Spektrum DX8 & DX10 - Page 57 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Sep 06, 2010, 05:12 PM
Registered User
K5054's Avatar
I just hope it is not too much heavier than the 6 as I liked the light weight of it over the 7. There is no need to have it feel like a brick in your hands just so it feels more expensive.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Sep 06, 2010, 07:11 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by K5054
I just hope it is not too much heavier than the 6 as I liked the light weight of it over the 7. There is no need to have it feel like a brick in your hands just so it feels more expensive.
2nd that
Sep 06, 2010, 07:25 PM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by K5054
I just hope it is not too much heavier than the 6 as I liked the light weight of it over the 7. There is no need to have it feel like a brick in your hands just so it feels more expensive.
Don't fret, you will be able to add or subtract weght via firmware updates.
Sep 06, 2010, 07:34 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by K5054
I just hope it is not too much heavier than the 6 as I liked the light weight of it over the 7. There is no need to have it feel like a brick in your hands just so it feels more expensive.
Well, as long as the weight is justified by all of the improvements and bells and whistles, I think that is fine, but I hope there are no bricks in it!
VP
Sep 06, 2010, 11:54 PM
Registered User
Although some prefer a lighter Tx, and for long flights a lighter Tx is a significant ergonomic advantage, it is never the less absolutely true that the majority of consumers equate weight with quality. Identical products where one has a weight added will be judged by the majority as being of different perceived quality, the heavier one being preferred. This applies across many, many kinds of products, including our Tx.

If the Tx is light you will see it being described as "plastic feeling" and "toy-like". If it has a steel plate in the case to give it some heft it will be descibed as "solid" or "substantial".

I have no idea how the DX8 weight compares with other Tx but I would not be the least bit suprised to find ballast had been added to address consumer perceptions. Time will tell
Sep 07, 2010, 04:33 AM
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz
It's not in the manual.

In System mode, go to the Telemetry setup screen. Select "Settings" then click on the Units to toggle between US and metric. Images are attached.

Andy
Hi Andy
That's great! Thanks a lot!!!
Sep 07, 2010, 12:06 PM
Registered User
cthulhu's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz
Is there a separate delay so that as you change flight modes, the throttle moves to the new mode more slowly than the controls? No.

Does that describe what you mean?

The throttle can be delayed using the servo speed adjustment, just like all the other channels.

Andy
OK, it is what I mean... It is only one function for change my TX from DX6i to DX8...
Sep 07, 2010, 01:22 PM
Registered User
IF the following text would appear to be true:

http://www.rcuniverse.com/forum/m_99...tm.htm#9985626

Could a software upgrade on DX8 be sufficient to move to FHSS?
Or is the hardware not flexible enough?

thx.
Sep 07, 2010, 01:44 PM
Registered User
flypaper 2's Avatar
All heresy and speculation. "This guy sent me an email" Anyone can say that. If I remember, there were few problems at Joe Nall. As far as the 80 channels being divided by two letting no more than 40 planes up. How about the video of, I think it was 75 T 28 Trojans with Spektrums installed flying all at once. Video is proof!
If it aint broke!!!

Gord.
Sep 07, 2010, 02:03 PM
Registered User
Kambalunga's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by flypaper 2
A As far as the 80 channels being divided by two letting no more than 40 planes up. How about the video of, I think it was 75 T 28 Trojans with Spektrums installed flying all at once. Video is proof!
If it aint broke!!!

Gord.
100 T28
100 R/C T28 flying Joe Nall (7 min 20 sec)
Sep 07, 2010, 02:10 PM
Never stop
OMG! How'd they keep track of which one they were flying??
Sep 07, 2010, 02:31 PM
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by kgfly
I have no idea how the DX8 weight compares with other Tx but I would not be the least bit suprised to find ballast had been added to address consumer perceptions.
Now there's an idea for a transmitter feature: build it light but include a ballast box to customize the feel.
Sep 07, 2010, 03:23 PM
I am ready for HHAEFI!!
powerlines's Avatar
I love the feel of the 11X.. It is just tooo weird looking.. and I rather use the 9503 programming..

I hope I am not making a mistake by selling my 9503 waiting on the DX8!!! LOL. .I will sell the DX8 in a second.. get me another 9503..

I believe I would be happy with the DX7 IF.. it had throttle curve on AIR and a slider for the AUX (choke!!)
Sep 07, 2010, 04:45 PM
Suspended Account
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kambalunga
you gotta be kidding me..
Sep 07, 2010, 05:23 PM
Registered User
@andy: can you copy all your models to the sd card with one order or does every single model has to be copied? Thanks


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question Receivers that work with Spektrum Radios that are not made by Spektrum BD Flyer Radios 29 Sep 26, 2010 05:09 AM
Discussion Spektrum AR6100E or Spektrum AR6100? LaurenceGough Off-road Cars 23 Aug 06, 2009 06:33 AM
For Sale Parkzone 5ch DX10 w/Receiver ch54 CarlHill Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 7 Jul 10, 2009 01:07 PM
Discussion Can I use a Spektrum Air RX with a Spektrum Surface TX? Bigmaxy Radios 1 Jan 19, 2008 08:57 PM
Sold GeForce 8400Gs PCIx DX10 video card GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Sep 05, 2007 11:43 PM