Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old May 22, 2011, 07:15 AM
skrez is offline
Find More Posts by skrez
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by tdab View Post
No issues at on like this on the F18. Today on my second flight, I actually chucked it at over a 45 degree angle (not on purpose) and it just climbed at that same angle with no issues at all. My other launches were straight out with no pitch up or down...
Thanks for the reply. I would be putting the same set-up in mine, 4000+ in 64mm endo fan and 2200 4s .
Frank
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 26, 2011, 04:45 PM
hydro_pyro is offline
Find More Posts by hydro_pyro
Blade mSR freak
hydro_pyro's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by skymaster62 View Post
Had to cut a hatch just behind the canopy to have access to rx and servo wires.
If this plane is anything like the Banana/BlitzRC/Starmax F-18, there's a thin plastic fairing on the underside that's perforated, so a little cover lifts up for Rx and servo wire compartment access. Doesn't this jet have access here as well?

Old May 26, 2011, 06:56 PM
fredmdbud is online now
Find More Posts by fredmdbud
Registered User
fredmdbud's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by hydro_pyro View Post
If this plane is anything like the Banana/BlitzRC/Starmax F-18, there's a thin plastic fairing on the underside that's perforated, so a little cover lifts up for Rx and servo wire compartment access. Doesn't this jet have access here as well?
I think he meant to say that he cut a hatch to access the receiver, not to route the servo and ESC power wires.

You can see the wiring port in the Blue Angels F-18 shown below:

Old May 26, 2011, 10:13 PM
hydro_pyro is offline
Find More Posts by hydro_pyro
Blade mSR freak
hydro_pyro's Avatar
Oh yeah, that's totally different...
Old Jul 26, 2011, 11:48 PM
the_walrus is offline
Find More Posts by the_walrus
Registered User
Will the stock motor handle 4s?

Like can I use a 60amp ESC, a 4s 2200, and be ok with the stock motor & fan?

Thanks,
Justin
Old Jul 26, 2011, 11:52 PM
fredmdbud is online now
Find More Posts by fredmdbud
Registered User
fredmdbud's Avatar
I don't know about the motor, but the duct and fan can handle it.

I believe the stock motor is 4300kV, so I think it should be OK, though it might be better with 3800kV.
Old Jul 26, 2011, 11:55 PM
the_walrus is offline
Find More Posts by the_walrus
Registered User
Pretty sure the stock motor is 4100kv.
Old Jul 27, 2011, 12:27 AM
fredmdbud is online now
Find More Posts by fredmdbud
Registered User
fredmdbud's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_walrus View Post
Pretty sure the stock motor is 4100kv.
Still, same answer.
Old Jul 27, 2011, 12:42 AM
brati4 is offline
Find More Posts by brati4
Registered User
brati4's Avatar
Does a 4s fit in this plane or does it require surgery?
Old Jul 27, 2011, 12:53 AM
fredmdbud is online now
Find More Posts by fredmdbud
Registered User
fredmdbud's Avatar
Folks have been able to fit a 4S in this plane. Depending on the battery's dimensions, cutting might not be necessary, though it could get crowded in there (RX, wires). A battery longer than 90mm or wider than 30mm will probably require cutting to get it to sit where the battery compartment is molded; this seems to be the case in recent versions. Other versions didn't have a molded compartment, making larger batteries easier to fit.
Old Jul 27, 2011, 10:35 AM
Melnic is offline
Find More Posts by Melnic
Team Wack-a-Mole
Melnic's Avatar
I have not tried but my 4S 1800mAh Gens Ace from Hobbypartz is about the same size. I use it on a funjet. I'd have to swap ESC I think if I were to use it.
Last edited by Melnic; Oct 03, 2011 at 04:01 PM.
Old Jul 27, 2011, 10:42 AM
brati4 is offline
Find More Posts by brati4
Registered User
brati4's Avatar
Can anyone post a pic of the battery area?
Old Jul 27, 2011, 02:43 PM
tdab is offline
Find More Posts by tdab
t = Col Frank Fitts
tdab's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by brati4 View Post
Can anyone post a pic of the battery area?
bratia, I will take a few when I get home and post them here. Just for reference, I use a 30C 4s2450 and it fits and balances perfect.

I also took off the gear and removed all the plastic that the gear was attached to in order to save weight. I did it very carefully and then cut out 3mm depron to fill the gaps underneath. Then I taped the bottom for a nice skid on the grass. I set up just a tad nose heavy and if flies like a dream.

My setup:

Dons Wicked Plus 4000kv in the stock 64mm EDO1 Fan
Turnigy Trust 55A esc
Turnigy 30C 4s2450
Optima Lite 6ch Rx
27.5 oz auw
Just over 700 watts

Flies great. About 80mph top speed, estimated....
Old Jul 28, 2011, 01:19 PM
the_walrus is offline
Find More Posts by the_walrus
Registered User
tdab that's what I'm going for. Will be using a 60amp ESC and 4s 2200 batts. I'll see how long the stock motor can handle it. lol Should be ok as long as I take it easy. This plane flys so stable, just needs to be faster.

Would like to see the pics of your battery location, etc when you get them posted.

Thanks,
Justin
Old Aug 02, 2011, 10:52 PM
tdab is offline
Find More Posts by tdab
t = Col Frank Fitts
tdab's Avatar
Pics below.....You can see where the front LG bulkhead of foam was removed so the top 1/3 of the 4s2450 will fit in perfectly. I molded another foam part inside the airframe that holds the other side of lipo tight and still allows air-flow around it


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Nitro Planes New Airfield 70MM F-16 EDF Jet FlyBoyTha1 Foamy EDFs 29 Sep 24, 2010 02:10 AM