Lumenier RB2205C-12 2400KV SKITZO Ceramic Bearing Motor
Thread Tools
Old Jan 29, 2010, 07:31 PM
GoForBlackSky is offline
Find More Posts by GoForBlackSky
Registered User
GoForBlackSky's Avatar
Discussion

Hold down shutter button to take non stop photos.


Hello Everyone,

Please forgive the vague title.

I'm looking to upgrade from my Nikon 7900 to a NEW camera, but the new camera must take continuous photos while holding down the button. The cameras I've tried in the store do not take continuous photos in Sports mode. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks so much,

GoForBlackSky
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 29, 2010, 07:42 PM
quailbird is offline
Find More Posts by quailbird
Registered User
quailbird's Avatar
Some of the Fuji's do and some of the Casios do. I'm sure some one will jump in here that has some great cameras like the Pentax and Canons and so on. You'll get an answer pretty quick. Hey, it's good to see you posting again even if it's just a question!
Old Jan 29, 2010, 07:51 PM
GoForBlackSky is offline
Find More Posts by GoForBlackSky
Registered User
GoForBlackSky's Avatar
Thanks Quailbird, I see you're still hanging around here. Still preaching?

Keep looking up.
Old Jan 30, 2010, 10:19 AM
quailbird is offline
Find More Posts by quailbird
Registered User
quailbird's Avatar
Yes! Going into my 36th year!
Old Jan 30, 2010, 10:58 AM
kenai is offline
Find More Posts by kenai
Registered User
kenai's Avatar
I have used 3 different casio's over the past two years. They all had continous mode. I use a Casio Exilm 8.1 mp camera right now. I just put an elastic over the the shutter button. I aim the camera at the sky and try and get a 1/250 to 1/400 shutter speed before letting the elastic over the shutter button. I usually get about 30-40 shots per minute and maybe 1 out of every 3 is decent quality.

I am not an expert in this area but this is what works for me.

Kenai
Old Jan 30, 2010, 02:10 PM
RC Man is offline
Find More Posts by RC Man
A man with too many toys
Due any cameras have remote control where I could activate the camera from a switch or relay using the radio?
Old Jan 30, 2010, 02:35 PM
Lomcevac is offline
Find More Posts by Lomcevac
Worn-out the seat of my pants
Lomcevac's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by RC Man View Post
Due any cameras have remote control where I could activate the camera from a switch or relay using the radio?
Many Canons can be hacked using CHDK or there are quite a few remote switches out there like the Prism.

I just wire-in a simple RC relay.

Ad
Old Jan 30, 2010, 03:36 PM
Gary Mortimer is online now
Find More Posts by Gary Mortimer
Gaftopher
Gary Mortimer's Avatar
I have been using a James Gentles IR switch for my Optios and have just started with CHDK, and a Canon IXUS100 very impressed so far, getting the camera to close after the run is great. I used to just keep flying till the camera battery went flat.
Old Feb 03, 2010, 07:32 PM
harrys one is offline
Find More Posts by harrys one
Registered User
Hi Gary, I have been using Optios and fly-soft IR switches for 3 years. I have a great S10 right now and can't complain. However I need a backup/replacement camera of similar weight (Pentax seems to have stopped puting IR functions on their new Optios & 2nd hand Optios have been dodgey purchases). Are you using Gentle's CHDK controller for the Canon IXUS100?

H
Old Feb 03, 2010, 11:40 PM
Block is offline
Find More Posts by Block
Registered User
I think all cameras have a continuous mode nowadays. I simply put a thick rubber band around my EZ Star and camera with some wood taped to the shutter button to rase it up a bit. The band goes over (on top of) the wood and tape.

The camera is attached to a piece of basswood via the tripod mount/threads. The wood is held to the plane via rubber bands. I then put the rubber band around the plane and camera's shutter, and a few more around the camera and plane elsewhere for safety. Shoot continuous and you get what you get. Often picture in the "boring" direction end up be very interesting because you know a lake is in the "exciting" direction, but you'll be surprised what's elsewhere.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Suggestion Giving non-moderators the chance to stop spammers Julez Site Suggestions / Complaints 1 Sep 16, 2009 02:07 PM
Question How Do You Push the Shutter Button? Chatenever Aerial Photography 3 May 18, 2006 07:24 PM
Custom Optic 6 Shutter Button? jimsky Aerial Photography 3 Oct 04, 2005 09:15 AM
Yippee! Hitec Optic-6 Transmitter Shutter Button Dampy Aerial Photography 3 Nov 27, 2004 02:26 PM
Alert Using servo for shutter button press? kickflipkid687 Aerial Photography 16 Aug 24, 2004 11:02 PM