Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Feb 05, 2010, 01:31 PM
chemikal99 is offline
Find More Posts by chemikal99
Registered User
Help!

Syma S107 battery upgrade


Is it possible to upgrade the battery to a larger one in the Syma S107? I just placed mine on order, and would like to order a larger battery for it if possible. Has anyone done this yet and how would I go about doing it?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 22, 2010, 09:20 PM
Devil1 is offline
Find More Posts by Devil1
Registered User
Devil1's Avatar
Ever find an answer?
Old Feb 22, 2010, 10:05 PM
hemiblas is offline
Find More Posts by hemiblas
Registered User
I'm sure you can do it, but you have to be careful. These copters are perfectly balanced at the factory. A bigger and heavier battery will make it hover with forward speed. Then you will need to add more weight to the rear of the copter to make it stable again. By the time you do that, you will get more runtime, but it wont be as much as you think. The more weight also makes it harder to gain altitude as you have the same voltage just more weight. Yeah a bigger battery will hold the voltage better, but again I dont think its worth it.
Old Feb 22, 2010, 11:24 PM
Devil1 is offline
Find More Posts by Devil1
Registered User
Devil1's Avatar
Man that kinda sucks. I was hoping to hear something like "yeah we found a battery that lasts 30 minutes!" lol. Oh well. Are there any other mods I can do to it?
Old Feb 23, 2010, 09:38 AM
hemiblas is offline
Find More Posts by hemiblas
Registered User
If you are looking for longer runtimes, you can start by removing the led's. I'm sure this will save a little bit of energy and weight. You can look into other ways to lighten it up as long as you take from the front and rear of the heli equally. I've played around with mine a bit and basically I came up with just run them stock. They work great that way. They wont last as long but they also dont take as long to charge either if you get a bigger battery. I tried picking up a 9808 which has a 180mah battery, but it didnt last more than one flight because it broke. I'm currently upgrading a 6020-1 to the 240mah battery and need to wait for more parts before I see how it goes.
Last edited by hemiblas; Feb 23, 2010 at 09:48 AM.
Old Feb 23, 2010, 02:52 PM
chemikal99 is offline
Find More Posts by chemikal99
Registered User
Thanks for the suggestions and replies guys. I'm still awaiting for the Syma 107S to show up to my door step and I ordered it 3 weeks ago.

I caved and ordered myself the Nine Eagles Pro Solo II. To get longer flight times I have 3 extra batteries and wall charger.
Old Mar 29, 2010, 08:21 PM
killbucket is offline
Find More Posts by killbucket
I'm FAMOUS
Yep, the top-secret 'extra copter for more fly-time mod".


If I have two identical birds, I can pretend it's the same helicopter with 2x runtime, right?
Old Mar 30, 2010, 01:50 PM
rt450 is offline
Find More Posts by rt450
Registered User
Hey killbucket, I love your way of thinking man. Where are you getting your s107's?
Old Mar 30, 2010, 07:03 PM
killbucket is offline
Find More Posts by killbucket
I'm FAMOUS
where I got the last trio from.

There's really no reason to 'upgrade' the S107's battery. It flies a nice long time, and by then, you know it's time to cool the drive motors.
Old Mar 30, 2010, 08:59 PM
Devil1 is offline
Find More Posts by Devil1
Registered User
Devil1's Avatar
My Syma's battery was toast after 25 or so flights. So what did I do? Oh I just happened to have a broken set of skids with battery holder from my Solo Pro I. So I cut all the excess off of them and epoxied it to the bottom of the Syma and cut off the old battery and connected the wires from the battery holder. So now I have a more powerfull batter still 3.7v and I can use multiple batteries. And man does she move NOW!
Old Mar 30, 2010, 11:33 PM
Sir Raleigh is offline
Find More Posts by Sir Raleigh
Registered User
Devil1, does the stock battery on the S107 have a charging PC board attached to it, or can you replace it with a battery that doesn't have the PC board?

Bill
Old Mar 31, 2010, 01:31 AM
Devil1 is offline
Find More Posts by Devil1
Registered User
Devil1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sir Raleigh View Post
Devil1, does the stock battery on the S107 have a charging PC board attached to it, or can you replace it with a battery that doesn't have the PC board?

Bill
Bill it does not have a charging board. Even with my battery upgrade I can still USB charge it. Although I don't think it gets a good full charge. I either use my solo pro TX or the wall charger. I'm going to snap some crappy pics and a video of it tonight.
Brandon
Old Mar 31, 2010, 01:07 PM
Sir Raleigh is offline
Find More Posts by Sir Raleigh
Registered User
Thanks Brandon.

How do you use your Solo Pro TX? I have one for my Revell Proto CX which is made by Nine Eagles. Maybe I can use it since it seems to charge my Proto batteries all the way up.

Also, you didn't mention charging with the remote (TX). How well does that work?

Bill
Old Mar 31, 2010, 01:14 PM
rt450 is offline
Find More Posts by rt450
Registered User
Thnx killbucket. I need a yellow one now. The red one's getting lonely.
Old Mar 31, 2010, 01:36 PM
Sir Raleigh is offline
Find More Posts by Sir Raleigh
Registered User
Just finished ordering 2 of the S107's requesting they deliver twins...

Bill


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Syma s107 Helicopter jlcamp7 Coaxial Helicopters 13783 Nov 08, 2016 12:15 PM
Discussion V-max .vs. Falcon-X .vs. Syma 3 S107? 7immy Mini Helis 12 Apr 07, 2011 05:11 PM
Discussion SanHuan 6023 or Syma S107 ? Tuc Coaxial Helicopters 20 Mar 21, 2010 10:15 AM
Discussion battery upgrade.. rele Batteries and Chargers 4 Jan 20, 2010 04:51 PM