Thread Tools
Old May 01, 2012, 08:21 AM
richard hanson is offline
Find More Posts by richard hanson
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavcon View Post
I got those capacitors but never used one till now..
If anyone can demonstrate that a little capacitor -such as the one shown- can help prevent a low corrent/voltage condition to the rx, please step forward.
If is question about this, contact HH services and ask them if these can help cure a low voltage condition.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 01, 2012, 08:27 AM
JohnathanSwift is offline
Find More Posts by JohnathanSwift
Suspended Account
Oh, sorry, I thought he meant the flux capacitor!
Old May 01, 2012, 08:57 AM
richard hanson is offline
Find More Posts by richard hanson
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
Set a course for wishful thinking land--full warp speed -
Old May 01, 2012, 09:02 AM
pavcon is offline
Find More Posts by pavcon
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by richard hanson View Post
If anyone can demonstrate that a little capacitor -such as the one shown- can help prevent a low corrent/voltage condition to the rx, please step forward.
If is question about this, contact HH services and ask them if these can help cure a low voltage condition.
I was able to kind of simulate what they do... I added the capacitor on my servo tester (it has 3 servo outputs)
I had battery on the input and one servo + the capacitor on the out put and set the movement to auto so that the tester would automatically move the servo back and forth.
without the cap when you unplug the battery the servo stops.. normally...
however with the cap when you unplug the battery the servo continue moving for a couple of degrees more. ..
the capacitor also being a battery will be able to normalise the voltage..
for the computer guys... it acts like a UPS on the computer.
Old May 01, 2012, 09:02 AM
AndyKunz is online now
Find More Posts by AndyKunz
AndyKunz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by gjr. View Post
What are the shortcomings ,missing features, and any notable differences that apply to the dx10t versus the dx18? Thanks.
The DX10t does not include the sequencer, nor a few other "secret" features that won't be announced until the DX18 ships.

In the current version the DX10t does not give access to Aux6 and Aux7 on a 12-channel receiver.

The DX18 does not include Auto-Trim, plus anything else related to the mechanical features (i.e., number of switches and pots).

Andy
Site Sponsor
Old May 01, 2012, 09:23 AM
struggleforlife is online now
Find More Posts by struggleforlife
Registered User
struggleforlife's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavcon View Post
I was able to kind of simulate what they do... I added the capacitor on my servo tester (it has 3 servo outputs)
I had battery on the input and one servo + the capacitor on the out put and set the movement to auto so that the tester would automatically move the servo back and forth.
without the cap when you unplug the battery the servo stops.. normally...
however with the cap when you unplug the battery the servo continue moving for a couple of degrees more. ..
the capacitor also being a battery will be able to normalise the voltage..
for the computer guys... it acts like a UPS on the computer.
It would be nice if there was something like a 100 mah battery for this purpose, which you could just plug in the receiver...
Old May 01, 2012, 09:54 AM
richard hanson is offline
Find More Posts by richard hanson
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by struggleforlife View Post
It would be nice if there was something like a 100 mah battery for this purpose, which you could just plug in the receiver...
There is simply no substiute for a proper , low impedance battery supply - - No quick fixes such as an additional small battery or a capacitor -even a BIG one .
Buy borrow or steal a good voltmeter which reads in tenths of volts and stick it in the rx - then try various batteries/ caps/ whatever and with servos providing a realistic load for YOUR application - run the system and watch the voltage depressions.
Batteries with high impedance or regs with poor power handling will cause problems.
Caps are not a fix.
Old May 01, 2012, 10:23 AM
pavcon is offline
Find More Posts by pavcon
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by struggleforlife View Post
It would be nice if there was something like a 100 mah battery for this purpose, which you could just plug in the receiver...
just add two life batts :/
Old May 01, 2012, 10:25 AM
A Rdnek is offline
Find More Posts by A Rdnek
Bruno, GOOD DOG
A Rdnek's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by pavcon View Post
just add two life batts :/
Could you explain that a little please?
thanks
Ron
Old May 01, 2012, 10:26 AM
JohnathanSwift is offline
Find More Posts by JohnathanSwift
Suspended Account
Or, use a wattmeter and carefully design your power system!
Old May 01, 2012, 10:29 AM
Franco2fly is offline
Find More Posts by Franco2fly
AMA 84248 since 1964
How do LiFe batteries compare to NiCad(Sanyo) and NiMh(Eneloop) batteries? Say I have 3 airborne rx packs with AA size cells (4 soldered together) and lets make them all 1800Mah in capacity. What would you expect from each type battery pack?


