Thread Tools
Old Dec 01, 2012, 04:13 PM
WiseDuck is offline
Find More Posts by WiseDuck
Mmmmmmm!
WiseDuck's Avatar
Mine is already set to that and has been from the very start. As far as I know, the module beeps once when it finds the receiver, then you can see the signal strength and whatnot on the LCD.

Ah well, I'm gonna have to remove the receiver and put a different one on this quad I think.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 02, 2012, 03:24 PM
davecrash is offline
Find More Posts by davecrash
Fly now crash later
davecrash's Avatar
After some more reading I think I'm going to get one of these. It would be awesome if we could get RSSI out of channel 7 for FPV. Just saying incase the powers that be are listening for future upgrades. I have been reading about a diy unit but don't see it anywhere. Was this discontinued. I have a diy Assan in a 7CAP that wasn't moduler. Otherwise I may just wait for the new 9x to come out.
Old Dec 02, 2012, 05:35 PM
PyroMan is offline
Find More Posts by PyroMan
Registered User
PyroMan's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rotozuk View Post
What are your aircraft worth?

FrSky telemetry is the best bang for the buck when you consider how reliable the system has proven to be in the real world.

I have not had a single glitch or failsafe event since converting. This is IMPORTANT to me as some of my planes are large enough and fast enough to be lethal, I'm not willing to take the chance with inferior radio systems.

-Wayne

p.s. I'm biased as I do sell FrSky, but I switched over to the system long before I considered selling it.
My aircraft aren't always worth much. I do a lot of scratchbuilt foamies so the majority of my planes only cost like $5 max for the airframe. I do have a few nicer planes that have JR rx's in them, but other than that I use the cheap corona rx's that I think are something like $10 if I remember right and a few other brands that I've got for cheap in the FS/W threads.

I should've asked this earlier . . .. Are the only receivers that FrSky receivers the only brand of receiver that the FrSky modules are compatible with?
Old Dec 02, 2012, 06:05 PM
Daedalus66 is online now
Find More Posts by Daedalus66
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by PyroMan View Post
Are FrSky receivers the only brand of receiver that the FrSky modules are compatible with?
Yes.
Old Dec 02, 2012, 06:10 PM
Daedalus66 is online now
Find More Posts by Daedalus66
60 years of RC flying
Daedalus66's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by WiseDuck View Post
I always use PCM, never tinkered with the settings on my transmitter. I will use PCM on my 4ch receiver, I use PCM on the rest.
I think you must mean PPM, as 2.4 modules simply don't work with PCM.
Old Dec 02, 2012, 07:20 PM
scott page is offline
Find More Posts by scott page
Registered User
scott page's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by PyroMan View Post
My aircraft aren't always worth much. I do a lot of scratchbuilt foamies so the majority of my planes only cost like $5 max for the airframe. I do have a few nicer planes that have JR rx's in them, but other than that I use the cheap corona rx's that I think are something like $10 if I remember right and a few other brands that I've got for cheap in the FS/W threads.

I should've asked this earlier . . .. Are the only receivers that FrSky receivers the only brand of receiver that the FrSky modules are compatible with?
If it's not a FrSKY module you want - and your only priority it cheap receivers run from a module that fits the JR module bay then you want to use FLYsky. This will work well with some very inexpensive receivers.

3 channel for $6 http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...eiver_3Ch.html

6 channel for $9 http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...er_6Ch_V2.html
or http://www.hobbypartz.com/79p-r6b-receiver.html

8 channel for $9 http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...eiver_V2_.html
or
http://www.hobbypartz.com/79p-r8b-receiver.html


The only trick will be to find the FLYsky module. Hobby King doesn't have them (that I can find) and leadershobby doesn't have them (that can find).


Lots of guys that bought the Flysky 9x have the modules because they have replaced them with FrSKY modules... so you can probably find one virtually unused for little money. The problem with the turnigy9x -- which is the same radio -- is that they had those modules hard wired into the unit so cutting the antenna coax was necessary to remove the module.. rendering the module useless to most folks.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Old OpenTX and Taranis Videos
Old Dec 02, 2012, 09:39 PM
PyroMan is offline
Find More Posts by PyroMan
Registered User
PyroMan's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by scott page View Post
If it's not a FrSKY module you want - and your only priority it cheap receivers run from a module that fits the JR module bay then you want to use FLYsky. This will work well with some very inexpensive receivers.

