Lumenier RB2205C-12 2400KV SKITZO Ceramic Bearing Motor
Thread Tools
Old Dec 24, 2012, 07:56 AM
everydayflyer is offline
Find More Posts by everydayflyer
Southern Pride
everydayflyer's Avatar
Also listed in the User's Guide both on-line and in the installed CCS software and if one owns a PL charger it is listed right on the charger itself.

Why it is so difficult to read the is one of life's real mysteries.

FMA even goes the extra mile and pays a professionl tech writer so thier manual are easier to understand.

Charles
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 24, 2012, 09:08 AM
klhoard is offline
Find More Posts by klhoard
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by everydayflyer View Post
Also listed in the User's Guide both on-line and in the installed CCS software and if one owns a PL charger it is listed right on the charger itself.

Why it is so difficult to read the is one of life's real mysteries.

FMA even goes the extra mile and pays a professionl tech writer so thier manual are easier to understand.

Charles
.
Who knows, it could have changed?
.
Old Dec 24, 2012, 09:33 AM
sportpak is offline
Find More Posts by sportpak
Registered User
New generation not into details.
Old Dec 24, 2012, 02:12 PM
JimHSoars is offline
Find More Posts by JimHSoars
Registered User

Re: PL8 Maximum Input Voltage


To all of you who are so impatient with me for asking about the PL 8's maximum input voltage:

I scoured my copy of the PL8 manual including searching on 'power source', 'input voltage', 'input power' and a 2 or 3 more. I did not find hide nor hair of the information. I just checked and found I have the 10-1-2010 version of the manual (for version 2 firmware and software) on my hard drive. Look, it's not there!

I just looked at the current version, 8-22-11, of the PL8 manual and found the information on page 80, the specifications page. There is no specification list at all in the older version of the manual.

- Jim
Old Dec 24, 2012, 03:01 PM
Manta1 is offline
Find More Posts by Manta1
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
So,would 28 volts input be ok for this charger?
Bunch of meanies.
Old Dec 25, 2012, 12:55 AM
klhoard is offline
Find More Posts by klhoard
Registered User
.
Its also printed right next to where the input wires enter the box . . .
.
Old Dec 25, 2012, 10:16 AM
Manta1 is offline
Find More Posts by Manta1
OOPS
Manta1's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by mrforsyth View Post
From first post of this thread:

"Input voltage: 10-32VDC, reverse polarity protected"
really,this is all the fellow was askin for. minus all the slammin. Maybe he missed the first post. theres only like over 5000 posts in the thread. lol.
Old Dec 26, 2012, 12:14 AM
keithy4129 is offline
Find More Posts by keithy4129
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Manta1 View Post
really,this is all the fellow was askin for. minus all the slammin. Maybe he missed the first post. theres only like over 5000 posts in the thread. lol.
Exactly, that will deter people from asking questions, we were all noobs once.
Old Dec 26, 2012, 08:52 PM
RedSky is offline
Find More Posts by RedSky
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimHSoars View Post
To all of you who are so impatient with me for asking about the PL 8's maximum input voltage:

I scoured my copy of the PL8 manual including searching on 'power source', 'input voltage', 'input power' and a 2 or 3 more. I did not find hide nor hair of the information. I just checked and found I have the 10-1-2010 version of the manual (for version 2 firmware and software) on my hard drive. Look, it's not there!

I just looked at the current version, 8-22-11, of the PL8 manual and found the information on page 80, the specifications page. There is no specification list at all in the older version of the manual.

- Jim
Don't be mad Jim - Charles is correct that it's written on the charger and at least on my copy of the manual the info's near the top of page 80 - but I agree that he needs to lighten up a bit. A good NYE party should fix it.

As he says, it's a very good manual. Initially I found it a bit daunting but that's only because the PL8 is such a capable charger and there's a lot to write about.
Old Dec 27, 2012, 01:18 PM
JimHSoars is offline
Find More Posts by JimHSoars
Registered User
To those of you who continue to tell me I missed the PL8's maximum input voltage on page 80 of the maunal please see my post above, look at the older manual on Revolectric's download page. It's the "Cellpro PowerLab 8 "v2" Manual" above the "rev 3" link.

As for not seeing the obvious maximum input voltage right on the charger, I don't have one yet.

Stop telling everyone reading this thread I'm jerk for not reading the manual or seeing the obvious.

- JIm
Old Dec 27, 2012, 02:44 PM
klhoard is offline
Find More Posts by klhoard
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by JimHSoars View Post
Stop telling everyone reading this thread I'm jerk for not reading the manual or seeing the obvious.

- JIm
.
Lighten up . . .
.
And don't call me Francis . . . .
.
Old Dec 27, 2012, 03:54 PM
keithy4129 is offline
Find More Posts by keithy4129
Registered User
Alright, to change the topic, when i charge single cell lipos, how come the pack voltage reads higher then the cell voltage? The charger seems to go by the voltage on the cells screen.
Old Dec 27, 2012, 04:04 PM
mrforsyth is offline
Find More Posts by mrforsyth
Registered User
Voltage drop in the charge leads.

Better quality chargers will drive current in CC mode until cells are at termination voltage and then transition to CV mode. Cheaper chargers will transition to CV mode when main output is at termination voltage. This 'voltage drop compensation' feature in PowerLabs will result in shorter charge times than lesser chargers even when charging at the same current as they will stay in CC mode for a longer period of time.

I'm a big fan of solid engineering.

Mark
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 28, 2012, 02:55 PM
tsecrist is offline
Find More Posts by tsecrist
Registered User
tsecrist's Avatar

Help!


I have the pl8 and a 28 amp charger. The pl8 has the EC3 plug and I have a EC3 16 gauge wire set with banana plugs from e-filter. Do I need heavier gauge wiring and banana plugs and if so where do I get them? Tim
Old Dec 28, 2012, 02:56 PM
tsecrist is offline
Find More Posts by tsecrist
Registered User
tsecrist's Avatar

Help


That is eflite not efilter. Sorry. Tim


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Sneak Peek! 2, 1:8 scale scratchbuilts ooby Scale Boats 34 May 22, 2015 11:41 PM
Discussion Proposed schemes for 2010 season RAF BAe Hawk display-sneak peek! Matt Halton Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 3 Dec 20, 2009 04:11 AM
Discussion Sneak Peek at the New Creation Museum Miami Mike Life, The Universe, and Politics 38 May 30, 2007 06:01 PM
Hey Mr. Lin, how about a sneak peek at the Hellcat? splatman GWS (Grand Wing Servo) 1 Jul 05, 2003 05:43 AM