KKKKFL
Old May 01, 2012, 10:40 AM
tracknoob is offline
Find More Posts by tracknoob
Diverted by planks
tracknoob's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by JohnathanSwift View Post
Go to youtube and search for the HH video on this! The "floor" of the compartment is a solid piece of foam, which should also be removed when using the lipo, though it exposes an opening to the circuit board! The video shows use of an exacto knife to lift it, but I used something like a small, slotted screwdriver.
I realized the floor foam probably ought to come out for the Lipo, but then, I felt it's 'give' and just played around with smooshing it a bit to see how much give it would take to close the door, and if it would be too tight.

After a few minutes of pressure, and playing with the door, it all fit nicely (though snugly!) with no bulging or excessive pressure, and I figured that since I will be charging on-board, the Lipo will be in there for a good long time, that would be a good set up for me, nice and firm, no movement possible.

Old May 01, 2012, 10:42 AM
Buschbarber is offline
Find More Posts by Buschbarber
Registered User
Buschbarber's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franco2fly View Post
How do LiFe batteries compare to NiCad(Sanyo) and NiMh(Eneloop) batteries? Say I have 3 airborne rx packs with AA size cells (4 soldered together) and lets make them all 1800Mah in capacity. What would you expect from each type battery pack?


KKKKFL
LiFe are 3.3v per cell. The maintain a flat 3.3v per cell throughout the discharge. The hold their charge for months just like LiPos. They make excellent Tx and Rx batteries. They are the same as A123 cells. They charge quickly so you are never inconvenienced.
Old May 01, 2012, 10:51 AM
Franco2fly is offline
Find More Posts by Franco2fly
AMA 84248 since 1964
Sounds like an Airborne pack would require 2 batteries soldered together 6.6 (my NiCad's usually measure 5.2 off the wall wart charger overnight) Are LiFe expensive by comparison to the typical AA NiCad cell that I can purchase at the Best buy (I see 2000Mah Batteries all the time)

KKKKFL
Old May 01, 2012, 11:05 AM
Buschbarber is offline
Find More Posts by Buschbarber
Registered User
Buschbarber's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franco2fly View Post
Sounds like an Airborne pack would require 2 batteries soldered together 6.6 (my NiCad's usually measure 5.2 off the wall wart charger overnight) Are LiFe expensive by comparison to the typical AA NiCad cell that I can purchase at the Best buy (I see 2000Mah Batteries all the time)

KKKKFL
They come in presolderd packs. Not many people solder their own. They most often have Balancing Taps with leads to each cell. Balancing Lithium chargers like the FMA 4S and 10S balance the charge to each cell and read out the individual cell voltages. Hobbico sells the green and white LiFe brand. Thery are available at your LHS. These are flat packs. I have used those as well as EPbuddy packs which are smaller and round.

I use 2500mah packs that cost me $25 for a 2cell pack

After using NiCad and NiMh for years, charging for hours, dealing with False Peaks (NiMh) and self discharging over time (except for Eneloop), I much prefer the convenience of Lithium batteries.

My DX8 had the option for a 4000mah Tx battery, which I have been using. The newer JR DMSS XG series transmitters come with LiFe batteries as well as some of the newer Futaba transmitters.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Receivers that work with Spektrum Radios that are not made by Spektrum BD Flyer Radios 29 Sep 26, 2010 05:09 AM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100E or Spektrum AR6100? LaurenceGough Off-road Cars 23 Aug 06, 2009 06:33 AM
For Sale Parkzone 5ch DX10 w/Receiver ch54 CarlHill Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 7 Jul 10, 2009 01:07 PM
Discussion Can I use a Spektrum Air RX with a Spektrum Surface TX? Bigmaxy Radios 1 Jan 19, 2008 08:57 PM
Sold GeForce 8400Gs PCIx DX10 video card GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Sep 05, 2007 11:43 PM