Thread Tools
Old Dec 21, 2012, 10:05 AM
u2builder is online now
Find More Posts by u2builder
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar

Where to find driver for Upgrade USB?


I dunno. This stuff is always a stuggle. First the power goes out. So now working on the laptop watching the battery go down.

The update USB can't locate a driver. Of course. Where do I get the driver? Is it the XP driver from the Frsky site or something else?

Any help much appreciated.

OK, found the driver. Power back on. Ready for the next step.
Last edited by u2builder; Dec 21, 2012 at 11:28 AM. Reason: Found driver
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 21, 2012, 12:10 PM
u2builder is online now
Find More Posts by u2builder
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
OK, next problem.

I run the Update program. My USB is on Com Port 6 so I select that.

Then I open the FRK file.

I do not get the UID number. Where it is supposed to show up I get: Com Port 6 and the location of where I have the FRK file.

When I hit download there is no indication of anything happening.

I have tried many times.

Any suggestions?
Old Dec 21, 2012, 12:20 PM
renatoa is offline
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
No UId could mean:
- Rx not powered - beware, when in update mode no LED lit, so it's difficult to diagnose this
- Rx not in update mode - are ch 7-8 signal pins jumpered ? surely you didn't shorted the ground pins ? no LED lit should tell you are in update mode
- rx-tx reversed - check them again

If no UID, don't hit download.
Old Dec 21, 2012, 12:59 PM
u2builder is online now
Find More Posts by u2builder
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar

It worked, with Renatoa's help!


Quote:
Originally Posted by renatoa View Post
No UId could mean:
- Rx not powered - beware, when in update mode no LED lit, so it's difficult to diagnose this
- Rx not in update mode - are ch 7-8 signal pins jumpered ? surely you didn't shorted the ground pins ? no LED lit should tell you are in update mode
- rx-tx reversed - check them again
If no UID, don't hit download.
What an idot I am. I did reverse the Tx and Rx wires. I actually had them correct, and "double checked" and thought they were wrong so I changed them.

It reflashed just perfectly. Now to try to see if I can get the DAC working.

Thanks, thanks, thanks!!!!!
Old Dec 21, 2012, 01:34 PM
u2builder is online now
Find More Posts by u2builder
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar

DAC seems to be working!


Very exciting. I attached the DAC to the D8R-XP, bound it to the TX, and the little LED showed full signal. Then I set the RX to range test. It still showed full signal so I moved the TX to another room. The module in the TX beeped and the RSSI led on the DAC moved to its center.

So now I guess I need to hook it up to one of my OSD's. I have a Skylark and an ET. I think I will try the Skylark. I expect that to be the biggest struggle.

I have another DAC on order from Magi, but it will be a while before it gets here.
Old Dec 21, 2012, 04:12 PM
rcroadtrain is offline
Find More Posts by rcroadtrain
Registered User
rcroadtrain's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by u2builder View Post
Good plan, though "misery would love company".

The "flash" update we are supposed to use I believe is a special one specifically for the DAC and provided by Magi.

Roadtrain, what OSD do you have. I suspect once I get the DAC installed I'll have some hurdles to get through figuring out how to get the signal from the DAC to my OSD.
Is the update file the same one as on the frisky site? (if not, then may I have the link please?)

I'm using G-Osd, but I'm going to pull that off and put on a Black Stork2 unit I bought off another member of RCG.. It doesn't seem to have input for RSSI....

..if I use the Rx DAC, then where (how) do I plug in the FrSky telemetry hub?
Last edited by rcroadtrain; Dec 21, 2012 at 04:17 PM.
Old Dec 21, 2012, 04:47 PM
u2builder is online now
Find More Posts by u2builder
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
Quote:
Is the update file the same one as on the frisky site? (if not, then may I have the link please?)
The file is different. Get it from Magi website right below the red text below the picture:

http://www.rc-miskolc.emiter.hu/rc-m...124&Itemid=122

I don't know anything about the telemetry hub, but DAC plugs into the side of the RX and blocks all the ports so you may be out of luck on that.

