New Products Flash Sale
Thread Tools
Old Jan 01, 2010, 03:53 PM
Sam Harbold is offline
Find More Posts by Sam Harbold
Registered User
Sam Harbold's Avatar
Discussion

4 axis screen for MACH 3


Here are a couple of screen shots of a screenset that I just finished for a 4 axis hot wire cutter.




Here is the link to the screenset.
http://odysseywood.us/profili/CNC%20Foam.zip

Sam
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 01, 2010, 08:59 PM
EDDIEGIGOWATTS is offline
Find More Posts by EDDIEGIGOWATTS
1.21 gigawatts
EDDIEGIGOWATTS's Avatar
you only have one YX airfoil view you need two windows for both YX,s
so you can see both airfoils
?? is this Cnc program for a none taper wing

Eddie
Old Jan 03, 2010, 08:01 AM
dpot is offline
Find More Posts by dpot
Registered User
dpot's Avatar

mach foam cuting


thanks for the screen set for match you are a lot further in to mach than me is there any tutorials that show how to write files for this
Old Jan 03, 2010, 10:32 AM
Sam Harbold is offline
Find More Posts by Sam Harbold
Registered User
Sam Harbold's Avatar
Eddie, MACH software will only allow you to see the XY axis and not the AB. That being said since MACH is only a control interface for the cutter only seeing the XY is not a big draw back. By the time you send your g-code to MACH you should have already run it through a simulation program to be sure your design will cut as you expect.

dpot, There are several programs available to write 4 axis g-code. The program I have been using is Profili Another program that looks very promising is CNCWorkbench which I have just started to work with. There is also LazyCAM which I have not tried yet but does have 2D and 3D foam capabilities.

Here is a link to a program that will convert GMFC cut files to g-code.
http://www.sokoll.net/doku.php/pasti...rsion_software

Sam
Last edited by Sam Harbold; Jan 03, 2010 at 10:36 AM. Reason: Added an additional link
Old Jan 05, 2010, 10:53 AM
dpot is offline
Find More Posts by dpot
Registered User
dpot's Avatar
thanks again SAM i am looking at up dating my profili to professional ver
Old Jan 16, 2010, 07:05 PM
kram242 is offline
Find More Posts by kram242
-+- PhlatBoyz -+-
kram242's Avatar
Sam that looks fantastic! Nice work
Mark
Old Feb 12, 2010, 07:18 PM
Kwok_Yu is offline
Find More Posts by Kwok_Yu
Registered User
Sam, thanks for sharing your screen set. I was looking for a way to visualize the 4 axis hotwire cutting and found your screen set. Worked great. I was answering someone's questions today and got interested if you could manually edit g-code to use in a hotwire cutter. Here a quick video I made featuring your screen set. If you want to check it out: https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show...33&postcount=8

-Kwok
Old Apr 01, 2010, 03:02 PM
GRACEWING is offline
Find More Posts by GRACEWING
Registered User
Sam that is really great 10/10
Garth
Old Mar 03, 2012, 11:01 PM
Doron is offline
Find More Posts by Doron
Registered User

The right tower ( up/down ) does not move for me


any ideas why ? (numbers also do not change in gui for that stepper motor)
Old Mar 03, 2012, 11:08 PM
Doron is offline
Find More Posts by Doron
Registered User
Quote:
Originally Posted by Doron View Post
any ideas why ? (numbers also do not change in gui for that stepper motor)
Never mind. I figured it out.... I need to use X,Y and A,B and not X,Y, Z,A as I did ...
Old Mar 05, 2012, 04:14 PM
Doron is offline
Find More Posts by Doron
Registered User

zero axis


Sending the towers 'home' and zeroing the x,y,a,b does not always work...
At time I was able re-load g-code and sometimes the axis zeros out ok.
Any ideas ?
Old Jan 22, 2013, 07:34 AM
bigjohn is offline
Find More Posts by bigjohn
dare to be dull
bigjohn's Avatar

Mach3 troubleshooting needed


I have downloaded Sam's screen and brought it up in Mach 3, which I am a complete newbie at. My previous experience was with Foamworks, which I was able to set up for my Foamlinx hot wire machine.

