Jan 04, 2010, 09:31 PM
Electric Coolhunter
Thread OP
Discussion

AMA safety code rule 4 rewritten: 2010 AMA safety code rule 5

Quote:

5. I will not fly my model aircraft in sanctioned events, air shows, or model demonstrations unless I have previously proven that my aircraft, control system, and piloting skills are adequate by successfully executing all maneuvers intended or anticipated in the specific event. If I am not a proficient pilot, I will not fly in these events unless assisted by an experienced pilot.
I don't have a copy of the old safety code here handy, but it looks like they did rewrite the old version, as the new safety code has the bold parts posted above as bold parts in the new version of the safety code.

Anyone have any comments?

I know of one fly in type event that would like to work out some way to have a build and fly on-site type event for small electric models, if some way could be found to do so......
Latest blog entry: My 2022 event schedule.
to remove ads between posts
Jan 04, 2010, 10:02 PM
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas B
I don't have a copy of the old safety code here handy, but it looks like they did rewrite the old version, as the new safety code has the bold parts posted above as bold parts in the new version of the safety code.

I know of one fly in type event that would like to work out some way to have a build and fly on-site type event for small electric models, if some way could be found to do so......
Either this rule is actually an oath or the guy that wrote it can't fly proficiently sometimes...seriously, most guys think their skills are adequate...sometimes…that part about proficiency will only give people something to argue over...and I am the first… LOL.
Jan 05, 2010, 01:40 AM
BFMAC Founding Member
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thomas B

Make it a non-sanctioned event.
Jan 05, 2010, 04:44 AM
Promoting Model Aviation...