Shop our Airplanes Products Drone Products Sales
Thread Tools
Old Dec 01, 2009, 06:45 PM
ATIS is offline
Find More Posts by ATIS
Member 120mph Club
ATIS's Avatar
Discussion

Did I forget anything??


My Bday is the 6th and the wife and family are bugging me for my "list" for my Bday and Christmas...as always its tied to RC. I figure this is the perfect time to start piecing together my FPV gear. So what did I forget?? Anything that 'sucks" that I should change?

Here is my list:

900 mhz Duel output Video RX ….. $70 www.rangevideo.com
KX191 camera…..$105 www.rangevideo.com
900mhz antenna (#ANTHWD-900) ….$11 www.dpcav.com
Elogger V3 (ETS-MPRV3-CONN-100)….$70 www.dpcav.com
Elogger Video OSD Pro Expander Module…$80 www.dpcav.com
ELogger Airpseed Microsensor….$45 www.dpcav.com
Elogger Altitude Microsensor…$40 www.dpcav.com
Elogger GPS V3 expander module….$145 www.dpcav.com
Headplay video goggles….$350 www.futurehobbies.com
900MHz Pro-Series A/V Transmitter, 500mW…$130 www.dpcav.com
Last edited by ATIS; Dec 01, 2009 at 07:11 PM.
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 01, 2009, 07:40 PM
cmulder is offline
Find More Posts by cmulder
Registered User
yes
Old Dec 01, 2009, 07:46 PM
ATIS is offline
Find More Posts by ATIS
Member 120mph Club
ATIS's Avatar
ok, what did I forget or what sucks...

I fly with 12 other guys and we all fly on 2.4 so 900 is a must for video....
Old Dec 01, 2009, 08:30 PM
galaxiex is offline
Find More Posts by galaxiex
my karma ranover my dogma
galaxiex's Avatar
Got something to record your crashes....uhhhh ..... I mean.... record your flights with?

(Ya know we all love a good crash video....)
Old Dec 01, 2009, 08:30 PM
Daemon is online now
Find More Posts by Daemon
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
The single output 900Mhz Rx is better than the dual.
The dual output one has an annoying audio hiss (I've owned two of
them and they both had it, while the singles don't). Also you have to select the
channel every time you re-power it, which sounds simple enough
but if it just glitches when you bump the power cord it can
be really annoying, especially if you're already in the air.

I'd subtract some of that other unnecessary electronics clutter, and add
an 8dB patch antenna.

ian
Old Dec 01, 2009, 08:35 PM
ATIS is offline
Find More Posts by ATIS
Member 120mph Club
ATIS's Avatar
I have a HD video camera that I can use....

I was staying away from the patch antenna for the first few flights since I really cant go more then 1/2 mile from my launch point... I fly within 2 miles of an airport. They dont have an issue with us flyinbg because we are good about dropping to 20 feet and flying a race track circuit till the planes clear....its a small airport and its cessna's we duck.

I went with the duel since I want to be able to feed the image to the SOny HD camera and the goggles. Is it better to just use a splitter? I heard it wasnt but I have no experience in this area so I am open to suggestions.

I plan to use the Radain as my platform.
Old Dec 01, 2009, 08:40 PM
Daemon is online now
Find More Posts by Daemon
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Given a choice between a cheap splitter that works, and
an expensive Rx with a known annoying flaw.. well...

ian
Old Dec 01, 2009, 08:44 PM
ATIS is offline
Find More Posts by ATIS
Member 120mph Club
ATIS's Avatar
ok, so cheaper RX (Single) with a splitter... any loss of video quality??
Old Dec 01, 2009, 08:49 PM
Daemon is online now
Find More Posts by Daemon
Registered User
Daemon's Avatar
Not that I've seen. The small Rx has same Rf module, and many people
use a splitter without it hurting the video. A search for splitter in this forum
will turn up the usual options.

ian
Old Dec 01, 2009, 08:51 PM
ATIS is offline
Find More Posts by ATIS
Member 120mph Club
ATIS's Avatar
thanks
Old Dec 01, 2009, 09:21 PM
jimbob00 is offline
Find More Posts by jimbob00
Registered User
you prolly need the $50 battery for the headplays (its not included in the $350), unless uve some lipo to power everything
Old Dec 01, 2009, 09:31 PM
ATIS is offline
Find More Posts by ATIS
Member 120mph Club
ATIS's Avatar
I let the battery off my list since I didnt want it sitting around till january as I put the plane together. But thanks for reminding me as I will need to get it unless I can use a lipo which I have a ton of sitting around.


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion T-Rex spares, did I forget anything? Sky_Dancer Mini Helis 11 Oct 05, 2008 12:09 AM
What did you forget ? kave_man Electric Plane Talk 47 Jul 04, 2005 03:23 AM
did I hurt anything? gtessau Batteries and Chargers 4 Feb 23, 2005 11:28 AM
New to electric did i miss anything? grant31781 Beginner Training Area (Aircraft-Electric) 14 Feb 02, 2004 07:59 PM
HMMM...did I forget something? mefly2 Parkflyers 9 Aug 14, 2002 01:43 AM