Dec 06, 2009, 06:03 PM
Thread OP
Build Log

PSS R4 Firecracker, Lancair and Tucano and Vortec's Zero Build-a-thon,

Actually it's going to be a Major How-to!

Props first: Carl Maas Sr did the Firecracker, TFLG (That Freeking Laird Guy, Brian Laird) and Carl Maas Jr did the Tucano. The Lancair is a product done by ISRDAN himself. Dan is currently making the kits and can be reached at flybyu@dslextreme.com.

I've been asked by several to do a build thread. It's usually not my thing to do build threads because I'm a slow builder but many people over the past year have asked me how do I get things like a "short kit" built with little or no instructions. Since our slope season is pretty much over, I've decided to go ahead and build a couple, 4 actually, PSS models over the winter and document them here on RCG. I find it easier to build things as groups and think it saves time overall. That said, I'll build all of the tail feathers first, fill in the fuses with filler and spray them in primer and sheet all of the wings together. This means I only have to clean the spray gun once, pull out the vacuum bag stuff once etc.

There are others that have gone before me and done an outstanding job and in no way will this thread take away anything they've done. I don't claim to know everything. Maybe I can add something to the knowledge base.