I've got it all wired up but haven't tried see if it shows up on my OSD and/or calibrated it. But according to the LEDs on the DAC it definitely shows lower RSSI if I reduce the signal on my TX. Hopefully tomorrow I can see what shows up in the Goggles. Fingers crossed.
Old Dec 21, 2012, 04:52 PM
renatoa is offline
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
Why you say is different ?
Is the same as from Frsky site, fdd_rx_rev2_cppm_build110314.frk...
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:05 PM
u2builder is online now
Find More Posts by u2builder
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by renatoa View Post
Why you say is different ?
Is the same as from Frsky site, fdd_rx_rev2_cppm_build110314.frk...
I guess my comment was mistaken. Mr. Istvan sent me an attachment of the file he said to use. I just assumed incorrectly it was not available at Frsky site. It is the same as you show from the Frsky site. Sorry about the confusion. It has been a long day. But a good result
Old Dec 21, 2012, 05:28 PM
davecrash is offline
Find More Posts by davecrash
Fly now crash later
davecrash's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by u2builder View Post
Very exciting. I attached the DAC to the D8R-XP, bound it to the TX, and the little LED showed full signal. Then I set the RX to range test. It still showed full signal so I moved the TX to another room. The module in the TX beeped and the RSSI led on the DAC moved to its center.

So now I guess I need to hook it up to one of my OSD's. I have a Skylark and an ET. I think I will try the Skylark. I expect that to be the biggest struggle.

I have another DAC on order from Magi, but it will be a while before it gets here.
My DAC is on order and i am using a Skylark Tiny II, I know whom to ask if it doesn't work. lol
Old Dec 22, 2012, 02:54 PM
u2builder is online now
Find More Posts by u2builder
Registered User
u2builder's Avatar
Well, since a few folks are getting the RSSI-DAC, I am happy to be able to report that the it works beautifully with my Skylark Tiny III OSD. I just plugged the wire from the DAC into the Skylark RSSI pin and it worked. I am unable to "calibrate" it because the Skylark software does not work on my computer, but it read about 4.1 on the OSD with full signal and I think 2.2 when I pushed the reduced power button on the TX and took it in the other room. I think I was getting one beep at that point. I'll do a better range check outdoors sometime to correlate the RSSI signal with "beeps" and distance.
Old Dec 22, 2012, 04:23 PM
davecrash is offline
Find More Posts by davecrash
Fly now crash later
davecrash's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by u2builder View Post
Well, since a few folks are getting the RSSI-DAC, I am happy to be able to report that the it works beautifully with my Skylark Tiny III OSD. I just plugged the wire from the DAC into the Skylark RSSI pin and it worked. I am unable to "calibrate" it because the Skylark software does not work on my computer, but it read about 4.1 on the OSD with full signal and I think 2.2 when I pushed the reduced power button on the TX and took it in the other room. I think I was getting one beep at that point. I'll do a better range check outdoors sometime to correlate the RSSI signal with "beeps" and distance.
I was unable to get it to work on my laptop but the desktop worked fine. Both are running XP but the USB on the laptop is less then 5V. I think that may have something to do with it.
Old Dec 22, 2012, 08:29 PM
SupraGo is offline
Find More Posts by SupraGo
Registered User
SupraGo's Avatar
Try using a powered USB hub.
Bill
Old Dec 23, 2012, 10:49 AM
Terry Rigden is offline
Find More Posts by Terry Rigden
Registered User
Terry Rigden's Avatar

Frsky and digital servos


I've read various posts talking about issues with digital servos is this a general problem or just with specific mixes of equipment. I'm using the old V8 series with analogue servos at the moment and am wondering if I'm likely to hit problems if I switch to digital servos.

Thanks

Terry
Old Dec 23, 2012, 10:51 AM
goldsworthy is offline
Find More Posts by goldsworthy
Suspended Account
Why is everyone "updateing"? All the rx and tx stuff I baught 2 months ago work ok. If it works dont mess with it!


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-Review The video for FrSky 2.4Ghz Chase Wu Radios 0 Dec 16, 2009 02:18 AM
Discussion Realflight G5 Combat so far so good! splitpilot Simulators 0 Nov 22, 2009 07:36 AM
Discussion So far... So good rikks Mini Helis 35 Feb 17, 2006 01:42 PM
Aerofly Deluxe so far so good! Gary Morris Simulators 5 Aug 19, 2005 08:23 AM
Schulze 18.46K v7.02 - so far, so good! Jason M Electric Heli Talk 4 Aug 11, 2002 02:25 AM