Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Dec 10, 2012, 03:48 PM
aerocal is offline
Find More Posts by aerocal
Registered User
Lol @ 7.8 Franco.Your probably still only using 1/4 to 1/3 of its capacity.I generally try to let mine go to at least 7.3 before I charge.I kind of lose track of how much ontime the radio has between charges but its safe to say I probably use it for 24+ hours before I charge it.It will likely go 30+ from what Ive seen.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:16 PM
quietfly is offline
Find More Posts by quietfly
Registered User
I just bought a DX8 with factory version 202. Following the instructions on SpektrumRC website I loaded the new 206 version firmware onto the the SD card then inserted the card back into the transmitter. The transmitter powers up normally, but nothing else happens and where I expected to see a progress bar indicating the firmware updating, there was none. I then checked the firmware version on the transmitter and it still reads 202. What am I doing wrong?
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:25 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Check, double & triple check to ensure the SPMTX.SAX is not in a folder and or hasn't be change to something else. It's important to leave the file as is.

You can always do the udate manually.

Enter the System Setup (powering radio while holding the roller button)
Scroll to Transfer SD Card
Highlight Options: Select Option, click and scroll to Update Firmware.
Then manual select the file on the SD Card.
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:33 PM
quietfly is offline
Find More Posts by quietfly
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip View Post
Check, double & triple check to ensure the SPMTX.SAX is not in a folder and or hasn't be change to something else. It's important to leave the file as is.

You can always do the udate manually.

Enter the System Setup (powering radio while holding the roller button)
Scroll to Transfer SD Card
Highlight Options: Select Option, click and scroll to Update Firmware.
Then manual select the file on the SD Card.
When I go to see what's on the card it still reads 202, shouldn't it read 206? I downloaded the file to my desktop without changing anything, then I dragged it to the SD card, inserted that to the transmitter, but it looks like something along the way changes it back to 202 from 206.
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:38 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
No.

The file you download will ALWAYS be SPMTX.SAX but once you have updated the radio the radio renames the file so that for future Powering On the radio doesn't look at the update file for nothing. To save on power up time.

Technicaly what you should have is 202 and SPMTX.SAX, once you update you will then have 202 & 206

Deleted or erase the SD Card and re-download the SPMTX.SAX onto the SD Card. you can check to confirm it's there and insert in the radio and power On the radio, the update are automatic.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpektrumCommunity
Software Update Instructions:
1.Download the file SPMTX.SAX by clicking the "Download" button.
2.Save or copy the file from the PC to the SD card. Note: do not change the SPMTX.SAX filename or file will not auto load in Tx.3.Power up the Tx with the SD card installed.
4.You should see the Spektrum logo on the main screen and a progress bar while the new software loads.
5.Verify the new version number in the System Settings, Serial Number screen in the lower right corner.
Note: All software files are unique to the serial number registered online and will only work with the matching transmitter. Using an SAX file created from a different account or serial number will fail.
Last edited by freechip; Dec 10, 2012 at 08:45 PM.
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:43 PM
quietfly is offline
Find More Posts by quietfly
Registered User
Look
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:45 PM
quietfly is offline
Find More Posts by quietfly
Registered User
I'll delete what's on the sd card and start over. Nothing of what I described above is incorrect. Right?
Old Dec 10, 2012, 08:56 PM
quietfly is offline
Find More Posts by quietfly
Registered User
Here's what's on my desktop, exactly how it downloaded from the website. I also check that my serial number was correct.
Old Dec 10, 2012, 09:00 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Don't know why you are not just downloading it directly on the SD Card but anyways just make sure when you move/copy it over that you are not creating a shortcut to it.
Old Dec 10, 2012, 09:02 PM
quietfly is offline
Find More Posts by quietfly
Registered User
How do I download directly to card? Firefox only lets me save it.
Old Dec 10, 2012, 09:10 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
You can't Save As and then select the SD Card drive location?
Not familiar with FireFox but right now your issue to me sounds like a User Related one.

You can do it from the desktop, just saying make sure it does get changed when you do it.
Old Dec 10, 2012, 09:17 PM
quietfly is offline
Find More Posts by quietfly
Registered User
No, firefox only has a save function. I went to IE and that allowed me to save directly to the card. I did that, but still no update, automatic or manual. On a manual update, after I select the spmtx.sax it just goes back to the home screen. Then I check the version under system settings on the bottom right and it reads 202. Thanks for your help. Would it be ok to just use the transmitter as is? without updating?
Old Dec 10, 2012, 09:20 PM
DXStickman is offline
Find More Posts by DXStickman
AMA 42272, from the 1970's
DXStickman's Avatar
Highlight the SPMTX.SAX file on your Desktop, right click it, select Send To and select your SD card. Open the SD card in Windows Explorer and verify the file is there, then insert the card in your radio and power up.

I only use Firefox and have never had a problem similar to yours. If you go to Tools at the top of the page, then go down to Options. Look under the General tab and you can select where you want your downloads to go. I send mine to the Download file instead of the Desktop, but Desktop will work.
Last edited by DXStickman; Dec 10, 2012 at 09:29 PM.
Old Dec 10, 2012, 09:21 PM
quietfly is offline
Find More Posts by quietfly
Registered User
I'll try that.
Old Dec 10, 2012, 09:27 PM
freechip is offline
Find More Posts by freechip
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Got a feeling a phone to HH or PM to Andykunz might be in order.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Receivers that work with Spektrum Radios that are not made by Spektrum BD Flyer Radios 29 Sep 26, 2010 05:09 AM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100E or Spektrum AR6100? LaurenceGough Off-road Cars 23 Aug 06, 2009 06:33 AM
For Sale Parkzone 5ch DX10 w/Receiver ch54 CarlHill Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 7 Jul 10, 2009 01:07 PM
Discussion Can I use a Spektrum Air RX with a Spektrum Surface TX? Bigmaxy Radios 1 Jan 19, 2008 08:57 PM
Sold GeForce 8400Gs PCIx DX10 video card GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Sep 05, 2007 11:43 PM