So, like I said, I downloaded the 4 wire screen from Sam and got it integrated so Mach 3 starts with it. I then followed the tutorial on youtube about setting up Mach 3 for hot wire cutting. I did take into account that we use XYAB axes with this screen.

I get response on all 4 axes, it's just not quite right. And trolling thru the Mach 3 documentation is tedious to find what I think should be pretty simple answers. So hopefully Sam or someone can help. The problems:

I am using the on screen up/down/left/right arrows to troubleshoot, but also get the same results using hot keys

Both horizontal axes X and A are responding and they move one way with left arrow and one way with right arrow. But the A axis is moving backwards. How do I simply reverse the direction of this axis?


The vertical axes are more puzzling Each have the same problem. Up arrow makes them go up, but down arrow also makes them go up. I must conclude that either I have the wrong direction pin set, or I am not getting the correct direction signal. Obviously, what so I know tho. Does this problem look familiar? What do I need to fix for this to work?

Thanks
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 22, 2013, 04:08 PM
dpot is offline
Find More Posts by dpot
Registered User
dpot's Avatar
try dir lowative just tick
if not are your hot keys setup right



Quote:
Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
I have downloaded Sam's screen and brought it up in Mach 3, which I am a complete newbie at. My previous experience was with Foamworks, which I was able to set up for my Foamlinx hot wire machine.

So, like I said, I downloaded the 4 wire screen from Sam and got it integrated so Mach 3 starts with it. I then followed the tutorial on youtube about setting up Mach 3 for hot wire cutting. I did take into account that we use XYAB axes with this screen.

I get response on all 4 axes, it's just not quite right. And trolling thru the Mach 3 documentation is tedious to find what I think should be pretty simple answers. So hopefully Sam or someone can help. The problems:

I am using the on screen up/down/left/right arrows to troubleshoot, but also get the same results using hot keys

Both horizontal axes X and A are responding and they move one way with left arrow and one way with right arrow. But the A axis is moving backwards. How do I simply reverse the direction of this axis?


The vertical axes are more puzzling Each have the same problem. Up arrow makes them go up, but down arrow also makes them go up. I must conclude that either I have the wrong direction pin set, or I am not getting the correct direction signal. Obviously, what so I know tho. Does this problem look familiar? What do I need to fix for this to work?

Thanks
Old Jan 22, 2013, 06:14 PM
bigjohn is offline
Find More Posts by bigjohn
dare to be dull
bigjohn's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by dpot View Post
try dir lowative just tick
if not are your hot keys setup right
I'm sorry. I do not understand your first sentence.

For the hot keys, they should not affect the on-screen buttons, right? I am getting the problem using the on-screen arrow buttons.
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 23, 2013, 12:41 PM
dpot is offline
Find More Posts by dpot
Registered User
dpot's Avatar
sorry hope this is better

On the "Motor Outputs" screen you can enable and disable the axes. Place a checkmark in the X, Y, & Z "Enable" boxes, and apply the following pins:
X-Step: 3
Y-Step: 5
Z-Step: 7
X-Direction: 2
Y-Direction: 4
Z-Direction: 6
Set the "Step" and "Dir" port as 1. If you want to reverse the directions of any of the axes, place a checkbox in the "Dir Low Active".


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 3 axis Gyrobot 900 wing Connexxion UAV - Unmanned Aerial Vehicles 15 Jul 26, 2011 06:41 AM
New Product InvenSense 3-axis gyro single-chip <$3 rimshotcopter DIY Electronics 17 Sep 25, 2010 11:08 AM
New Product InvenSense 3-axis gyro single-chip <$3 rimshotcopter Coaxial Helicopters 0 Nov 23, 2009 07:20 PM
Discussion Cheapest DIY stepper controller for 3-4 axis? Niggo The Builders Workshop 11 Mar 08, 2007 11:27 AM
Idea Fast 3-axis magnetometer for microflight 3-axis HH-gyro? Nils123 Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 5 May 01, 2006 10:13 AM