Thread Tools
Old Dec 14, 2009, 08:19 PM
GoldCraft is offline
Find More Posts by GoldCraft
Registered User
GoldCraft's Avatar
Discussion

Finally completed my upgraded FPV setup


I finished up my new setup. Goal is to extend my range out to 2 miles. Added a patch setup...one for my video rx and another one for my DX7. Also added a 500mw amp for the DX7 as well.

I bought a metal box at Home Depot to put my ground station in. Now I just need to make me a hood and we will be good to go.

Ground station components

Home Depot Box
Craig 15" 12v TV/monitor (powered by 3s 3k lipo)(votage monitor)
BNC to VGA converter (powered by 4s lipo through a 5v bec)
Aiptec DVR
Patch array on tripod
one 2.4 500mw amp(powered by a 4s lipo thru a 5v bec)
one 2.4 patch
one 900mhz patch
900mhz dual vrx(powered by 3s lipo)

Plane EZ* with AR7000 rx and 900mhz 500mw vtx run on one 3s 2500 lipo.

ordered SimpleOSD XL with GPS

BTW the Craig monitor will run all the way down to 9v so a 3s lipo is fine for it. I also have a dual battery connector on the monitor to facilitate on the fly battery change without monitor loss if needed.
Last edited by GoldCraft; Dec 15, 2009 at 12:59 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 14, 2009, 11:13 PM
Tarro is offline
Find More Posts by Tarro
Suspended Account
Very nice set up, lose the Aiptek it will turn off at the slightest sign of static and you will be lucky to get 1 minute videos from it. Get a Mini DV with an AV in and you will be ready to rock.
Good Luck
Old Dec 14, 2009, 11:26 PM
Martin Y is offline
Find More Posts by Martin Y
400' ..... NOT
Martin Y's Avatar
You may want to seperate your antennas farther apart so you dont swamp your video RX.
Old Dec 14, 2009, 11:30 PM
GoldCraft is offline
Find More Posts by GoldCraft
Registered User
GoldCraft's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tarro View Post
Very nice set up, lose the Aiptek it will turn off at the slightest sign of static and you will be lucky to get 1 minute videos from it. Get a Mini DV with an AV in and you will be ready to rock.
Good Luck
Yeah the Aiptek was cheap...but it has been frustrating at times. As you mentioned..it shuts off and the battery doesnt last very long.

I have ezcap for my laptop and may use it , but thats one more thing to carry along and set up.
Old Dec 14, 2009, 11:34 PM
GoldCraft is offline
Find More Posts by GoldCraft
Registered User
GoldCraft's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Y View Post
You may want to seperate your antennas farther apart so you dont swamp your video RX.
How far....I would like to keep them on the same tripod so I can re-aim during the flights. I could fly without the amp as well. Ill have to see how the testing goes....thought that might be an issue. Ive seem similar setups thats why I went with it.

Other option will be to use the 3dbi omni screwed right into the amp...thats why I put the amp on top.
Last edited by GoldCraft; Dec 14, 2009 at 11:44 PM.
Old Dec 14, 2009, 11:38 PM
Martin Y is offline
Find More Posts by Martin Y
400' ..... NOT
Martin Y's Avatar
Maybe move them one more antenna width apart from where they are now.
Old Dec 14, 2009, 11:51 PM
GoldCraft is offline
Find More Posts by GoldCraft
Registered User
GoldCraft's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Martin Y View Post
Maybe move them one more antenna width apart from where they are now.
Thats doable....Ive got plenty of aluminum stock.

Think I should add some offset as well?
Old Dec 14, 2009, 11:54 PM
Martin Y is offline
Find More Posts by Martin Y
400' ..... NOT
Martin Y's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoldCraft View Post
Thats doable....Ive got plenty of aluminum stock.
That will work, you just don't want to overload your rx input.
Old Dec 15, 2009, 04:35 AM
Blue Chip is offline
Find More Posts by Blue Chip
Honey Badger
Blue Chip's Avatar
1 wavelength (center to center) distance apart is what Thomas reccommends... in the case of 900mhz that means 13" of separation.

See this thread. https://www.rcgroups.com/forums/show....php?t=1156934

I'm going to take your idea and mount my patches the same way - only allow for some horizontal aim adjustments between the two...
Old Dec 15, 2009, 09:26 AM
Fearless Dan is offline
Find More Posts by Fearless Dan
Hello Boys, I'm Back!!!
Fearless Dan's Avatar
[QUOTE=GoldCraft;13822700]I finished up my new setup. Goal is to extend my range out to 2 miles. Added a patch setup...one for my video rx and another one for my DX7.
Quote:
Also added a 500mw amp for the DX7 as well.

Where did you pick up the 2.4mhz amp? It looks like an ArgTek unit but I was curious what vendor you purchased it from?

Very nice job putting your ground station together.
Old Dec 15, 2009, 09:35 AM
zhaokyosho is offline
Find More Posts by zhaokyosho
Registered User
unfortunately i must tell you your dx6 will interference the video TX, it can't fly to 2 miles. my system is JR DSX7 and 1.2G 1W video TX, when i turn on video tx servo will shake
Old Dec 15, 2009, 09:58 AM
Martin Y is offline
Find More Posts by Martin Y
400' ..... NOT
Martin Y's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by zhaokyosho View Post
unfortunately i must tell you your dx6 will interference the video TX, it can't fly to 2 miles. my system is JR DSX7 and 1.2G 1W video TX, when i turn on video tx servo will shake
Thats more like your video tx is interfering with your planes rx and servos. You will have more problems with a 1 W near your electronics than a 500mw version.
Old Dec 15, 2009, 10:02 AM
Blue Chip is offline
Find More Posts by Blue Chip
Honey Badger
Blue Chip's Avatar
Time out.

Are you running an omni as well? You say that you have dual 900mhz video rx's.... is this through any kind of diversity?
Old Dec 15, 2009, 10:20 AM
GoldCraft is offline
Find More Posts by GoldCraft
Registered User
GoldCraft's Avatar
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue Chip View Post
Time out.

Are you running an omni as well? You say that you have dual 900mhz video rx's.... is this through any kind of diversity?
Sorry...should read 1 dual av output vrx.

The omni would be for the 2.4 rc tx and would be used instead of the patch if I chose to use it.

Hope that clarifies the setup a little better.

Now I will probably add a diversity setup at some point....where will it ever end
Old Dec 15, 2009, 12:28 PM
skunkworks2006 is offline
Find More Posts by skunkworks2006
Registered User
skunkworks2006's Avatar
Looks nice. Good job.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion My plans for my first FPV setup. Any thoughts? kyle7119 FPV Talk 20 Oct 19, 2009 06:34 PM
Discussion My new FPV setup Kepler FPV Talk 12 Feb 07, 2009 11:26 PM
Yippee! My video helmet viewfinder project is finally completed. randall1959 Aerial Photography 43 Apr 20, 2005 01:46 PM
Finally completed my MiniFlash Sloper Mario Parkflyers 14 May 26, 2003 06:01 PM