Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Dec 19, 2009, 09:26 AM
squishydonut is offline
Find More Posts by squishydonut
Registered User
Discussion

Which USB Adapter for Spektrum DX5E?


I've been reading some of these threads for DX6i but it has left me thoroughly confused... could someone point me in the direction of what to get for the DX5e?
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 19, 2009, 09:32 AM
pmackenzie is online now
Find More Posts by pmackenzie
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Trainer connection for the DX5e is the standard JR one, so for whatever SIM you want just get the USB Dongle with the JR connector.
(IIRC the standard one for Aerofly and Pheonix)

Pat MacKenzie
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 19, 2009, 06:54 PM
squishydonut is offline
Find More Posts by squishydonut
Registered User
Excellent, thank you!
Old Dec 19, 2009, 09:22 PM
onewasp is offline
Find More Posts by onewasp
Registered User
pmackenzie

Ooops !
See my last post on this thread on this same Sim site.

Where to but (means buy) adapter...now?

A little different than we each thought !
Old Dec 19, 2009, 10:05 PM
pmackenzie is online now
Find More Posts by pmackenzie
I don't want to "Switch Now"
pmackenzie's Avatar
Squishy, if you are still following this, it seems like you need an additional adaptor for Phoenix to use the DX5

https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1160441

Link in post #7
RCG Plus Member
Old Jan 03, 2010, 07:52 PM
squishydonut is offline
Find More Posts by squishydonut
Registered User
cool, thanks mackenzie.
Old Jan 06, 2010, 03:28 PM
TheOldGuard is offline
Find More Posts by TheOldGuard
The Addiction has began...
TheOldGuard's Avatar

Radio Shack!!!


Do not know if this has been posted before but I thought I would chime in here at any rate. I purchased the Phoenix Flight Sim for fixed wing aircraft and it was the stand alone software with USB cable to be used with my own DX5e. Well I never read anywhere or seen otherwise that I would need a adapter to get the software to recognize my TX ! Well I went for several weeks trying to find and everywhere is out of stock until Jan 20, 2010 for this adapter . Well on RCGroups.com forum I finally found someone who found an adapter from Radio Shack that DOES work and does NOT short out the DX5e TX ! The RS stereo to mono adapter ($2.69) will work on the DX5e. All you have to do if you are willing is enlarge the hole where it plugs into the TX so that it seats all the way inside to make a proper connection ! So, with this said I am NOW enjoying this awesome flight sim from Phoenix. Now I have not utilized other sims but I would rate this as first rate...JMO! Hopefully someone that is or has been in my dilemma concerning this adapter (which is nothing more than a stereo to mono adapter) hopefully this will help you out!

here is the link... http://www.radioshack.com/product/in...ductId=2062469

Dave
Old Apr 18, 2014, 01:39 PM
Smaugy is offline
Find More Posts by Smaugy
Registered User
Thanks for suggesting the use of the RS adapter + enlarged hole. I did exactly what you described and was able to get my DX5e to work with Phoenix.
Old Aug 22, 2015, 09:11 PM
kurtataltos is offline
Find More Posts by kurtataltos
Registered User
Ok, a dumb question here....IF you can find a Radio Shack (that's still open) or a Fry's or whatever...somehow the adapter needs to migrate to a USB port. How does that happen?
Old Aug 22, 2015, 09:19 PM
kurtataltos is offline
Find More Posts by kurtataltos
Registered User
It doesn't really appear that "a solution" has been found. A couple inane questions:

- The DX5e rear port, the one at the rear, is it stereo on mono?
- Does the "adapter" convert stereo from the xmitter to mono or mono from the xmitter to stereo?
- How does ANY cable with a plug NOT inserted into the DX5e (read: the other end of the cable) get data into the USB port? A USB dongle of some sort is required.

Insights greatly appreciated.
Old Aug 23, 2015, 12:06 AM
kurtataltos is offline
Find More Posts by kurtataltos
Registered User
I tried Frys for a stereo to mono adapter. Not atypical for Frys but they just looked at me with a "what the heck" look.

Most radio shacks are closed. The online site does not have anything listed vaguely worded with adapter/stereo/mono/etc....

So, any ideas/hints ? Do I but a mono cable with connectors, a stereo cable with connectors, rewire/splice and try it? Would that work ???
Old Aug 23, 2015, 03:40 AM
slipstick is offline
Find More Posts by slipstick
Registered User
This discussion was about an adaptor needed for the Phoenix sim, which comes with its own USB "dongle".

If that's not what you're using then your requirements will be different.

Steve


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale Spektrum DX5E tx for sale, ne condition used 4 times RC Accessory Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Nov 19, 2009 12:28 PM
For Sale USB Simulator Cable for - JR Futaba Spektrum boconnor811 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 2 Nov 10, 2009 04:41 PM
For Sale 3 x KO PROPO ICS-951 HI-SPEED 12th Scale servos + ICS USB adapter oh_my_god Cars - Cars and Parts (FS/W) 3 Nov 02, 2009 11:43 AM
Wanted SPEKTRUM DX5e FOR TRAINER Crash N Burn 1 Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 8 Sep 28, 2009 07:14 AM
Wanted Spektrum Neckstrap adapter and USB SIM cable hillbille Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 0 Jul 28, 2009 11:47 PM