DX8 but it should have an accurate read out and you should also be able to disarm vibe for TX left on. That is not too much to ask for with this level of TX.

Harry
Once again, many thoughtful, logical, discernable and distinct responses! Keep up the good work guys!

VP
Old Jan 06, 2012, 11:33 AM
Victory Pete is offline
Find More Posts by Victory Pete
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
What feature doesn't work as we intended?

Andy
Intended 5 minutes?

VP
Old Jan 06, 2012, 11:47 AM
grumpy42 is offline
Find More Posts by grumpy42
Registered User
grumpy42's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
What feature doesn't work as we intended?
Ummm. The vibrating inactivity alarm. I assume that its intent was to prevent the battery from being run down. Well, if the radio is left unattended, the vibe alarm will run down the battery FASTER. Also, the vibe alarm may result in damage to the radio (falling down due to vibration, wearing out vibe motors, exposing the radio to vibration for prolonged periods of time).

Simply put, if the vibe alarm was meant to protect the radio (more specifically, the Lipo), it does not work as intended. SO FIX IT!!!
Old Jan 06, 2012, 11:50 AM
MyPonyRocks is offline
Find More Posts by MyPonyRocks
Registered User
MyPonyRocks's Avatar
I honestly don't mind the vibe EXCEPT when the trainer plug is inserted for Sim use... could be a bit dangerous.
Old Jan 06, 2012, 12:24 PM
richard hanson is offline
Find More Posts by richard hanson
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
I could simply put a spst switch in a wire to my tx vibrator- and effectively control it for about - 50 cents?
too advanced for licensed technicians?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Receivers that work with Spektrum Radios that are not made by Spektrum BD Flyer Radios 29 Sep 26, 2010 05:09 AM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100E or Spektrum AR6100? LaurenceGough Off-road Cars 23 Aug 06, 2009 06:33 AM
For Sale Parkzone 5ch DX10 w/Receiver ch54 CarlHill Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 7 Jul 10, 2009 01:07 PM
Discussion Can I use a Spektrum Air RX with a Spektrum Surface TX? Bigmaxy Radios 1 Jan 19, 2008 08:57 PM
Sold GeForce 8400Gs PCIx DX10 video card GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Sep 05, 2007 11:43 PM