Skookum 720 - Page 106 - RC Groups
Thread Tools
Feb 11, 2013, 06:13 PM
A man with too many toys
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickn816
Art advises that the GPS be able to "see the sky." No telemetry.

Rick
My real question is will it do GPS position hold during inverted hover? That would be really cool to see.


.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Feb 12, 2013, 12:13 PM
Registered User
Also what altitude gain to do like for position hold thanks.
Feb 12, 2013, 02:01 PM
RCHN #150
Rickn816's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenneth
Also what altitude gain to do like for position hold thanks.
I'm using 25 with my TRex 500, but you should expect to make some adjustments with your heli.

Rick
Feb 12, 2013, 02:02 PM
RCHN #150
Rickn816's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by grimbeaver
Had to laugh a little when I read the box. It's the "GPS Positioning Module". So that's the "Global Positioning System Positioning Module". Seems a bit redundant.
You mean like ATM machine?

Rick
Feb 13, 2013, 07:09 AM
RCHN #150
Rickn816's Avatar

My Setup


On the tail boom, using tail servo brackets and a custom mounting plate (fiberglass).

Rick
Feb 13, 2013, 01:40 PM
Registered User
To help a newbie learn tail in hover, can you fly in GPS position hold without any decks? Will position hold work hovering low out in front of you like a beginner would do? Or do you have to fly high up enough for it to activate? Thanks.
Feb 13, 2013, 02:57 PM
A man with too many toys
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickn816
The Data Viewer is $35. And, it is not a requirement. I do think you have a good idea about an SK720/GPS package. For all of us who bought the SK 720 to use with the GPS, it is not an unreasonable price, considering the costs of alternatives.

Rick

So itís $1035. Looks like for $1000 they would not be so cheap and make you pay an additional $35 for the data viewer. Why donít they just make a package deal.



Feb 13, 2013, 08:21 PM
RCHN #150
Rickn816's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenneth
To help a newbie learn tail in hover, can you fly in GPS position hold without any decks? Will position hold work hovering low out in front of you like a beginner would do? Or do you have to fly high up enough for it to activate? Thanks.
No. There is a minimum altitude. 8 meters. It is a safety consideration. Because other units do not have this, I expect there may be a change in the future.

Rick
Feb 14, 2013, 05:05 AM
Registered User
takeoff2's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickn816
No. There is a minimum altitude. 8 meters. It is a safety consideration. Because other units do not have this, I expect there may be a change in the future.

Rick
So all facilities of GPS operating from up 8m,is a hit for beginners and not only,that stinks.
Feb 14, 2013, 05:53 AM
A man with too many toys
Quote:
Originally Posted by takeoff2
So all facilities of GPS operating from up 8m,is a hit for beginners and not only,that stinks.
GPS is mainly to keep you from crashing when learning 3D maneuvers. For beginners learning the basics just let an inexpensive helicopter to practice on. There is no substitute for lots of practice when learning the basics. The GPS is way too expensive for most beginners anyway.


.
Feb 14, 2013, 10:17 AM
Registered User
takeoff2's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Man
GPS is mainly to keep you from crashing when learning 3D maneuvers. For beginners learning the basics just let an inexpensive helicopter to practice on. There is no substitute for lots of practice when learning the basics. The GPS is way too expensive for most beginners anyway.


.
Ok I'am agree to you,but on their website you can read: ........is a great system for any pilot, from beginners to commercial aerial photographers!
Feb 14, 2013, 11:46 AM
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
I believe the 8m limit is only for hard deck and soft deck features. The Altitiude Hold and Position Hold mode work at any altitude.
Feb 14, 2013, 11:52 AM
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kenneth
To help a newbie learn tail in hover, can you fly in GPS position hold without any decks? Will position hold work hovering low out in front of you like a beginner would do? Or do you have to fly high up enough for it to activate? Thanks.
To answer your question, yes, you can use the Position hold mode to practice tail in hover without any decks. It will hover like a co-ax heli. You let go the control stick and it stops.

On the other hand, even without SK-GPS, with just the SK-720 with Self-Leveling on, it is already hover extremely stable. With some expo and dual rate, it is super easy to hover for beginners. I did exactly that 2 years ago for a beginner friend.
Feb 14, 2013, 04:02 PM
Registered User
takeoff2's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by chuenwe
I believe the 8m limit is only for hard deck and soft deck features. The Altitiude Hold and Position Hold mode work at any altitude.
You believe or know for sure,is very important to know.
Feb 14, 2013, 04:32 PM
Registered User
chuenwe's Avatar
Are you a lawyer or something? I know for sure Altitude Hold and GPS Hold work for any altitude.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale CSM SL 720 gyro $150 Shipped Giovanni Day Aircraft - Electric - Helis (FS/W) 1 Jul 02, 2011 08:18 PM
Discussion Skookum 720 Rickn816 Electric Plane Talk 2 Feb 07, 2010 10:01 AM
Sold NIB Extremeflight Torque 2812/720 RichR Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 2 Jan 15, 2010 10:36 AM
Sold NIB Torque 2812/720 RichR Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 0 Jan 13, 2010 01:00 PM
Sold Torque 2812/720 Brushless motor RichR Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 2 Aug 27, 2009 10:19 PM