Thread Tools
Nov 09, 2011, 02:43 PM
Registered User
GBRellic's Avatar
I figured it out long time ago that if I can imagine it than it is most likely on the market somewhere.
Most of the telemetry wish list I see here is already available through many devices and stand alone systems (that I noticed are manufacturing? supplying? some of the Spektrum sensors)
What I would like to see is a RECORD DATA feature switch activated and deactivated, saved as file #001 next next next all numbered or named files recorded on demand.
I can see it now, written flight plan for spotter / caller to "call" at entry of each maneuver switch data record on, exit maneuver data record off, file saved as #001 corresponding with flight plan call list. On to the next planned maneuver #002 and so we fly and Analise.
Brian T.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Nov 09, 2011, 02:50 PM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyHighSelllow
Its real time data available right now while you fly. Logging is the capability to view data after an event.
I know what data logging is..
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyHighSelllow
I dont see how anybody can look at the radio and fly a pogo at 120 mph flight line pass at the same time to view the real time data.I'd rather look at the log file to see how fast I went after I landed rather after I crash cuz I looked at my radio
Fully agree, but you can set alarm for critical conditions and so telemetry is VERY much usefull in its current state. To call it 95% useless because it lacks logging is a bit much. Unless he ment it was 95% useless to himself in its current state but he did not word it as such.
Nov 09, 2011, 07:16 PM
Registered User
teryn1's Avatar
Good, Pete, we don't want to see you crash.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Victory Pete
I would like to see as many telemetry options as possible. The way it is now though is quite usable. I monitor my Timer, Flight Pack Voltage, ESC Temperature, and RF signall all routinely every flight.

VP

PS Yes, I look at my Tx while flying.
Nov 09, 2011, 07:18 PM
Registered User
teryn1's Avatar
For some of the things like altitude and airspeed, it needs to be logged. Adding logging feature is a day's worth of work for the programmers....they just need to get it done and stop delaying things for no reason. Again, it's a Management problem within Spektrum.


Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip
I know what data logging is.. Fully agree, but you can set alarm for critical conditions and so telemetry is VERY much usefull in its current state. To call it 95% useless because it lacks logging is a bit much. Unless he ment it was 95% useless to himself in its current state but he did not word it as such.
Last edited by teryn1; Nov 09, 2011 at 07:32 PM.
Nov 10, 2011, 06:34 AM
Surface, Air & Water Rc Toys..
freechip's Avatar
Fully agree teryn1 but not any reason to call it useless (95% useless) right?
Nov 10, 2011, 08:10 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by teryn1
For some of the things like altitude and airspeed, it needs to be logged. Adding logging feature is a day's worth of work for the programmers....they just need to get it done and stop delaying things for no reason. Again, it's a Management problem within Spektrum.
Actually, Teryn, it's not. When developing the telemetry system, logging was one of the very first things I implemented, even before the screens for the different sensors. The problem is that (in the DX7s/DX8) some telemetry records get dropped whenever the file system has to extend the file info in the directory record (ie, it writes multiple sectors in an allocation unit, then requests another allocation unit which takes several reads and a write). There is a "hiccup" you can feel.

Andy
Nov 10, 2011, 11:35 AM
Volts>amps
stgdz's Avatar
So its unlikely we will see logging in the dx8 then? I know you didn't say that but it just sounds like it.
Nov 10, 2011, 11:47 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
I won't say never, but I will say, "Don't hold your breath."

Andy
Nov 10, 2011, 11:57 AM
Volts>amps
stgdz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz
I won't say never, but I will say, "Don't hold your breath."

Andy
That's what I figured
Nov 10, 2011, 12:31 PM
Registered User
Maybe an own, sector wise filesystem could help. Just an idea....

I think the DX10 has more RAM to buffer the data. Right ?
Nov 10, 2011, 12:36 PM
Suspended Account
my local dealer changed the damaged dx8 rf board. still wont pass the range test..
will be sending it to HH UK
Nov 10, 2011, 12:52 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mukenukem
Maybe an own, sector wise filesystem could help. Just an idea....
Gotta keep it a FAT file system so you can use it on the PC. We don't want to make a utility to run on your PC to access your files. We'll let our competitor do that.

Quote:
I think the DX10t has more RAM to buffer the data. Right ?
No, they're about the same in RAM and ROM.

Andy
Nov 10, 2011, 12:53 PM
Registered User
topgearuk's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz
I won't say never, but I will say, "Don't hold your breath."

Andy
Andy as you seem to be quite fourth coming, do you think we will see a current sensor this side of Christmas?
Nov 10, 2011, 01:12 PM
Suspended Account
ok iknow this is well off topic but there are a lot of experienced guys in here and since I follow this thread I d like to ask about this radio
http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...dProduct=20624
is this particular DSM2 one upgradable to DSM-X ? ? ? yes or no?
Nov 10, 2011, 01:32 PM
Registered User
grumpy42's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz
Actually, Teryn, it's not. When developing the telemetry system, logging was one of the very first things I implemented, even before the screens for the different sensors.
I imagine that this was done primarily to facilitate testing.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz
The problem is that (in the DX7s/DX8) some telemetry records get dropped whenever the file system has to extend the file info in the directory record (ie, it writes multiple sectors in an allocation unit, then requests another allocation unit which takes several reads and a write). There is a "hiccup" you can feel.

Andy
If I am reading this correctly, it seems that your are writing the telemetry data in "real time". It seems that it it would make more sense buffer the data and perform periodic writes.

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz
There is a "hiccup" you can feel.
Do you main that telemetry data is lost since the file system is not ready OR that accessing the file system while the radio is in use (i.e. flying) causes latency. I guess I am not sure why you me by a hiccup that "you can feel".

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz
I won't say never, but I will say, "Don't hold your breath."

Andy
That is unfortunate. I would also be content with a module that plugs into the telemetry module and records to either internal memory a MicroSD card. Perhaps a external receiver that records telemetry data (not the STi since not everyone owns a compatible product).

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz
No, they're about the same in RAM and ROM.
So, if the DX10t gets logging then there is no "technical" reason that the DX8 can't support logging. Actually, this IS a feature that I would accept as being reserved for a higher end radio (it actual adds SIGNIFICANT value to the radio). HOWEVER, if there is no NON-TRAY DX10 you really can't expect people to significantly alter their flying techniques just to have access to some features.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Receivers that work with Spektrum Radios that are not made by Spektrum BD Flyer Radios 29 Sep 26, 2010 04:09 AM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100E or Spektrum AR6100? LaurenceGough Off-road Cars 23 Aug 06, 2009 05:33 AM
For Sale Parkzone 5ch DX10 w/Receiver ch54 CarlHill Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 7 Jul 10, 2009 12:07 PM
Discussion Can I use a Spektrum Air RX with a Spektrum Surface TX? Bigmaxy Radios 1 Jan 19, 2008 07:57 PM
Sold GeForce 8400Gs PCIx DX10 video card GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Sep 05, 2007 10:43 PM