3 channel for $6 http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...eiver_3Ch.html

6 channel for $9 http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...er_6Ch_V2.html
or http://www.hobbypartz.com/79p-r6b-receiver.html

8 channel for $9 http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...eiver_V2_.html
or
http://www.hobbypartz.com/79p-r8b-receiver.html


The only trick will be to find the FLYsky module. Hobby King doesn't have them (that I can find) and leadershobby doesn't have them (that can find).


Lots of guys that bought the Flysky 9x have the modules because they have replaced them with FrSKY modules... so you can probably find one virtually unused for little money. The problem with the turnigy9x -- which is the same radio -- is that they had those modules hard wired into the unit so cutting the antenna coax was necessary to remove the module.. rendering the module useless to most folks.
Awesome, thanks for the info. I think one of these days I will get a spektrum module as I would like to have access to the Spektrum Bricks. . . but that's a while down the road. . . .

Anyway, is this a flysky module like you're talking about? http://www.ebay.com/itm/FS-TH9X-B-Mo...item3f08818782

That's about $21
Old Dec 02, 2012, 09:54 PM
KC is offline
KC
Find More Posts by KC
KC
Registered Loiterer.
KC's Avatar
Yes. That's the one. You could also ckeck out the Radio FS classifieds for modded Flysky modules as well. The Rx's also go up for sale often.
Old Dec 02, 2012, 11:21 PM
scott page is offline
Find More Posts by scott page
Registered User
scott page's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by PyroMan View Post
Awesome, thanks for the info. I think one of these days I will get a spektrum module as I would like to have access to the Spektrum Bricks. . . but that's a while down the road. . . .

Anyway, is this a flysky module like you're talking about? http://www.ebay.com/itm/FS-TH9X-B-Mo...item3f08818782

That's about $21
I'll confirm.. that's the correct module.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Old OpenTX and Taranis Videos
Old Dec 03, 2012, 12:34 AM
rcroadtrain is offline
Find More Posts by rcroadtrain
Registered User
rcroadtrain's Avatar
just found this thread, apologies for asking questions that have (probably) already been answered..

Ok, I'm about to upgrade my 9x to FrSky..
ordered the bits from HKing, the telemetry module, 8ch telemetry RX etc...

Im flying a quad, (Naza, escs only, no servos..) do I select FS or HS mode?
and,
How do I get RSSI out of this receiver?

the blurb with the D8R-II mentions 'upgrade'... ??

Thanks!!
Old Dec 03, 2012, 06:51 AM
IceWind is online now
Find More Posts by IceWind
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
Yep, you'll need to flash it to have the RSSI out.
If you want to have RSSI without hassle just get a D4R-II RX and all it takes it to put a jumper between two pins.
Old Dec 03, 2012, 06:55 AM
Kilrah is online now
Find More Posts by Kilrah
Happy FPV flyer
Kilrah's Avatar
Or D8R-XP.

BTW all 3 should be reflashed with the new firmware if used in RSSI+CPPM mode anyway.
Old Dec 03, 2012, 07:07 AM
IceWind is online now
Find More Posts by IceWind
throw new IOPilotException();
IceWind's Avatar
All 3? You mean the D4R-II RX as well?
Old Dec 03, 2012, 07:08 AM
renatoa is online now
Find More Posts by renatoa
Registered User
Yes, even D4R-II, because in CPPM mode it outputs 8 channels and can be plagued by 18ms issue, IF using more than 6 channels.
Old Dec 03, 2012, 07:23 AM
rcroadtrain is offline
Find More Posts by rcroadtrain
Registered User
rcroadtrain's Avatar
isnt the D4R-II a 4ch unit?
the one I got is the D8R-II plus.. I need 7channels for my quad..or at least 6...
flashed with new firmware? hmm....

from what Im reading, my Rx should already have been upgraded...

What bits do I need for any future upgrades?
Im looking in HKing's site, and Im seeing a FrSky USB cable, and a Telemetry Reciever upgrade USB/Serial lead interface ..do I need both?


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini-Review The video for FrSky 2.4Ghz Chase Wu Radios 0 Dec 16, 2009 02:18 AM
Discussion Realflight G5 Combat so far so good! splitpilot Simulators 0 Nov 22, 2009 07:36 AM
Discussion So far... So good rikks Mini Helis 35 Feb 17, 2006 01:42 PM
Aerofly Deluxe so far so good! Gary Morris Simulators 5 Aug 19, 2005 08:23 AM
Schulze 18.46K v7.02 - so far, so good! Jason M Electric Heli Talk 4 Aug 11, 2002 02:25 AM